Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Scrambled screen/weird screen mean its the card or the monitor?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 07 November 2017 - 11:16 PM

So I'm having a weird issue. I built my rig last year. And about 3 months ago I bought the "Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor". Worked amazing. Well about a month ago I was working on a giant banner in photoshop (something like 14" by 7"). The file itself ended up being like 35mb. Well the next day I went into photoshop to edit a photo of something from my camera. When photoshop started up the screen got weird. When I would open something, there was a delay. Not as in the computer was slow, but like the screen wasn't processing things right on screen. And after I tried opening my screenshot the screen froze up mostly. I couldn't even see my cursor, however I could see things it was hovering over. It wasn't delayed. I could still open and close somethings but again, on screen it was weird. Then after trying to exit photoshop my screen scrambled.

Its been doing that at random every few days or so. Today it happened again alt-tabbed back into a game that I had shrunk (while running) for two hours when I was out. (look at first picture for screenshot SS1). Well I managed to restart the PC and tried to adjust the resiolution to a smaller one. Thats when it literally shrunk the screen but didn't fit it to the monitor size (as most screen resolutions do). Se SS2 for that. You can notice a big black square where the screen should of stretched out. So then I just put the screen back to the max res where I had it. Well the screen turned black and that was it. I had to forcibly restart the PC using the reset button. 

Now I have ran virus checks. I even tried new cords. I replaced my video card with a new one thinking maybe it was a video card issue, which used to be the case ages ago with screen issues. But that didn't change anything. So I am guessing maybe its the monitor itself? Also I did check out the performance using various tools while the problem happens. Nothing seems to be wrong. The CPU usage stays low. Again, the computer itself doesn't seem to freeze per say. Its like the display can't show me things right. If your curious, the only thing I can really think of that maybe caused all this is one, we had a power outage around that time. And two, I went to plug in a HDMI cable while everything was on and when it rubbed near the HDMI port on the monitor I seen a tiny electrical flash. Granted I should know better then mess with cords when a PC is on. 

Lastly I did wonder if maybe its my PSU? Its only 650watts. Is that enough for what my rig has in it? I could try a defrag or scandisk. Maybe a memory test but I didn't want to do those yet since they take a long time and I have a project to finish by the end of the week. What do you think?

Attached Thumbnails

  • ss1.jpg
  • ss2.jpg
  • ss3.jpg

-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#2 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1279 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 08 November 2017 - 02:35 PM

Could be a lot of things that are causing your screen to glitch,.. hopefully it was due to the power outage and perhaps only some corrupted files. I would uninstall your Photoshop software, reset Windows OS and reinstall your Photoshop software,.. and see if that has any effect on issue first. 


Edited by Braegnok, 08 November 2017 - 02:47 PM.

Intel Core i7-7700K 

Asus Z270-WS

Nvidia GTX1080Ti SLI

32GB DDR4 2400MHz

SeaSonic SSR-1000PD

Corsair H115i

 


#3 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 08 November 2017 - 03:03 PM

I cant see it being photoshop that is the issue since other programs are also doing it. I've seen it all so Its hard to say just the video card or monitor without working through the list. Reinstalling windows a pain so it's either some corrupted video drivers or something related to the video card.

 

Just guessing it could be:

1: corrupted video drivers

2: Either not enough power causing the video card to crash (aka PSU issue)

3: Video card dying

4: Bad monitor

 

I would start with reinstalling drivers and if that doesn't work try some spare parts. It could very well be a windows issue, but man do I hate reinstalling drivers so personally I leave that option until I had to spend money.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1080 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, 3x Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 08 November 2017 - 06:42 PM

If your psu is working properly 650 watts should be plenty for your system, however a power surge like you had can do damage to any component.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 09 November 2017 - 05:25 AM

Thanks for the replies. I took the monitor back (under a replacement plan). Guy plugged it in and said it worked fine. Argued that they weren't going to replace it because it was a video card issue. I showed him the receipt showing I exchanged the card already. He still didn't believe me but in the end I won and he replaced it. Since getting the new one the issue has stopped for now. Also notice the color and brightness is better on this one. Maybe mine was a lemon from the start. First time I had to ever replace a monitor within a 3 mon th period. 


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#6 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 09 November 2017 - 05:47 PM

Well maybe it didn't work. Now when I am browsing the web at random the screen shows the tabs (and site) I had opened like 14 hours ago. It shows it for about 4 seconds, then it goes back to where I am now. I can't click anything during that period. Weird! Could it be malware? Maybe I should do a scandisk? Reformating is a very much last resort. New hard drive from only a year ago. 


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#7 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 13 November 2017 - 08:18 PM

I found out this is a issue with certain GeForce GTX 10## cards. They have some sort of VRAM issue where the buffer doesn't empty out like it should and its why it glitches and shows you what it does. They said some companies (like Gigabyte) released fixes for this. But I can't seem to find any. It also mentioned updating your BIOS on the GPU, how do you do that? 

If it helps here are the articles. Anyone know what I should do now then?
https://www.digitalt...palit-gainward/
http://www.guru3d.co...mory-issue.html


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#8 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 14 November 2017 - 12:28 AM

Oddly enough I fixed it. I moved my video card to another PCI-E slot and now I no longer have the glitch. Can PCI-E slots screw up over time? Only had this motherboard under a year. 


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports