Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Check My Parts


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 scr4wl

scr4wl

    R34CT1V4T3D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Mexico

Posted 07 August 2017 - 02:52 PM

Hey Guys building another rig, but I need input for this one. It is going to be a video editing/production workstation. Basically it will be used to cut together videos, commercials, training vids, etc. It'll run windows, but also needs to be able to run osx.

Budget is $4k, but I'd rather not spend the whole budget.

Parts I'm considering:

GPU: MSI GTX 1060 3gb $239.99
PSU: 750W modular evga $94.99
Memory: 32gb Tridentz (2 x 16gb) $244.99
CPU: 7600k $239.99
Raid: areca ark 1883i-sa $619.99
Cooling: EKWB A240G $239.99
Boot Drive: Samsung 960 Evo $234
Raid drives: 4x Samsung 850 Evo $879.80
Mobo: Gigabyte ga-z170x-gaming 7 $137.98
Os: win10 + sierra $104.99

Total: $3055.62

I know the raid seems overkill, but it is to help with fill rates and is gonna be a requirement for the build.., although it doesn't need to be an array of ssds... Also open to controller suggestions, I don't think I want to do softraid for this.

The raid array will not be for storage, that is all done elsewhere, and I'll probably throw a 2tb drive into this machine for local storage as well.

Only reason I choose those ssds is because I could buy 4 at once.

My main questions. Should I stick with the i5, or does video editing benefit from more threads? What about the 1060, it shouldn't need more power right?

Anyway, feel free to post your thoughts, suggestions, or parts lists. :)

Edit:

Forgot to mention, already have the case.

Edited by scr4wl, 07 August 2017 - 02:54 PM.

Generic Most Awesome Sig


#2 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 07 August 2017 - 04:25 PM

This looks like a decent system but imho an I7 with hypertreading would be what I would go with.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#3 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 07 August 2017 - 05:21 PM

I have a few problems with this build but before I say anything...I probably should know what editing software you are going to use.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 scr4wl

scr4wl

    R34CT1V4T3D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Mexico

Posted 07 August 2017 - 05:36 PM

Unfortunately I don't get to use it, beyond putting it together and setting it up. It's for one of our graphic designer/media guys. From what I can tell he mostly uses premeire and after effects, but he's got a ton of software.

Generic Most Awesome Sig


#5 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 07 August 2017 - 06:33 PM

A list would be nice and what resolution and footage would be used (aka 8K RED RAW or 2k MPEG2, etc). But I use Premiere and AE everyday at work. Lots of Memory (system) and video acceleration is a must (CUDA). That super raid is beyond overkill. Unless they are editing multiple layers of 8K footage in real time, 2 drives is all that is needed. In fact I think without a raid card (which you cant do with M.2 cards yet) would put way to much overhead on the immense throughput in software mode. It gets even more complicated from here. Anything in Premiere or AE that is "rendered" will be cached on the OS drive by default in a temp folder. You can change this to be any drive and I usually have a dedicated 480GB SSD just for that. However if you aren't rendering effects out because the video card is powerful enough for real-time playback, than it goes unused. The people I work with are old school where tape was used for years so they think EVERYTHING needs to rendered before moving it to the actual render que for output. An extra step that isn't needed. Ideally, 1 drive for os, 1 for temp and raid-0 for current project.

 

I would need to know more to really help you out because Premiere and AE has so many configurations. If they are just doing 1080P than a $500 computer is all they need. If they are doing 8K green screen work with 10 layers and AE timelines mixed with Premiere than that 3K setup won't be enough. In either case a i5 is enough because the CPU won't be doing any work, it will all be diverted to the video card for previews and final render.

 

Technically it is illegal to install OSX on any none MAC since Apple does not sell OSX (give it away for free with macs)and forbids it from being installed on none mac machines. Hackintosh is a grey area but since you can't buy Mac OSX, you cannot install it with being in the kinda illegal grey area.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#6 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 07 August 2017 - 06:44 PM

What he said. :teehee:


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#7 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 07 August 2017 - 06:49 PM

Yeah......I know toooooooooo much on this subject. I'm the guy everyone comes to at work when things don't work...for like anything lol.

 

Real story just last week: co-worker:"My keyboard doesn't work" Me: "it looks like a liquid is between the keys" Co-worker" Yeah I spilled coffee early today on it, but it worked until just now so that can't be the problem"  :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash:


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#8 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:03 PM

LOL, I hear the same thing when people bring me their laptops that quit working, "well I dried it off really well,and it was only half a cup of coffee "


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#9 scr4wl

scr4wl

    R34CT1V4T3D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Mexico

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:06 PM

We do use 8k, and I know the raid is overkill but it was requested and is one of the requirements for the build. I don't have to use ssds, but was told to if I can fit it in the budget, so...

I'm also well aware of the nuances of hackintosh, but again, it's required...


Anyway, good to know the i5 is enough, what about the gpu? Is the 1060 powerful enough?

Edit:

I can get you a list of the software he uses tomorrow.

Edited by scr4wl, 07 August 2017 - 07:08 PM.

Generic Most Awesome Sig


#10 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:12 PM

Can't say if the GTX 1060 is enough yet. That list will help. Like what resolution primary is being shot and what output resolution be used and format. I can ask the creative department at my work to give me some 8K RED footage tomorrow and see how it runs on a GTX 770, GTX 960 and 1080Ti. I haven't played around with much 8K yet myself. it also depends on how long they want to wait for the final render or if half resolution previews are okay. In the perfect world we could all have 4 1080Tis and and 128GB of ram :)


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#11 Dynamic

Dynamic

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3365 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:22 PM

I'm not sure why you chose intel processor if you are doing video editing and such. I would of went with a Ryzen processor for all that.


i7-7700K | H100i V2 | ASUS Prime Z270-AR | Corsair LPX 2x4GB 8GB 3200MHz | ASUS ROG STRIX 1070 OC | WD Velociraptors 600GB | Corsair AX860 | Carbide SPEC-ALPHA | Dell 24" IPS U2414H | Razer ManO'War 7.1 HS | WINDOWS 10 RED STONE 3 64BIT


#12 scr4wl

scr4wl

    R34CT1V4T3D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Mexico

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:27 PM

Okay I'll find out that info for you tomorrow, hopefully you don't come back and tell me it needs multiple 1080ti's lol.

They are gonna want the render times to be as quick as possible. Is there a huge difference between the mid range and high end cards here? Do people really have multi-gpu setups for rendering? That never would have even crossed my mind.

I'll also have to ask about the half res previews, I don't know if he cares about that or not.

Edit:

@Dynamic

Went intel cause it has to run osx. I've seen some people running ryzen hackintoshs, but I was worried it might run into issues. Do you know of people who have done ryzen builds with osx? Any issues?

Edited by scr4wl, 07 August 2017 - 07:31 PM.

Generic Most Awesome Sig