Crucial Ballistix PC3200 problems, please help!

Hi, first post, although I've been doing a lot of reading round here. I still can't get my RAM to boot in dual channel mode. I've tried numerous amounts of settings which people have posted.

I'm really tired of this now, at the moment I have managed to get it running in slots 1&2, single channel, seems ok. I've loaded optimized settings and configured the RAM to match it's specs. 2.8v, 2-2-2-6.

Please help, I'm pretty new to memory timimgs and such but I've learned a lot since I've had this problem.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, before this started happening I had it running in dual channel mode, then I started getting BSODs with various .sys files mentioned and memory dumps etc.

But now when I put them in dual channel mode the board just stops on 3 red LEDs. So that means it's not picking up the RAM if I'm not mistaken. Sometimes it does actually boot to the DFI logo screen but won't boot windows. 'tis a strange thing.

Yep, orange slots.

oh and I probably should mention, I did a 28hr~ memtest in dual channel mode, a total of 71 passes were done and it returned only 1 error. I thought that was pretty good, on pass 11. I rebooted after that and it wouldn't boot Windows. D'oh!

I've ran a couple of tests on each stick and they returned no errors. I have tried the 201 bios and that made no difference. I have cleared CMOS a zillion times. I haven't tried upping the voltage to 2.9 as I didn't want to go over 2.8, but I will give it a go in a second and let you know what happens. Thanks. :)

ok I just upped the voltage to 2.9, RAM in orange slots and it got the the CMOS Backup stage and went no further. I dropped the voltage to 2.6 just to experiment and it did exactly the same.