Help!!! Venice 300+ Failing OCCT

umper22

Ok--I hope I have obeyed all rules...this is my first build and 2nd post to this forum. I started building this system two weeks ago and have lived on these forums to get the most out of overclocking. I am not sure what bios I started with (ordered board from newegg a month ago) but at one point I was able to overclock my venice 3000+ at 2.6 ghz @ 1.47 volts (ldt=1.4/chipset=1.7). My PWMIC and Chipset temps never got above 55 degrees and my cpu temp never above 45. I was having problems with memory and posted on ocz board. They recommended bigtoe bios and new settings. I downloaded bios using iso image and installed. Ran memory @ 200Mhz with 2-2-2-8 timings and passed memtest. I proceeded with overclocking venice but I am now failing occt within a minute. I went back into bios and loaded optimized settings but still fail @ 1.8 ghz. Any ideas of how to isolate this problem? I'm guessing its processor but I want to be sure its not the board.

OCCT is rough on both memory and CPU. Are you getting the "Processor Not Stable" error?

If so, you'll probably need more voltage, as CPDMF said. I usually run my rig at 1.52/1.55V, but to pass OCCT I have to crank it up to at least 1.6V!

OCCT is very CPU based.. memory isn't usually a factor unless you change the memory usage in the settings. I run my Venice @ 1.525 24/7 but it needs something like 1.62V to pass OCCT. Fine for Games. Try StressCPU... i used that and it's game stable. If it's not StressCPU stable, it's not Game Stable for me!