Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Got a new monitor, confused about stuff...


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 29 September 2017 - 08:01 PM

So while I am a PC geek, I never really got deep into monitors. Always bought cheap ones. With my new rig I finally decided to get a quality monitor (well that I could afford). Before my question here is my monitor:
https://www.amazon.c...r/dp/B0149QBOF0

So my question(s) are:
1. Does it matter what my refresh rate is at? My old monitor only let me do 60hz, this one goes up to 144hz. 
2. What is response time? I have it set to Fast, its normally on Normal.
3. Is Nvidia G-Sync anything useful?
4. It says it has a 1ms response time, do I have to change something to get it to that? Or is that what that is on my second question?
5. Lastly I was told to not use HDMI but instead use a DisplayPort. I had never heard of that before. I'm using it now, is it useful?

Thanks for any answers! I use my PC for mainly gaming if that makes a difference. 


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#2 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 30 September 2017 - 01:14 AM

Good list of questions, I'll see what I can answer.

 

1: Refresh rate can matter to some. Basically its like the name states, the amount of times the images refreshes per second. So 60Hz is 16.6ms per frame and 144hz is. 6.9ms. If you play FPS this can give you the edge if your reaction time is good. Also higher Hz with high frame rate can result in a smooth image.

 

2: "Response time is a measure of quickly a pixel can display a change from either black to white or from one shade of gray to another. Lower response times are better. Normal response time right now is 1ms for TN panels and 4ms for IPS panels. A term that is often misunderstood by people is monitor response time." - This is not the same as refresh rate.

 

3: G-Sync is useful if you are using a Nvidia card and sustain above 30FPS, otherwise it doesn't work. Basically its like a fluid V-Sync. You don't get screen tearing which helps if this is something that is annoying.

 

4: It refers to your second question. Its just how the monitor works and refers to the pixels refresh.

 

5: A lot of companies switched to Display Port because its royalty free and offers higher bandwidth compared to HDMI 1.4. Now that HDMI 2.0 is out the point is mute because it can handle the same bandwidth as DP. But because of a few years of monitors already using DP, it is here to stay and HDMI is just playing catch-up. Not to mention royalty free.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1080 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, 3x Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#3 cchalogamer

cchalogamer

    Folding is good :)

  • Folding Member
  • 4880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC (USA)

Posted 01 October 2017 - 12:26 PM

Another couple notes specific to THAT monitor is the panel's pretty terrible for color accuracy so you may want to look into settings others have used to minimized the washed out color of this monitor (Even for a TN panel it's bad, the ASUS PB287Q mine's setup beside is worlds better for anything I want to see somewhat color accurate and yes it is a TN panel too)

 

The other thing is if you end up leaving the room and occasionally coming back to the monitor being "off" (deep sleep mode) and not waking up without needing to turn it off and on again with the power button, just go into the monitor's menu and disable "Monitor Deep Sleep" under "Others." Drove me nuts for the first few days.

 

Also make sure you actually set the resolution and refresh rate manually with windows and specific games as many either get the refresh rate wrong or even some like the COD WWII Beta thought it was a 1080p display.


1zdcjtx.png

i7-5930K/GA-X99-UD4/32GB G.Skill/512GB Intel 600p/512GB Crucial M550/480GB ADATA SP550/5TB/GTX 1080 Ti/Rosewill Capstone 1000-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (main rig)

i7-4930K/GA-X79-UP4/32GB G.Skill & Team Vulcan Mixed/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/4 x 1TB/GeForce 315/Rosewill Capstone 750/Corsair Carbide 200R (VM Server)

i7-6820HK/Aorus X7 v6/16GB G.Skill/512GB Samsung SM951/1TB/GTX 1070/230w AC Adapter/94.24Wh Battery (Gaming/Fun Laptop)

i7-7500U/Razer Blade Stealth/16GB/512GB Samsung SM951/45w USB-C AC Adapter/53.6Wh Battery (Work Laptop)

i7-4770K/GA-Z87X-UD5H/16GB Kingston/240GB Seagate 600 SSD/2TB/GTX 1070/Rosewill Capstone 750-M/Rosewill Blackhawk (the wife took this one)

i5-3570K/GA-Z77X-UD5H/24GB  ADATA/120GB Crucial M500 SSD/3 x 5TB/2 x 3TB/2TB/Antec BP550/Bookshelf (server)

i5-4590/ASRock H97M-ITX-ac/8GB G.Skill/240GB OCZ ARC 100 SSD/750GB/GTX 1070/Rosewill RG630/Silverstone SG13B (HTPC)


#4 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 01 October 2017 - 03:39 PM

Thanks for all the answers! Helped alot! So when it comes to response time then I want it to Normal, not Faster then? Or if I understand right your saying mine is already 1ms? Ah ok about the HDMI thing. I think I have a 2.0 cord. Though the guy tried telling me to not use HDMI because of something about the silver amount in it and when inserting/removing it, it can ruin the cord and your monitor. Not sure if its true or not. Normally I always use HDMI. Maybe I should go back to the HDMI then instead of the Display Port. That and it cost me like $30 for the DP, I could use the money back. 

Yeah I did notice after I bought it and did more research that people said they had to fine tune it since the color seemed off and washed out. I messed with the settings and have my brightness at 59% and contrast and 69%. But there is no real color option. On the Nvidia settings through for my card I seen it has under its setting "Choose how the color is set" and you can mess with all channels or individual. And with gamma and what not. It also has something about "Digital Vibrance" which can be enhanced. 

