Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Do you use a NAS at home?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use a NAS at home? (31 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use a NAS?

  1. Yes (10 votes [32.26%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.26%

  2. No (21 votes [67.74%])

    Percentage of vote: 67.74%

Vote

#1 neddamttocs

neddamttocs

    Total Nerd

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2281 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, ON

Posted 14 April 2013 - 05:36 PM

This week on OCC Polls we ant to know if you use a NAS to store your files on?

 

 



OCC Rules || Follow OCC on Posted Image

Posted Image

RIG #1 | AMD FX-6300 | Gigabyte 970A-D3P | 8GB of G.Skill RipjawX RAM | Saphire R9 270X 2GB | Corsair CX500 | 1TB WD Blue
RIG #2 | Intel E8400 | Asus P5Q | 4GB of G.Skill PQ 8000 RAM | Palit 4850 512MB Sonic | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 | 2x 320GB in Raid0 for OS + 750GB for data
| D-Link DNS323 w/2TB for Media |


#2 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19453 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted 14 April 2013 - 05:51 PM

Nope.


CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 770 - 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3-1866MHz -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: Razer Sabertooth Review ::: Watch Dogs Review :::


#3 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5808 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 14 April 2013 - 05:55 PM

after setting up a home server I wish I looked into NAS more, it's really easy solution to many file storage issues.


Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: R.I.P

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 14 April 2013 - 07:14 PM

Yes I currently have one that has 12TB of storage, soon to be adding another. I wish that I had started using them years ago.


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
2 X Titan X in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
Asus 32" 4K Monitor
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#5 Il_napoletano

Il_napoletano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 14 April 2013 - 10:51 PM

Started using NAS about a year ago..so now I can just stream music, movies etc. to whatever I'm using whether phone or computer..
Cooler Master Haf 932
Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Intel i7 3770k 
16GB Corsair Vengence 1866mhz
PNY 670GTX 2GB @1920x1200
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD
Samsung 830 120GB SSD 
WD Raptor 10k rpm
Segate barracuda x3 500GB
64x Windows 8.1 Enterprise
 
Panasonic Toughbook CF-52

#6 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4152 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 April 2013 - 03:00 AM

No.

Due to lack of availability at a descent price in my country.

Although I have a mini media server at my home of 4TB capacity, that can't be considered as a real NAS.


boozei.gif


#7 InCrYsIs

InCrYsIs

    Total Nerd

  • Folding Member
  • 2450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 15 April 2013 - 09:51 AM

Dlink 2 bay Nas with (2) 1 TB Samsung spinpoint drives in raid 0.  Works great but almost full. Time for (2) 2 TB drives.


MAIN RIG:Asus Maximus V Gene, I7 3770K, 16GB Gskill Ripjaws X PC-1600, EVGA GTX 980 FTW 4GB, 512GB Samsung SSD, Asus ROG Swift 27" 1440p, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Razer Kraken 7.1 Chroma Headset, Coolermaster Hyper Evo 212 Cooler, NZXT Razer S340 w/ Corsair HX 850 Watt PSU

 

OTHER STUFF: Playstation 4, Xbox One

 

incrysis76.png


#8 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:02 AM

if you mean a box called/termed as NAS then no... but if you mean anything as Network Attached Storage then yes... I have a PC thats set up for storage of media and back ups...

 

Fought the urge to have one but since i have i've used it many times and thank god i have.


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#9 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:37 AM

Yes, its the most flashy NAS ever built on a budget. Cougar Challenger (BluePanda/Waco) and 3x Red LED Case Fans (LEPA/OCC).


Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 970 SLI || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || Qnix QX2710 || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Audeze LCD-2 || Hifiman HE500 || Sennheiser HD600 || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 16GB || Corsair CX430 || IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||


#10 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 15 April 2013 - 03:50 PM

Yea I boiught WD 2 TB to transfer some files to a few years ago when I had a hard drive going out. I have since got a cineraid thing with 4 - 3TB drives...



sigimage.gif


#11 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 15 April 2013 - 11:54 PM

No.

Due to lack of availability at a descent price in my country.

Although I have a mini media server at my home of 4TB capacity, that can't be considered as a real NAS.


You can still call it a nas with FreeNAS ;)



#12 Kiro

Kiro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Princeton, NJ

Posted 16 April 2013 - 08:37 AM

Nope.  It's a bit overkill for my use.