Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

DDR2 Activity LED Strip - Anyone know anything about these please?

DDR2 RAM LED Modding Memory

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 moddingnewbie

moddingnewbie

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 March 2013 - 08:31 AM

Hi,

Am a newbie to modding in general (and hope that this question has been posted in the correct forum sub-category) and would like to ask whether anyone knows technical specifications and pinout details for the following please? This was attached to a DDR2 Module (possibly via a heat-spreader - cannot recall for certain) however whether this was fitted at the factory I'm not sure (at a guess it wasn't).

1918uu.jpg

Apologies for the quality of the photo.

No idea whether this is programmable or whether the LEDs illuminate randomly.

Thank you for any help.


Edited by moddingnewbie, 21 March 2013 - 08:31 AM.


#2 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 21 March 2013 - 09:03 AM

Those are more Bling than useful. Crucial Balistic Tracer Ram has them, here's a youtube review of this ram showing it...

 


Edited by kyfire, 21 March 2013 - 09:04 AM.

CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4151 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2013 - 10:25 AM

They are nor useful at all (except for showoff)


boozei.gif


#4 Kuronin

Kuronin

    Stand back, it's killing time.

  • Folding Member
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2013 - 12:17 PM

Oh my god, so much want. How can I get those strips?


f97234c9dd3c960b.png


#5 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1618 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 21 March 2013 - 12:23 PM

They should come with an epilepsy warning...  :blink:

 

They are kinda cool though, although I feel there are limited practical applications of it  :doh:


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo Dual-core, 1.6GHz
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz
Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps
Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W
Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case
 
OnePlus One 64GB > 4G LTE, 2.5GHz Snapdragon 801, 3GB LPDDR3, Adreno 330 GPU, 13MP camera (4k@30fps, 1080p@60fps)


#6 moddingnewbie

moddingnewbie

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 March 2013 - 10:53 PM

Those are more Bling than useful. Crucial Balistic Tracer Ram has them, here's a youtube review of this ram showing it...

 

 

Hi, Thank you for your reply. The strip that I've no idea how to hook-up has a 3-pin edge connector on it. Any idea's what manufacturer made these as it'd be great knowing how to go about hooking it up please?

 

Thank you again.



#7 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5691 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 21 March 2013 - 11:28 PM

that looks like an NXZT led strip to me , same connector .

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus X79 Black Edition, Quadro K4000, Intel 730 480 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#8 moddingnewbie

moddingnewbie

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 March 2013 - 01:33 AM

that looks like an NXZT led strip to me , same connector .

Hi, Thank you for your reply. Any idea's what the pinout is at all please? Failing that does a controller card need to be used?

Thank you again.



#9 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4151 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 March 2013 - 05:22 AM

 

that looks like an NXZT led strip to me , same connector .

Hi, Thank you for your reply. Any idea's what the pinout is at all please? Failing that does a controller card need to be used?

Thank you again.

 

 

See the documentation of the specific product. :happy:


Edited by d6bmg, 22 March 2013 - 05:23 AM.

boozei.gif


#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 22 March 2013 - 06:49 AM

Post up a pic of the pinout.  That would be useful.  Make sure to get at least a part of the wires going into the pinout too.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15934 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 22 March 2013 - 07:11 AM

Unless it's BallistiX it's not going do do anything with RAM activity - it'll just blink.

sig_zps57e53609.png


#12 moddingnewbie

moddingnewbie

    New Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 March 2013 - 10:50 PM

 

 

that looks like an NXZT led strip to me , same connector .

Hi, Thank you for your reply. Any idea's what the pinout is at all please? Failing that does a controller card need to be used?

Thank you again.

 

 

See the documentation of the specific product. :happy:

 

Hi, Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately tried Googling such a product and am cannot find any details on it at all.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: DDR2, RAM, LED, Modding, Memory