Help New Over Clocker Please

Guest SaLadin_SS_merged

Guest SaLadin_SS

Hello to every one on DFI streets.

I am new to DFI and over clocking.

I have a very similar set up to OMGA 14 in the over clocking database.

So in turn I have pretty much copied his bios and bios entries.

One difference however is my CPU. It is the 64 3200 @ 2.2(Newcastle) as opposed to OMGA14 3400 2.2 (Newcastle)

I have realized that the 2.2 is the same but the multiplier on the 3200 seems to be 11 while the 3400 is 12?

So if I use the same fsb of 219 I seem to end up with a lower speed. I have moved the fsb up to 224 resulting in 2434mhz is stead of OMGA's 2623mhz @219fsb(12 multiplier)

Now it seems to run well so fare but if I keep pushing it north it becomes unstable.

Since I am so knew to this (but would like to learn) I am sure despite my best effort to read these forums and over clocking guides I am missing this that I need to adjust in conjunction with the fsb. But to be honest I am some what worried as the setting seems to be pretty high already? Or with these setting on my system and I at the outer limits?

And additional info you need just let me know and any suggestion would be greatly appreciated

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the Street fellow Minne dweller!

You should spend some time reading this: http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showpost.p...167&postcount=3

In particular you definitely should be testing your memory with memtest as you overclock prior to going into windows or you are asking for corruption of your os install. There is excellent info and a link in the thread I posted above. Keep in mind what works on one system similar doesn't always work exactly the same on another even when it appears you have virtually identical components. It can be helpful but don't depend on it.

BTW the 3400 is 12x200 for 2400Mhz.