Build recommendations, please

kendellrt

I always could count on Verran to give me excellent advice for a new build. I haven't even really been around the forums much since he passed. Now I am looking to a new build, completely from scratch, and I would like advice. I've been using a Mac for a couple of years and am out of the game. I am usually the guy who over buys, but I don't really need it to do much. We are not planning on serious gaming titles, not much more than Minecraft or WoW. I don't really game anymore, but my boy does. I will encode DVD with it. I am not opposed to either Intel or AMD. I would just like bang for buck. I would love recommendations from all of you, including all parts needed for a new build.

Edited by kendellrt

These days fast computers can be built pretty cheap. For the games you're looking at, and encoding you can do well with AMD's Trinity CPU. Saves you money on not needing a graphics card, and encoding times are pretty good. Some cheap $30 2x4GB Memory, a 128GB SSD and a 1TB HDD with a simple but good $30 case (been a lot of good ones over the holidays), a Corsair CX500 or so PSU, you're looking at a $400 build.

El is not far off, an AMD A10 can deliver a solid build for a budget system. If you live near a Microcenter I would go the Intel route with an i5 3450. While Minecraft can get by pretty well with no discrete card paying WoW will require a bit more horsepower. I would grab a 7850 and that should easily meet any gaming demands up to a 1080 resolution. Unless you plan to store a lot on the HD in the way of data, music, pics, movies and such, I would forgo the big spindle drive and bump the SSD 240 gig and not look back.

Stick on 8 gigs of RAM and a solid case and PSU and you should be all set. You can build the kind of system I mentioned for under about $800.

Edited by ComputerEd