Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How To Change Your Motherboard


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#25 jbarnes

jbarnes

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Location:KCMO

Posted 07 July 2005 - 06:56 PM

Very helpful post, I was just wondering about this actually.. good timing

#26 martymcfly

martymcfly

    Mire! Nachos!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4215 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted 07 July 2005 - 06:57 PM

Very helpful post, I was just wondering about this actually.. good timing

View Post

not really, it is from 6 months ago...

A64 3700+ :: 7800GTX :: 2GB Patriot RAM :: DFI Lanparty UT nf4 SLI-D :: Aspire X-Navigator :: 3x80 GB SATA HDs in RAID 0 :: Maxtor 6L200P0 :: Dell 2405FPW Monitor


#27 jbarnes

jbarnes

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Location:KCMO

Posted 07 July 2005 - 07:59 PM

Don't blame me I didn't bring it back, but the timing couldn't be better as far as my situation goes =\

#28 martymcfly

martymcfly

    Mire! Nachos!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4215 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted 07 July 2005 - 10:16 PM

true dat. I just dont like necro-posting.

A64 3700+ :: 7800GTX :: 2GB Patriot RAM :: DFI Lanparty UT nf4 SLI-D :: Aspire X-Navigator :: 3x80 GB SATA HDs in RAID 0 :: Maxtor 6L200P0 :: Dell 2405FPW Monitor


#29 dm47rust

dm47rust

    New Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 December 2006 - 03:20 PM

I just changed my motherboard and CPU (D975XBX2 and Core 2 Duo E6600) but didnt reinstall or repair windows xp. I turned on the machine and besides having to reinstall a few drivers, it works fine. Maybe I will run into issues with Windows XP but as of yet, everything seems ok.

#30 kingdingeling

kingdingeling

    King of the Autobahn

  • Folding Member
  • 10258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hannover, Germany

Posted 03 December 2006 - 04:48 AM

you might wanna clean the old drivers using driver Cleaner Pro, so that no corruption will take place!

I guess I have no excuse for not being as awesome as King... - iKillSteal

Seriously, big credit goes out to King for maintaining this list. He puts a lot of work into this thing and he deserves our thanks! - Verran

RIP

| ThinkPad X1 Carbon | Core i5-4210U | 8GB DDR3L-1600 | Intel HD4400 | 256GB SSD | 14" WQHD |


#31 dm47rust

dm47rust

    New Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 December 2006 - 03:09 PM

The fact that I haven't had more than a couple minor issues, after changing boards and cpu, is that the exception to the rule? Or do the bulk of the problems creep up slowly, one by one?

#32 TRAIL 2007

TRAIL 2007

    New Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 25 May 2007 - 01:22 PM

will the repair method work with Vista Ultimate?

#33 bigred

bigred

    Don't even get me started

  • Folding Member
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 May 2007 - 05:32 PM

will the repair method work with Vista Ultimate?



seeing as how vista is still based on windows NT (jsut like 2000, xp and 2003)... yes.
Some people are like Slinkies. Totally useless, but you just can't help but laugh when you push them down the stairs.

#34 TRAIL 2007

TRAIL 2007

    New Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 25 May 2007 - 06:36 PM

OK thanks, cause I'll be upgrading from an ecs 945p-a to something else soon, still haven't made up my mind :wacko:

#35 i33tph0

i33tph0

    New Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 26 July 2007 - 10:46 AM

My computer came with a pre-installed windows xp without a cd but they gave me a cd-rom image of windows xp on my hard drive. I've never installed xp myself nor have I change my motherboard so I'm pretty new. I was wondering if any of those methods would work for me and when I actually install my mother board what will my comp ask me to do with XP at the screen and what will look like and etc. I would really appreciate the help. Thanks

#36 bg8780

bg8780

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio

Posted 28 February 2008 - 11:14 AM

i replaced an ASUS board with a new EVGA, no problems as of now. i didnt repair windows or anything, im running vista ultimate 32-bit as soon as i booted teh first time vista automatically found the drivers and installed them. took about a half hour but everything went smooth. am i just lucky or do you think i missed something? it runs fine just wanna know if theres something i missed that can possibly make the swap cleaner (not having any old drivers or ASUS stuff laying around or something like that.)
Intel QX6850 3.60ghz 450x8
EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 729/1458/1188
Thermaltake Armor Chasis
4GB (4x1gb) Mushkin 996523 XP2-6400 4-4-4-10 900mhz
EVGA 780i Rev A2 1800mhz FSB RAM Linked and Synced
300gb WD Velociraptor
x2 WD 500gb SATA RAID 0
TRUE Black w/ Scythe Ultra Kaze
Antec Truepower Quattro 850W
Vista Ultimate x64

Netbook: Black MSI Wind U100-432US, WD Black Caviar 7200rpm 250gb HDD, 2GB RAM (1GB onboard 1GB Crucial 667, Vista Business, Mac OS X