Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

stumped on computer crashing


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 03:53 PM

So I need a bit of help because I'm stumped on a computer that keeps crashing to a screen with lines going across it and it needs a hard reboot.

It is a old 2006-ish 775 dual core with a ATI 4830 and windows 7 . I have run prime 95 , furmark , hdtune and memtest and everything passes without crashing or showing errors . To me it seems like a solid computer but completely randomly it will crash to a greenish screen with lines across it . you could be on Facebook or idle on the desktop and it happens randomly.

does anyone have suggestions because everything is updated including reinstall of the newest drivers , defrag , disk cleanup , really anything I could think of .

Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#2 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:25 PM

Sounds like a GPU going bad, my 8800GTS would do nearly the same thing before it went.


Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#3 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12198 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:26 PM

Have you tried another GPU. 


Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#4 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 04:43 PM

since its not my computer or even in the same city I do not have any spare parts . the gpu thing sounds like a solid lead . wouldn't furmark crash if it was dying ?

with such old parts I was thinking it might be the psu since its showing 11.2v on the 12v line . though what stumps me on everything is all the stress test pass

Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#5 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:08 PM

tried it on with the on-board GPU?


My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#6 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:16 PM

tried it on with the on-board GPU?


it's a abit board without onboard video . it's not a prebuilt :(

Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#7 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:28 PM

 

tried it on with the on-board GPU?


it's a abit board without onboard video . it's not a prebuilt :(

 

oops..but like what they said anyways, seems your GPU has something to do with it.

and your doubt with the PSU even so.


My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#8 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 June 2013 - 05:42 PM

thanks for the input , I'll go ahead and replace both . I'll get both on eBay for cheap

Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#9 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:10 PM

Yes, it sounds like a GPU issue to me.

Bad texture or lines throughout the screen generally means GPU is going bad.


boozei.gif


#10 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 18 June 2013 - 11:38 AM

Check your crash dump files for clues if you see any advanced micro system or Bc Code : 3b 0X0000003B this error is linked to ATI graphics drivers crossing over and passing bad data to the kernel code which will cause crashing due to corrupt drivers, also it could be idle crashing which sounds likely because you ran some heavy tests and system worked fine at med to heavy load but crashes at low usage, if other ATI info shows up in crash dumps try starting a new power plan and save your current plan,.. changing your power plan to high performance, then click on change plan settings then change advanced power settings, disable all idle, sleep, min power options that shut down system, or hard drive and set min to zero, max to 100, restart and try that,.. you can always return back to your old plan if it does not solve issues, but seems to work for most cases.

 

Windows OS has been causing some older ATI cards to crash when idle or under vary light load like surfing internet, or streaming video. They know about ATI idle crashing issue,.. check on Windows forums lots of folks having same issues, no patch or update yet. Your card is more than likely fine,.. Good Luck

 

Edit : To confirm idle crashing, play a game on normal settings for at least one hour to confirm graphics will work at med. to high usage, if your system does fine then close game, and just open a internet browser do not use any thing, let your rig just set at low or idle usage, it should crash within 30 min.


Edited by Braegnok, 18 June 2013 - 03:27 PM.

Intel Core i7-6700K

Asus Maximus VIII

Nvidia GTX1080-8G

2X8GB DDR4 3600MHz

Seasonic SS-660XP2

Corsair H100