Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Reformatting, RAID 0'ing 2 SSD's, Fresh W7 Install


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 tbris84

tbris84

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota FL

Posted 07 April 2013 - 03:03 PM

I currently have W7 installed on one of my 128GB Samsung SSD's and my second SSD is just a backup/game storage drive. I would like to set them both up in a RAID 0 configuration with a fresh W7 install. Is this possible to do? What is the best way to go about it? (ASRock Z77 Extreme4 motherboard)


  • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4
  • EVGA GTX 680 SC
  • Samsung 30nm 8GB
  • 2x Samsung 830 128GB SSD
  • 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB (in RAID 0)
  • Pioneer 15x Bluray Burner
  • Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
  • SeaSonic X750
  • Corsair Obsidian 800D

#2 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 08 April 2013 - 08:32 AM

The same way you setup your seagates is the same way you setup SSD. Put your SSD on your sata 6gb (sata3) ports tho.



#3 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 08 April 2013 - 08:55 AM

go into your bios and set the drives to raid and when installing windows use the raid drivers that come on the mb cd ( or from the website ) . I'm sure someone made a guide on here somewhere

Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16148 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Between Here and There

Posted 08 April 2013 - 09:51 AM

tbris - step for step;

 

1. Attach both SSDs to the Intel SATA 6Gb/s ports
 
2. Enter BIOS SETUP UTILITY Advanced screen
 Storage Con? guration
 

3. Set “SATA Mode Selection” to [RAID]

 

4. Reboot your computer. Wait until you see the RAID software 

prompting you to press <Ctrl+I>
 
5. press <Ctrl+I>
 
6. In the Intel RAID Bios main menu select <Create RAID Volume>
 
7. In the <Create Volume Menu> give your array a name
 
8. Select RAID level = RAID0 (stripe)
 
9. Select RAID disks
 
10. Select Stripe Size = pick a number, but 128kb is as good of starting point as any
 
11. Select capacity = the entire capacity of both drives combined into one RAID0 array is shown here - use that value unless you want to partition space for something else
 
12. Last menu option is <Create Volume> / so press enter here
 
13 Confirmation Window "Do you want to create a new volume" or something along those lines.... select <Y>
 
Boom and you're done   :)
 
Since you're running Windows 7 you don't need to install a stand-alone RAID driver at this point as W7 has Intel RAID drivers built in.  After you finish the OS installation you may choose to install the Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver.
 
 

10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#5 tbris84

tbris84

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota FL

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:34 AM

 

tbris - step for step;

 

 

Thanks a lot!  I have just one issue, it doesnt show my two SSDs. Any idea why? It shows me two 3TB drives, but no SSDs.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20130408_143501.jpg

Edited by tbris84, 08 April 2013 - 10:40 AM.

  • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4
  • EVGA GTX 680 SC
  • Samsung 30nm 8GB
  • 2x Samsung 830 128GB SSD
  • 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB (in RAID 0)
  • Pioneer 15x Bluray Burner
  • Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
  • SeaSonic X750
  • Corsair Obsidian 800D

#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16148 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Between Here and There

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:51 AM

For now disconnect the supersized Seagate TB drives.  All you want connected at this point are the two SSD's.  Do a full CMOS clear, including removing the motherboard battery, shorting the CMOS jumper etc.  Reboot, get into BIOS and load optimized defaults.  Before exiting, go back to your SATA configuration page and set the Intel 6Gb/s ports to [RAID] again.  Reboot and see if motherboard picks up the drives now.  If not, check and see if you are running the latest BIOS.  If not flash to the latest BIOS for your motherboard.  The RAID BIOS updates are included in the main motherboard BIOS updates.  Need to make sure that both are up to date.

 

If that doesn't do the trick, don't forget the normal common sense stuff; make sure drives have SATA power connectors attached, make sure SATA cables are firmly secured, try different SATA cables etc.  Also might want to check the cpu socket for bent pins............

 

Keep me posted.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:52 AM



tbris - step for step;

Thanks a lot! I have just one issue, it doesnt show my two SSDs. Any idea why? It shows me two 3TB drives, but no SSDs.
you'll probably have start in bios and change the bios mode to achi first then go to windows drive and storage monitor and enable them then back to bios and follow wev's direction...i just did this a couple of months back and they work great together...good luck with:]that

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 [email protected],xfx7970 Black,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gtx650, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, Sheila's office machine

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#8 tbris84

tbris84

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota FL

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:18 AM

Thanks for the timely replies. Apparently it was the SATA3 drivers at fault, or rather me not having them on the Intel SATA controlled ports. New problem though, the RAID is created but I cannot install Windows 7 Home Edition on it . Not sure why this is, but I don't have much time to screw with it today. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1365448943491.jpg

Edited by tbris84, 08 April 2013 - 12:35 PM.

  • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4
  • EVGA GTX 680 SC
  • Samsung 30nm 8GB
  • 2x Samsung 830 128GB SSD
  • 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB (in RAID 0)
  • Pioneer 15x Bluray Burner
  • Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
  • SeaSonic X750
  • Corsair Obsidian 800D

#9 tbris84

tbris84

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota FL

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:18 AM

I appreciate the step-by-step Wev, once I realized the BIOS had a <RAID> option for both the Intel and ASMedia SATA3 ports it worked perfectly for creating the RAID. If only the Windows installation would go through. I've reformatted again on the single SSD. I may give it another shot if I get any more advice as to a solution. Otherwise I'll suffer with my single SSD performance, lol. 


Edited by tbris84, 08 April 2013 - 12:38 PM.

  • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4
  • EVGA GTX 680 SC
  • Samsung 30nm 8GB
  • 2x Samsung 830 128GB SSD
  • 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB (in RAID 0)
  • Pioneer 15x Bluray Burner
  • Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
  • SeaSonic X750
  • Corsair Obsidian 800D

#10 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 09 April 2013 - 05:24 AM

What drivers are you using in the windows install?

 

Just whats on the DVD?



#11 wevsspot

wevsspot

    I'm trying to be helpful.... really I am

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16148 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Between Here and There

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:03 AM

tbris - this is really being complicated by all the additional drives that you have connected during the Windows OS install routine.  For now, disconnect all the other drives except for the two SSDs.  Ensure that the two SSDs are connected to the Intel SATA 6Gb/s ports.

 

Go back into the RAID BIOS and delete the existing array and then recreate it following the steps I outlined above.  Save your changes and begin the Windows install.  When you get to the "Where do you want to install Windows" screen the only partition there should be <Disk 0 Partition 1> with a size of approximately 238.5Gb.  At this point you should be able to finish the Windows installation.

 

You should not need any special drivers to install a RAID set attached to the Intel controller.

 

You can add back your other hard drives after you get the SSD installation done. 


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg