Jump to content


Photo

What is your Windows 8 Interface


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Poll: What is your Windows 8 interface? (15 member(s) have cast votes)

Which interface do you use for Windows 8

  1. Metro (8 votes [53.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 53.33%

  2. Start8 (6 votes [40.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 40.00%

  3. RetroUI (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. other freeware desktop (1 votes [6.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.67%

  5. registry hacks to desktop (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  6. other (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 16 December 2012 - 07:16 AM

Just curious of the people using Windows 8 which interface method you are making use of for your daily use. I used Start 8 for a while but found myself going back to Metro.


Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#2 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 16 December 2012 - 07:55 AM

yea, i've gotten used to the plain ol win8 tile screen,... it pretty much has everything i need


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 [email protected],xfx7970 Black,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gtx650, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, Sheila's office machine

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#3 Onion

Onion

    Onions are delicious

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:English Colonies

Posted 16 December 2012 - 08:15 AM

I had start8 until I bought my ssd. I installed Windows 7 this time around.

Desktop: i7 6700K @ 4.9 GHz - Asus Z170A - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 2 x 8 GB DDR4 3200 Mhz - Samsung Evo 850 500 GB - EVGA SuperNova G2 750 - Noctua NH-D14 - Fractal Core 3300
MacBook Pro Retina 13: i5 5287U @ 3.3 Ghz - Intel Iris 6100 - 8 GB DDR3 1867 Mhz - 512 GB SSD

Peripherals: Dell UP2516D - Bose QC25 - Poker 3 w/ Cherry MX Blue - Corsair M65

Legacy Overclocks: Q9450 @ 4.0 GHz - Q6700 @ 4.0 GHz
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#4 Nephilumos

Nephilumos

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 16 December 2012 - 08:33 AM

I use Start 8 for Windows 8, but for my servers that are on Server 2012, the regular interface doesn't bother me at all.  The servers that still have a GUI anyway.  Server Core ftw.


I refuse to cook poop with a computer...thanks

Main Rig:
Antec 1200
Asus Maximus VI Hero
i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz w/HT
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz RAM
EVGA GTX670 4GB

Corsair H100i
Corsair Enthusiast 850w PSU

Heatware


#5 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 14 January 2013 - 05:50 AM

Well, it depends on which machine.

main rig, start8
secondary rig, start8
main laptop, modern ui (mostly use openSUSE on this anyway)


Everything else is still on win7/linux
 



#6 Mofpaydayoz

Mofpaydayoz

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 08:18 AM

I voted for the Metro interface because I'm currently using Win 8 on a touch enabled laptop. Though, I am still using ViStart on my testing rig running CP. I saw no point in paying for the Start8 if this does pretty much the same thing. :)



#7 EvilGeniusJr

EvilGeniusJr

    New Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 January 2013 - 12:42 PM

yea, i've gotten used to the plain ol win8 tile screen,... it pretty much has everything i need

This ^^

I'm really liking windows 8 on my desktop. It's all in the keyboard shortcuts.......



#8 Gremlin

Gremlin

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1657 posts
  • Location:Sacramento, CA

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:58 PM

I use start 8 for now.. 


Gremlin_FLG.png


#9 Voltes_5

Voltes_5

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2038 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kingman, Arizona

Posted 29 January 2013 - 10:06 PM

Got myself a cheap laptop couple weeks back. Came with W8, I use Classic Shell for a Start screen and boots to it, but as I use Metro more and more, it seems to get easier for me. It boots really fast too, tweaked it up and it boots between 20-25 seconds.


Asus P8 P67 Pro_i5 25K_RipjawsX 2x4GB_OCZ Vertex 3 128GB_2XZotacGTX 980 Ti AMP SLI_Corsair AX-1200_W7 Home Premium_WD 2TB(Steam)_WD 1TB(Storage)


#10 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 29 January 2013 - 10:41 PM

Start 8 on my laptop, both desktops still run win7


The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#11 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 05 February 2013 - 02:59 PM

Just helped a client with his new PC, he saw Windows 8 and freaked out. I mean just went nuts and was about to return the computer when he called me. I was bale to move him over to Start8, kill some of the metro apps so they do not take control and got him back up the way he wanted to run.


Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"