Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Do you use a NAS at home?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use a NAS at home? (31 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use a NAS?

  1. Yes (10 votes [32.26%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.26%

  2. No (21 votes [67.74%])

    Percentage of vote: 67.74%

Vote

#1 neddamttocs

neddamttocs

    Total Nerd

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2283 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, ON

Posted 14 April 2013 - 05:36 PM

This week on OCC Polls we ant to know if you use a NAS to store your files on?

 

 



OCC Rules || Follow OCC on Posted Image


RIG #1 | AMD FX-6300 | Gigabyte 970A-D3P | 8GB of G.Skill RipjawX RAM | Saphire R9 270X 2GB | Corsair CX500 | 1TB WD Blue
RIG #2 | Intel E8400 | Asus P5Q | 4GB of G.Skill PQ 8000 RAM | Palit 4850 512MB Sonic | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 | 2x 320GB in Raid0 for OS + 750GB for data
| D-Link DNS323 w/2TB for Media |


#2 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19461 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 14 April 2013 - 05:51 PM

Nope.


CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 980 Ti - 16GB DDR3-1866MHz - Acer Predator X34 -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: NVIDIA SHIELD Android TV Review ::: Acer Predator X34 Review :::


#3 ir_cow

ir_cow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6261 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 14 April 2013 - 05:55 PM

after setting up a home server I wish I looked into NAS more, it's really easy solution to many file storage issues.


Filckr Photostream / Intel Pentium G3258 OC Guide / NVIDIA GTX 1080 OC Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, 3x Geforce GTX 1080Ti, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 14 April 2013 - 07:14 PM

Yes I currently have one that has 12TB of storage, soon to be adding another. I wish that I had started using them years ago.


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 6700K
MSI Board
32GB Gskill
Titan X
Samsung 1TB SSD
Corsair 600T White
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Corsair 1200 Watt PSU
Asus 32" 4K Monitor
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#5 Il_napoletano

Il_napoletano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 14 April 2013 - 10:51 PM

Started using NAS about a year ago..so now I can just stream music, movies etc. to whatever I'm using whether phone or computer..
Cooler Master Haf 932
Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Intel i7 3770k with a Noctua NH-D15S(Thanks OCC & Noctua)
16GB Corsair Vengence 1866mhz
PNY 670GTX 2GB @1920x1200
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD
WD Raptor 10k rpm
Segate barracuda x2 500GB
64x Windows 8.1 Enterprise
 
Macbook Pro i5 
Samsung 830 120GB SSD 

#6 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 April 2013 - 03:00 AM

No.

Due to lack of availability at a descent price in my country.

Although I have a mini media server at my home of 4TB capacity, that can't be considered as a real NAS.


boozei.gif


#7 InCrYsIs

InCrYsIs

    Total Nerd

  • Folding Member
  • 2486 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 15 April 2013 - 09:51 AM

Dlink 2 bay Nas with (2) 1 TB Samsung spinpoint drives in raid 0.  Works great but almost full. Time for (2) 2 TB drives.


MAIN RIG:Intel i7 8700k, ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING -- Aura RGB, 16GB DDR-4 Corsair Vengeance LPX, Asus ROG Strix Geforce 1080, Intel 545 series 512GB SSD, Element Gaming Case, Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 750W Gold Full Modular PS, Corsair Hydro Series H55 120mm Liquid CPU Cooler, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Asus ROG Swift 27" 1440p, Razer Kraken 7.1 Chroma Headset, Razer Blackwidow Tournament Edition KB, Logitech G500s Mouse

 

OTHER STUFF: Playstation 4 PRO, Xbox One S


#8 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:02 AM

if you mean a box called/termed as NAS then no... but if you mean anything as Network Attached Storage then yes... I have a PC thats set up for storage of media and back ups...

 

Fought the urge to have one but since i have i've used it many times and thank god i have.


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#9 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:37 AM

Yes, its the most flashy NAS ever built on a budget. Cougar Challenger (BluePanda/Waco) and 3x Red LED Case Fans (LEPA/OCC).


Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 1070 || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || Qnix QX2710 || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Sennheiser HD6XX || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Xeon E3-1275 v5 || Supermicro X11SSH-LN4F || Samsung 16 GB ECC RAM || SeaSonic X-Series 750W || 54 TB Raw Storage ||


#10 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 11302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 15 April 2013 - 03:50 PM

Yea I boiught WD 2 TB to transfer some files to a few years ago when I had a hard drive going out. I have since got a cineraid thing with 4 - 3TB drives...



I7-6900K Asus X99 Deluxe 2 Corsair Vengeance 32Gb Intel 750 400gb  2- 1080ti

 

sigimage.gif


#11 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 15 April 2013 - 11:54 PM

No.

Due to lack of availability at a descent price in my country.

Although I have a mini media server at my home of 4TB capacity, that can't be considered as a real NAS.


You can still call it a nas with FreeNAS ;)



#12 Kiro

Kiro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Princeton, NJ

Posted 16 April 2013 - 08:37 AM

Nope.  It's a bit overkill for my use.