Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Data Connection Broken On SATA HD


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 10 May 2013 - 04:47 AM

I've got a WD 160GB SATA HD, and the plastic part of the data connection has broken off inside the cable.  I got most of the data off before it no longer worked, and the drive itself tests OK.  I have an identical drive, so my question is has anyone ever changed the header on a drive to get access to the data again?  It looks like it's an L shaped piece screwed to the back of the drive with torx screws. 

 

Any help to prevent me from ending up with 2 unusable drives will be appreciated, CQTMS.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#2 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 10 May 2013 - 05:29 AM

How close are the 2 drive made to each other, like the mfd date, firmware. Because if they are really close you might have a good chance of swapping the controller board and it working.

 

That way you could retrieve the data then trash the drive. You wont hurt the board any if it does not work so no worries on that part.



#3 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Nimrod

  • Folding Member
  • 989 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 10 May 2013 - 05:59 AM

You can buy a Serial ATA drive repair kit from Digi-Key, for under twenty dollars that has several header connectors in kit, or buy just a single replacement header.

I have replaced lot's of them on WD Ice Packs, takes a few min. :thumbsup:  Or if you have identical matching drive, swapping controler boards works also.  


Edited by Braegnok, 18 May 2013 - 07:47 AM.

Intel Core i7-6900K

Asus X99-Deluxe II

Nvidia GTX1080-8G SLI

Corsair DDR4 3000MHz

Seasonic SS-1050XP2

EK-XLC Predator 360

 

 

                    


#4 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 10 May 2013 - 09:05 AM

I didn't know about Digi-Key, thanks.  I do in fact have an identical drive, so I may try that first and take a chance the firmware will work.  I'm not worried about a short, AFAIK there's nothing wrong with the old drive but the broken plastic piece.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#5 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16173 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Between Here and There

Posted 10 May 2013 - 11:37 AM

Phil,

 

Swapping out the controller board is the easiest way to accomplish this task.  I'd recommend that over trying to jack with the drive repair kit.

 

Just my two cents worth  :)


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#6 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 11 May 2013 - 01:28 PM

I swapped the board and the operation was a success.  :)

 

Thanks for the replies!


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#7 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12211 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2013 - 01:53 PM

Good to know it worked out for you.


Processor Intel Core I7 4690X  4.3Ghz
Memory G.Skill RipJaws  32GB 2400Mhz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV BE
Graphics  GTX TitanX x2
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor ASUS PQ321Q
Cooling Liquid by comittee

Storage  OCZ RevoDrive 350 480GB  Seagate 8TB
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#8 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 11 May 2013 - 03:50 PM

I swapped the board and the operation was a success.  :)

So, you're making a note here, huge success!?


ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#9 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 12 May 2013 - 10:17 AM

I think I spoke too soon.  It works great as a slave, but won't boot.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#10 ChristineBCW

ChristineBCW

    New Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 02:04 PM

We have a handful of these "SATA Combo Cables" that we use when encountering this.  The "other side" usually keeps the connection solid enough to be functional for data-extracting. 



#11 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 12 May 2013 - 03:50 PM

That's a good idea, I think I even have one of those.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS