Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Single GTX 680 w/ Tri-Monitors


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:38 PM

Just curious if anyone is using a single GTX 680 or GTX 670 with tri-monitors. Wondering if I should pick up a 3rd Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM. From the benchmarks I've seen a single GTX 680 gets roughly 30-40 FPS on 3x1080p with fully maxed settings. I'm wondering what kind of performance it can get in the med-high setting range.


Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 970 SLI || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || Qnix QX2710 || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Audeze LCD-2 || Hifiman HE500 || Sennheiser HD600 || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 32GB || Corsair CX430 || 2x IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||


#2 Justhavocman

Justhavocman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Posted 30 January 2013 - 02:59 PM

AMD has a good history of multi-monitor setups , now i'm sure 2 monitors won't be a problem for a 680 , is it 2GB or 4GB?



#3 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5870 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:03 PM

I don't think nvidia supports more than 2 monitors at a time without Sli . I could be wrong but ATI has the multi monitor down

Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#4 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32766 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:25 PM

The GTX 670 and 680 both power 3 monitors. Those days of needing two cards were gone when the 600 series was launched.


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
2 X Titan X in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
Asus 32" 4K Monitor
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#5 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5870 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:22 PM

Ah, good to know!


Filckr Photostream / How to Overclock an Intel Pentium G3258 Guide

Main Rig: i7 3960X @ 4.3Ghz, ASUS X79 R4BE, Geforce GTX 1070, Intel 730(s) 480GB, 64GB DDR3 1600, Seasonic 1000w Plat.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), Thermaltake 750w.


#6 Nephilumos

Nephilumos

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:54 PM

I <3 my tri-monitor setup on my 4GB 670.  Though, the only game I really play with all three monitors is GRID, and that game is old enough that my 670 eats it up without a second thought.


I refuse to cook poop with a computer...thanks

Main Rig:
Antec 1200
Asus Maximus VI Hero
i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz w/HT
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz RAM
EVGA GTX670 4GB

Corsair H100i
Corsair Enthusiast 850w PSU

Heatware


#7 F13Bubba

F13Bubba

    Certified Geek

  • Folding Member
  • 1130 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:36 PM

It looks like I need to get into the 600 series. I really want to get a 32" tv to hang above my monitor setup to add a little more productivity to my sound production... as well as being able to watch tv from my bed :teehee:


Edited by F13Bubba, 30 January 2013 - 06:36 PM.

i7-5930k @ 4.2
CM Masterair Maker 8
ASUS x99-A
32gb HYPERX 2133 DDR4
ASUS STRIX GTX970
CM V1000
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit


#8 WhenKittensATK

WhenKittensATK

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 31 January 2013 - 08:57 AM

Just picked up 3rd monitor for $150. I'm sure if I drop AA down a bit, it will hit 60 FPS easily. Just need to find a display port cable.


Edited by AZNguyen, 31 January 2013 - 09:32 AM.

Gaming Rig || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 8GB || MSI GTX 970 SLI || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

Peripherals || Qnix QX2710 || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Blue Snowball ||

Audio Gear || Schiit Bitfrost 4490 || Schiit Lyr 2 || Audeze LCD-2 || Hifiman HE500 || Sennheiser HD600 || Monoprice 605500 ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 32GB || Corsair CX430 || 2x IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||


#9 tbris84

tbris84

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota FL

Posted 02 February 2013 - 10:00 AM

I'm running two 32" Samsungs (UN32EH5000) @1080p on my GTX680 without breaking a sweat. If I had more desk space I would throw in a third, but I don't. At least not at this time. 


  • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4
  • EVGA GTX 680 SC
  • Samsung 30nm 8GB
  • 2x Samsung 830 128GB SSD
  • 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB (in RAID 0)
  • Pioneer 15x Bluray Burner
  • Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
  • SeaSonic X750
  • Corsair Obsidian 800D