Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Home Elecrical Question


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#13 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:32 PM

 

 

  I tried Googling the part #, no joy from teh internets.

 

Because when that part came out the internet wasn't even invented yet. :teehee:


Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#14 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5271 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:39 PM

Time to send it to be professionally repaired or call it a day and toss the thing. Its not worth the danger to you, your family or your home.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#15 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:20 PM

Indeed the unit does predate the internet, but then again so do I.  :)

 

I don't know why everyone thinks this is dangerous, I just need to know how to hook it up. 


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#16 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:40 PM

I don't know why everyone thinks this is dangerous, I just need to know how to hook it up. 


Don't forget to finalize your will before you hook it up.

Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#17 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12195 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:42 PM

SO.... the one wire connects to two different points in the assembly?


Processor Intel Core I7 4790K  4.4Ghz
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2666Mhz
Motherboard Z97i
Graphics  GTX TitanX
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Cooling Corsair H90

HyperX Savage 240GB SSD, 3TB Seagate
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#18 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:47 PM

SO.... the one wire connects to two different points in the assembly?

 

Apparently.  I guess the same wire connects to a point on both ends.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#19 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18248 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:52 PM

wrong.... for 220v there is TWO hookups... there has to be either TWO hot wires 1 for EACH leg of 220v (110v each leg) or 1 leg and a ground...in which case it's a 110v volt heater.

 

if it only has one leg then the outer casing is the neutral and the unit is 110v....

 

for that one if it is 220v there is a hook up at each end.... its a resistance heater


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#20 ccokeman

ccokeman

    ????????????

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12195 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:00 PM

wrong.... for 220v there is TWO hookups... there has to be either TWO hot wires 1 for EACH leg of 220v (110v each leg) or 1 leg and a ground...in which case it's a 110v volt heater.

 

if it only has one leg then the outer casing is the neutral and the unit is 110v....

 

for that one if it is 220v there is a hook up at each end.... its a resistance heater

 

My thoughts exactly. If you clip the wire in the middle and attach one leg to each side with a ground to the case that makes sense.


Processor Intel Core I7 4790K  4.4Ghz
Memory Corsair Vengeance 16GB 2666Mhz
Motherboard Z97i
Graphics  GTX TitanX
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Cooling Corsair H90

HyperX Savage 240GB SSD, 3TB Seagate
Follow OCC on facebook.png


#21 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:19 PM

Just take it to an Electrician. your obviously missing parts that's making it impossible to figure out what needs to be done with little or no experience in doing so. Would be safest bet IMO

 or Try it your self

710_0_w50.jpg

and get a spiffy new hairdo!


Edited by Renigade, 30 December 2012 - 06:20 PM.


#22 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16281 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 30 December 2012 - 07:20 PM

I'd have an electrician come take a gander at it. Worst case wire it up how you *think* it should work and test it out via an extension cord OUTSIDE. :lol:

sig_zps2e3s65ua.png


#23 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 08:38 PM

I'm going to cut the wire and try it.  It's not missing parts, I've got 6 of them all the same.  I think it's just old school, professionals back in the day knew what to do with it, nowadays in today's Home Depot world everything has to be idiot proof.


The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#24 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 685 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:14 PM

make sure someone is watching with a camera I want to see, and besides it might be worth 10K on AFV!!