My Very First OC

So I am very new to this whole Overclocking thing but I did spend a decent amount of time doing some reading and as far as I can tell everything went great. I was able to get my E8500 up to 3.8GHz but not after some tweaking. It was strange, I was able to push this chip up to 3.7 stable without any changing of voltage but to go above that I had to jump the vcore from 1.231 to 1.306 which is still well well inside the usable range. Something else I found strange was I am getting a big vdroop, and its by different numbers in diff places. My bios says my chip is at 1.28, as well as Everest but CPU-z says its 1.296, not a big deal just found it strange. Also if I can push my 800MHz RAM to say 830MHz stable would that be beneficial or is it just better to tighten timings?

post-64003-1248964497_thumb.jpg

Only going from 800 to 830 you probably won't see any difference at all. You can try to get that pushed up a ways higher or go for tighter timings. But in reality you won't see that performance gain in anything except synthetic benchmarks.

That voltage jump is pretty normal. I lot of CPUs will go a ways on nothing and then need a decent increase. My AMD PII 940 is the same way. 1.392v for 3.5GHz -> 1.46v for 3.6GHz.

Nice OC btw :)

The only way you may actually see a performance increase is by tightening the timings. Increasing the overall speed does not do much and you don't see anything except for in benchmarks.

Did you do any stability testing?

The difference between what your BIOS says your voltage is sitting at and what an application is saying is called the vDroop, some of the more high powered boards have an option to compensate for it, which if that setting is enabled, you may have a higher voltage displayed inside of windows than you have set in the BIOS.