So I'm not really sure what to mess with color wise. I do photography and art projects for people do I don't want to mess colors up so much that they appear different on other computers or when printed. I did see when you mess with this stuff it does have refrence images, but I can't tell whats good or bad after I adjust stuff. 


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#5 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 01 October 2017 - 04:45 PM

never heard about the HDMI sliver thing but maybe its true? Also make sure your monitor with G-Sync supports G-Sync over HDMI. Some monitors had both ports but only the DP was hooked up the internal G-Sync Board. Easy way to check is if you still have the option for G-Sync in the Nvidia control panel when using HDMI. You have have a HDMI 2.0 cable, but the monitor port might be HDMI 1.4.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1080 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, 3x Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#6 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 02 October 2017 - 02:32 AM

The HDMI port on your panel is 1.4 and does not support G-SYNC,..

 

For 2560 X 1440 @ 144Hz and indeed G-SYNC functionality requires the use of the DisplayPort 1.2a input. 

 

Optimal OSD settings :  

 

Brightness= 43

 

Response Time= Normal

 

Preset Mode= Custom Color

 

R= 100

 

G=98

 

B=98

 

Refresh rate= 144Hz

 

Set the monitor up according to the Optimal OSD settings,.. Download the ICC profile. https://pcmonitors.i...ell S2716DG.icm

 

This article provides instructions on activating the profile as well as some limitations to be aware of when gaming in particular. Games do generally respond to the profile or at least apply the gamma correction. https://pcmonitors.i...iles-in-windows


Intel Core i7-7700K  5Ghz

Asus Z270-WS

Nvidia GTX1080Ti SLI

32GB DDR4 2400MHz

SeaSonic SSR-1000PD

Corsair H115i

 


#7 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 02 October 2017 - 10:16 PM

Yeah after trying the HDMI cord the G-Sync wasn't available and the refresh rate would only go up to 60hz. I'm back with the display port now.  

Thanks for the links. I checked out the links but the one download for the ICC profile I couldn't find a link to it on that page. 

Are there any guides on messing with the colors of a monitor that uses DPs? I see white for example in this typing box but I also feel like I am seeing a bit of red almost or maybe brown, more so if I'm, not facing the exact center of the screen. I did try the calibration thing on the color management and for example the gamma part of it I can't get the screen to look like the middle option it tells you. 


Edited by Assassin X, 02 October 2017 - 10:35 PM.

-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#8 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 1307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 02 October 2017 - 11:26 PM

The default setup of this panel is a bit restrictive for normal uses, as the gamma is set up more for gaming, and hard to adjust without a calibration tool (or a calibrated ICC profile).

 

ICC Profile database : http://www.tftcentra...cc_profiles.htm


Edited by Braegnok, 03 October 2017 - 03:31 AM.

Intel Core i7-7700K  5Ghz

Asus Z270-WS

Nvidia GTX1080Ti SLI

32GB DDR4 2400MHz

SeaSonic SSR-1000PD

Corsair H115i

 


#9 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 07 October 2017 - 07:14 PM

Well today I went to exchange the cord due to it having a defect (random black flashes) But I didn't make it the store in time. When I got back I plugged the DP cortd back in, turned the screen on but it went into power saver mode. It wouldn't show my desktop. I unplugged the monitor and plugged it back in. Still nothing. Tried different DP slots and even my HDMI slots and nothing would show on screen aside from the power saved thing. I had to force shut down my computer using the power button then turn it back on. Then the screen worked. 

Any ideas why this would do that? Is it because I unplugged the DP cord while the screen was off (not literally unplugged though)? Or was it just some fluke? BTW I do have the deep sleep mode turned off on the screen. Only other thing I can think of is the I have the "Turn off after one hour" mode turned on under power settings. Could that be what screwed it up?


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#10 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:08 PM

The turn off after 1 hr is exactly what screwed it up, it wasn't the monitor's fault it was the pc, sometimes windows and your video card don't dance well together and will not send a video signal until you reboot your pc. It has happened to me a few times when I leave the pc on all day with no action happening on the screen.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#11 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:12 PM

Ah ok, never knew that. I'd say maybe turn off the option to turn the screen off after 1 hour but I'm not sure if I will get a burnt image in the screen after awhile. Though if I recall that doesn't happen with LEDs right?


-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports
 


#12 Assassin X

Assassin X

    Married Geek

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A chair.

Posted 08 October 2017 - 07:23 PM

Seemed to have worked. Only issue left is when I have the response time set to fast, I see alot of white ghosting type things when I move in a game. If I set it to normal there is almost no ghosting. Seems like it defeats the point of response time. 

Only real fix is to set the MHZ to 120 and response time to normal. Then there is no ghosting. (sigh)


Edited by Assassin X, 08 October 2017 - 07:39 PM.

-Phantom 410 (Red case) -Intel i5 Core 6600k Unlocked (Hyper 212 EVO cooler)
-Z170X motherboard -GeForce GTX 1060 -16gb DDR4 memory 

-CD/DVD-DL/Bluray Lightsribe writer -650 Watt Antec Power Supply.
-x3 1TB HDs (WD's) -Win 7 -WoW mouse -Fatality Sound Card (Sound Blaster)
-Hyper X Headphones -Dell Gaming S2716DG Monitor -Tons of fan and ports