4670k Overclocking trouble, need help from the experts

dodgems

Hey all, just found this forum and had a read around over the past week in hopes of overclocking my 4670k successfully. I am basically brand new to this and don't 100 percent know what settings I am even looking at because they seem to be named differently on my asrock board compared to some guides I have seen. Anyway down to business, I am trying to get a stable overclock of atleast 4.2ghz but no matter what settings I try, prime95 will crash within seconds of starting a test, before temps even get past the 45 degree mark. Here are some pics, chances are I am doing something horribly wrong. Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

post-117970-0-45522900-1377566379_thumb.jpgpost-117970-0-22336100-1377566388_thumb.jpgpost-117970-0-93926800-1377566395_thumb.jpgpost-117970-0-12369200-1377566403_thumb.jpg

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to OCC! If you could post your complete computer specs, it would help a lot.

I'd start by setting your bios back to the factory default settings. Once you've reset I'd start with these settings.

CPU Ratio (All Cores): 40

CPU Voltage Override: 1.2v

DRAM Frequency > Manual > 1600 (Assuming you have RAM capable of this setting)

Depending on what memory you have I'd set the "DRAM Voltage" manually to the manufacturers recommended voltage.

I would check for stability at 4ghz and increase the ratio by 1 until you're unstable. I'd then try to set the CPU voltage to 1.25 and continue pushing on.

Edited by FUZi0N

Thanks for replies guys! here is my full specs

LiteON SATA DVD-RW 24X Black

G Skill 8G(2x4G) DDR3 1600Mhz PC12800 RL 9-9-9-24(CL9D-8GBRL)

SilverStone ST75F-P 750W Power Supply

Seagate SATA3 2TB 7200RPM Barracuda 64mb Cache 1

Samsung S22B300B LED 21.5" Wide, 1920x1080, 5ms, DVI, D-sub

Fractal Design Define R4 USB3.0 Mid Tower Case Black