Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

FX-8350 @ 4.7GHz - OCCT Question


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#37 red1776

red1776

    Watercool it...then burn it!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:mpls mn

Posted 02 December 2012 - 01:10 PM

That all sounds reasonable. You may end up going 1.65v with your RAM depending what model you have. DDR3 is dual effective rate or 2 x 933= 1866MHz in your case. The Primary difference between DDR2 and DDR3 is that DDR3 has twice the transfer rate. There is almost assuredly some headroom with your memory, but I would leave that until you get a stable OC to get an idea of where you are at. As far as temp goes, 62c is the max thermal from AMD. Don t need to get concerned if you go a bit higher temporarily while finding your OC. There is a big cushion in that number. To answer your question ,I usually shoot for 10c under the max thermal @ max OC.

Keep the temp under 62c and the voltage (vCore) under 1.55v

....did I get it all? :P :D


2.2kW Holodeck VII Posted Image

[email protected]/Gigabyte GA-990-FXA-UD7 (rev 1.1)/16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 MHz/4 X HD 7970 Quadfire / 1x Corsiar AX1200W/2x FSP Group X5 1000W/1XNexXxos XT45 360mm/2 x NexXxos XT45 240mm/1xNexXxos XT45 120mm Rads/ 3 X VPP-655 Pumps/ Koolance 370 CPU Block/ Heatkiller GPU X-3 Waterblocks/ Rad Fans Coolermaster Excaliber/Bitspower & Monsoon Fittings/Primochill Tubing/ Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 2/Heatkiller X-3 Multilink Quad Bridge/BitsPower Z-Multi 250mML Reservoir/ Eyefinity 3+1 Extended 5760 x 1080-25" Monitors

#38 TRWeiss1

TRWeiss1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY

Posted 02 December 2012 - 01:39 PM

Haha yep, I think you did! :P My question regarding the memory was not bc I *wanted* to push it faster, but rather do I *need* to in order to achieve a stable OC in this scenario. ;) So far no crashing @ 1.50v Vcore, but we'll see what happens in time. Maybe the cause of the crashing this entire time was bc my Vcore was too low. I was merely going based on what others are running theirs at, and what they were using for Vcore... Of course I understand that every system is different, and perhaps my chip needs just a touch more voltage.

It may also be worth noting that whatever I set my chip to in the BIOS, I see .02v less in Windows. For example, even though I'm setting my Vcore to 1.50v, the chip is actually getting 1.48v. Don't know if this much matters, but just pointing it out. So I suppose what I SHOULD be telling you is that I have it set to 1.50v in BIOS, but it's *truly* only running on 1.48v according to CPU-Z and the ASUS OC utility. Max temp I've seen thus far is 59 deg C, although it's hovering right around 57/58. :)

Faster System =>AMD FX-8350 @ 5.0GHz w/ Water 2.0 Pro || 32GBs DDR3-1866 Ripjaws memory || ASUS M5A99X EVO Mobo || X-Fi Xtreme audio sound card || Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X Ghz Edition || 1.2kW Silent Pro PSU || 52" Sharp Aquous || 512GB OCZ SSD | 1.5TB WD | 500 GB WD | 320 GB WD || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Slower System => Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 3.80 GHz w/ ZEROtherm NV120 cooler + AS5 || 4 GBs DDR2-1066 Mushkin memory || ASUS Rampage Formula Mobo || ATi 4870x2 (x2) running X-fire || 1.2 kW Xigmatek PSU || LG 22" Widescreen || 1 TB WD | 120 GB WD || Dual Boot : XP Pro (32-bit) | Vista Ultimate (64-bit)


#39 red1776

red1776

    Watercool it...then burn it!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:mpls mn

Posted 02 December 2012 - 01:55 PM

Excellent!

It not uncommon that the BIOS setting and the Voltage read with CPU-Z (and the like) are a bit different.


