What is a safe overclock settings for my Asus GTX 980 Strix card on MSI Afterburner?

I am a complete beginner at overclocking of any kind and decided to try my hand at it. I heard that doing the wrong thing when overclocking can mess up your parts so I need help so I can know what I am doing.

I am using MSI afterburner to overclock my GPU. I dont even know what any of these perameters mean. So what settings and why should they be set to that value?

Core Voltage?
Power Limit?
Temperture Limit?
Core Clock?
Memory Clock?
Fan Speed? -says auto by that. I guess I dont need to set anything.

Keep it simple.

1. Create a fan speed profile where the fan is at 100% at 72C. At 72C, the GTX 980 will start to throttle. You can set the minimum to something like 30% fan speed at 30C so it's quiet when idle.

2. Overclock just the Core Clock first. Up the Core Clock to 100, apply, then save. Run a single pass of Unigine Heaven 2.1. Keep track of the Average FPS. It's still the most stable benchmarking tool that I use. My overclocks will pass any other benchmark, but fail at Unigine Heaven 2.1, so that's why I still use it.

Settings:

Tessellation = Extreme

Anisotrophy = 16

Anti-aliasing = 8x

Full screen at your native resolution

My ASUS GTX 980 Strix I gave to my friend had a Core Clock overclock at 1508MHz Core Clock (Boost). You can see what your speed is by looking at the max (in red) for Core Clock in MSI Afterburner. If at 100 Core Clock (in MSI), it pass Unigine Heaven 2.1, up it to 150. If it passes there, go to 200. If it fails, hit the reset button in MSI Afterburner, and lower it to 190, and reset your monitor history by right-clicking it in MSI Afterburner. If it fails, go down to 180 and repeat.