Sign in to follow this  
drvais

RAID 0 HDDs not recognized as single HDD by Windows & BIOS setup i

Long time reader, first time poster. First up, I'm a RAID newbie, but I've tried to do my research on this issue and have viewed numerous threads, yet nothing seems to apply to my exact situation.

I originally installed Windows onto my SCSI drive, and my Hitachi SATA drives just arrived in the mail the other day so I thought I would add them to my sys as a RAID 0 (striping) data drive. I have the drives connected to SATA 1 and 2, and I enabled RAID inside of "Integrated Peripherals," along with SATA connections 1 through 4. I also made sure that "Internal Phys SATA 1/2" was enabled in the Genie BIOS. For the nVidia RAID bios, I assigned both disks to Striping & "Optimal" setting. The nVidia bios recognized both drives as a single entity after doing this step. Following the bios work, I installed the ver. 6.66 nForce4 drivers in Windows. After rebooting, I have run into two problems:

(1) If I do not disconnect the power to the SATA drives before going into the SLI-D setup, the screen goes black or produces a few random characters scattered throughout the screen when the normal bios setup options should appear.

(2) WinXP's Disk Management program sees the array as two separate drives instead of a single drive

Also, I tried using nVidia's NVRAIDMAN program to view the array, but no drives are listed in the program.

Right now, I've gone ahead and started formatting both drives inside of Disk Management as separate drives, but I've got a feeling that this is not the correct thing to do.

Can anyone offer solutions to my two primary problems? Thank you!