2.2kW Holodeck VII Posted Image

[email protected]/Gigabyte GA-990-FXA-UD7 (rev 1.1)/16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 MHz/4 X HD 7970 Quadfire / 1x Corsiar AX1200W/2x FSP Group X5 1000W/1XNexXxos XT45 360mm/2 x NexXxos XT45 240mm/1xNexXxos XT45 120mm Rads/ 3 X VPP-655 Pumps/ Koolance 370 CPU Block/ Heatkiller GPU X-3 Waterblocks/ Rad Fans Coolermaster Excaliber/Bitspower & Monsoon Fittings/Primochill Tubing/ Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 2/Heatkiller X-3 Multilink Quad Bridge/BitsPower Z-Multi 250mML Reservoir/ Eyefinity 3+1 Extended 5760 x 1080-25" Monitors

#40 TRWeiss1

TRWeiss1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY

Posted 02 December 2012 - 01:57 PM

Erm.... There's absolutely NO WAY the following pic could be correct, right? Let me preface this pic with the fact that this chip has been running for days now, nonstop, and I've NEVER seen it get over 61 deg C... Then a random spike up past 120?! Gotta be a false reading, no? There's no way the chip would spike that high at 1.48v, then come back down that quick, would it?? I'm thinking (or hoping) speedfan had a moment where it lost its marbles, or just got bad data from the temperature sensor...

Reference => http://i291.photobuc...eiss1/Spike.jpg

A larger pic. => http://i291.photobuc...Spike_Large.jpg

Edited by TRWeiss1, 02 December 2012 - 02:02 PM.

Faster System =>AMD FX-8350 @ 5.0GHz w/ Water 2.0 Pro || 32GBs DDR3-1866 Ripjaws memory || ASUS M5A99X EVO Mobo || X-Fi Xtreme audio sound card || Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X Ghz Edition || 1.2kW Silent Pro PSU || 52" Sharp Aquous || 512GB OCZ SSD | 1.5TB WD | 500 GB WD | 320 GB WD || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Slower System => Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 3.80 GHz w/ ZEROtherm NV120 cooler + AS5 || 4 GBs DDR2-1066 Mushkin memory || ASUS Rampage Formula Mobo || ATi 4870x2 (x2) running X-fire || 1.2 kW Xigmatek PSU || LG 22" Widescreen || 1 TB WD | 120 GB WD || Dual Boot : XP Pro (32-bit) | Vista Ultimate (64-bit)


#41 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 December 2012 - 02:03 PM

I'm pretty sure that's a false reading, I'm not sure it's physically possible for something to get that hot and cool down that quickly without causing serious issues that would be immediately visible...

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo Dual-core, 1.6GHz
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz
Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps
Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W
Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case
 
OnePlus One 64GB > 4G LTE, 2.5GHz Snapdragon 801, 3GB LPDDR3, Adreno 330 GPU, 13MP camera


#42 TRWeiss1

TRWeiss1

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NY

Posted 02 December 2012 - 08:02 PM

^Exactly, and thank you for confirming that.

Faster System =>AMD FX-8350 @ 5.0GHz w/ Water 2.0 Pro || 32GBs DDR3-1866 Ripjaws memory || ASUS M5A99X EVO Mobo || X-Fi Xtreme audio sound card || Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X Ghz Edition || 1.2kW Silent Pro PSU || 52" Sharp Aquous || 512GB OCZ SSD | 1.5TB WD | 500 GB WD | 320 GB WD || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Slower System => Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 3.80 GHz w/ ZEROtherm NV120 cooler + AS5 || 4 GBs DDR2-1066 Mushkin memory || ASUS Rampage Formula Mobo || ATi 4870x2 (x2) running X-fire || 1.2 kW Xigmatek PSU || LG 22" Widescreen || 1 TB WD | 120 GB WD || Dual Boot : XP Pro (32-bit) | Vista Ultimate (64-bit)