Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Note 2 and it's display


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 November 2013 - 07:54 AM

I think this is at an amazing price. I still have a couple weeks to return my nexus 4, how ever I'm not sure if it's possible to be able to unlock this phone so it will work with straight talk.

 

Another question I had was about it's display, it looks like it's coming in at 720 x 1280 265 ppi? Seems well and all but with all these 1080p devices coming out will I notice a huge difference if I just stick with my nexus 4? I kind of do like the rich blacks on Amoled displays and I'd only be spending around a $150 upgrade for the device.

 

To sum up, Can I unlock T-Mobile phones to be compatible with straight talk?

 

Or any recomendations for unlocked gsm phones, I want a good camera, 4g speed, IR blaster etc, teh note 2 may be the phone for me.


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#2 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 03 November 2013 - 10:34 AM

AT&T phones can be easily unlocked. I just went to the AT&T store and told them I was going to France for the summer and they unlocked the phone for me to use abroad. T-Mobile is the same, though I've never actually had a phone unlocked. I asked them about it once, they said that if the store can't do it for free, you can get them unlocked for about $10. 

 

The Samsung Galaxy S II that I had before my LG G2 was like 215 ppi and 480x800 resolution. I never really noticed the low ppi. The only device where I notice it is my 10" 1280x720 tablet, and even then, its not so bad. I had a Note II as a loaner phone for 3 weeks while my S II was being replaced by T-Mobile, and I had no issue with the resolution. Yes, my new 1080x1920 LG G2 looks a lot nicer, but the 720x1280 on the Note II is plenty good. I also had a Nexus 4 as a loaner when my S II broke a second time, and I didn't like it as much as the Note. I loved the battery life of the Note II, and the size. I think the Nexus 4 is too small. 

 

Note II camera is on par with the S II, so its a very good camera. 4G was faster than the S II, and the screen size is great for videos. 


Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#3 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 November 2013 - 11:10 AM

AT&T phones can be easily unlocked. I just went to the AT&T store and told them I was going to France for the summer and they unlocked the phone for me to use abroad. T-Mobile is the same, though I've never actually had a phone unlocked. I asked them about it once, they said that if the store can't do it for free, you can get them unlocked for about $10. 

 

The Samsung Galaxy S II that I had before my LG G2 was like 215 ppi and 480x800 resolution. I never really noticed the low ppi. The only device where I notice it is my 10" 1280x720 tablet, and even then, its not so bad. I had a Note II as a loaner phone for 3 weeks while my S II was being replaced by T-Mobile, and I had no issue with the resolution. Yes, my new 1080x1920 LG G2 looks a lot nicer, but the 720x1280 on the Note II is plenty good. I also had a Nexus 4 as a loaner when my S II broke a second time, and I didn't like it as much as the Note. I loved the battery life of the Note II, and the size. I think the Nexus 4 is too small. 

 

Note II camera is on par with the S II, so its a very good camera. 4G was faster than the S II, and the screen size is great for videos. 

Hey thanks, so  a unlocked phone will work over seas? Doubt I ever go there but it's cool to know, Think i might get the note 2 but I'll wait till Moday and ask a Tmobile store


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#4 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 03 November 2013 - 11:26 AM

Yeah, but it has to be an unlocked GSM phone, which means no T-Mobile, as they're HSDPA. Idk if straighttalk works with an HSDPA phone, so check the radio frequencies on the phone and for straighttalk and make sure they match. 


Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#5 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 03 November 2013 - 11:53 AM

isnt the note 3 due out pretty soon,...if so (and i believe it is) the price of the note 2 ought to drop dramatically...


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 [email protected],xfx7970 Black,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gtx650, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, Sheila's office machine

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#6 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 November 2013 - 12:22 PM

It's already out. Tmobile said you had to have a contract with them or request a unlock code from the previous owner and I doubt I can get that because gazelles a 3rd party retailer :/ I should be able to root it to unlocked?


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#7 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 03 November 2013 - 01:05 PM

It's already out. Tmobile said you had to have a contract with them or request a unlock code from the previous owner and I doubt I can get that because gazelles a 3rd party retailer :/ I should be able to root it to unlocked?

 

You're welcome.

 

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2176721

 

I knew about this when I had my S II and considered doing it but never bothered to get a different SIM card just because I had no need for the unlocked phone. Turns out it works for the S III and Note II as well.


Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#8 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 November 2013 - 02:40 PM

 

It's already out. Tmobile said you had to have a contract with them or request a unlock code from the previous owner and I doubt I can get that because gazelles a 3rd party retailer :/ I should be able to root it to unlocked?

 

You're welcome.

 

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2176721

 

I knew about this when I had my S II and considered doing it but never bothered to get a different SIM card just because I had no need for the unlocked phone. Turns out it works for the S III and Note II as well.

 

I'll have to think on it like really bite my nails on it, it's a decent upgrade and worth it for $50 unlimited talk and 2.5gbs of data but I dont know if I'll get 4g. I read some place where if you unlock your phone you wont get 4g speeds.


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#9 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 03 November 2013 - 05:00 PM

http://support.t-mob...om/thread/45589


Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#10 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 November 2013 - 05:51 PM

Ah, well in all honest 8mbps is awesome for cell phones. :/


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#11 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 04 November 2013 - 05:56 AM

It's not top of the line, but it's perfectly usable.

Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#12 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 657 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 November 2013 - 06:23 AM

It's not top of the line, but it's perfectly usable.

I'm lucky to get 1mbps at home and I can still post just fine.


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7