X2 4400+ CPU MAX 2.5GHz???

BlackEyedBoy

I been reading through the A64 OC Guide in the last few day, been testing my X2 4400+ for the CPU MAX and I can only get to FSB/HTT 227, 2.5Ghz.

I'm using water cooling for my Cpu and Gpu, Temps is around 48-51C when full load and Vcore 1.64!

I would like to know that if I can get higher CPU Max for my 4400??? Or that's really the max for my CPU??? Do I need better water cooling system or should I add more Voltage for my CPU??? Can anyone help me out on overclocking my CPU, I'm new in overclocking that's y I've got so many questions to ask, hehe!! Plx help me out!!! I'm stuck!!

Thanks very much to everyone!!! :P

• Replies 106
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well if you followed the guide then that'll probably be ytour max. Just make sure you have your memory running on the 1/2 divider. However, those seem very high temps for the voltage you're giving it, are you sure your block is on corectly?

1.64VCore ... can you go higher (being watercool) ? Ive had mine stable at 2.5GHz at 1.49VCore with acceptable load temps(50c)... cant get anywhere near 237htt with 11X multi even at almost 1.59Vcore. The temps were horrible ... 57c load.

Currently mine at 2.42GHz. This 4400+ arent that friendly ....but i think i may be able to get it up to 2.7 with a planned swiftech wc upgrade. I thought the 4400+ can easily hits 2.6 and thats where it ends for most people. But you can get higher with a wc setup (and probably an active cool memory setup as well)

I wouldnt go to much higher than 1.65Vcore for 24/7 use. Also make sure to check your Vcore with a DMM as I always have about .02v more than bios selected.

You could trim off the IHS and gain some but it is risky, but usually shows good results under watercooling.

Also have you tried your max OC with two sticks of RAM instead of four? Might let you know if it is memory holding you back. Just a thought.