Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

File Resource Manager for linux?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 05 February 2017 - 10:45 AM

Hey everyone I have a quick question that I cannot seemed to find.

 

Is there a File Resource Manager sort of program for Ubuntu or any other Linux version in GUI form? I found Samba but that is command line and it also cannot limit folder sizes. It seems Windows Server 2008 has it all, but those license are out of this world and my company isn't going to spend a penny.

 

The reason I ask is because I found two Dell Poweredge R415 at my work that was used for some proprietary stuff.  We don't use anymore so these were just sitting off for the last year (no one knew what they did, go figure). I found them and installed Ubuntu 14. it works fine but I wanted them as file servers to free up some space.

 

So in short, I'm not good at linux and even know less about command line in that. Is there a easy GUI program that can do basic file management and limit folder sizes? If not can someone walk me through command line setting up Samba?


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 05 February 2017 - 11:29 AM

I'm not sure what you're asking.

If you want a file server, use Samba (since it sounds like the rest of the office is Windows).

In terms of limiting folder sizes, how fine-grained do you want to be? If you want reliable storage, run ZFS and set quotas for each of the folders you're sharing out on the network.

I have no advice on a GUI, though, as I've never even configured a server with anything except the CLI. I doubt you'll find one to do what you want. You need a network sharing service (Samba) and a resource manager, which you can use ZFS for.


EDIT: You could try FreeNAS, it lets you do all of these things via a GUI (albeit, not greatly, I prefer the CLI even then). It's fairly straightforward to configure for Windows/CIFS shares, and you can set quotas for each individual ZFS filesystem you export.
Tolerance is a sign of weakness.

#3 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 05 February 2017 - 12:47 PM

Yeah I'm looking to setup quotas for each folder because the news reporters just dump whatever they feel onto the current file server which is a 1TB drive running off a off Win XP desktop lol. First off that isn't reliable at all, second it gives the maximum number of connections error all the time even though I set it to 50..The only fix is to restart it everyday.

 

So really whatever method gets me a file server that isn't XP and can be put in a rackmount is good. Best would be to set Quotas on folders so they can't abuse the storage.

 

I guess my next question is, can I run samba in Ubuntu or does it have to be command line? I'm not sure FreeNAS would work because how picky the hardware is. Ubuntu 14 or the Server edition is the only that works, besides windows.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 05 February 2017 - 05:48 PM

Dell R415s would absolutely run FreeNAS without issue. Everything in the box is supported...unless it has the crapass integrated SATA/SAS controller that only has Windows drivers (the S series controller), but it couldn't hurt to make a FreeNAS boot USB stick and see if it'll fire up and see the disks.
Tolerance is a sign of weakness.

#5 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 05 February 2017 - 07:44 PM

Thanks! I'll give it a try. Plus I can pull out the LSI controller and just run off the board if need be.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 06 February 2017 - 06:40 PM

If it's LSI it will work guaranteed. It's what I use daily in various forms (Perc, real LSI, rebranded IBM, etc). No issues with FreeNAS.
Tolerance is a sign of weakness.

#7 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 09 February 2017 - 04:56 PM

FreeNAS is a no go. I just get Error 19 in any of the USB ports. It has no CD drive in this U1 racket. Dell was too cheap to install one lol. It seems Error 19 is a common problem with installing from USB :wallbash:


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1070 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:34 PM

You need to set the USB mode to "hard drive" in the BIOS, then set it as the primary boot device. You may need to reboot after switching modes.

It definitely supports USB boot, since that's how you update the firmware and whatnot from Dell.
Tolerance is a sign of weakness.