Any advide on transfering iphone contacts to itunes?

youtuy

So here's the thing, I accidently spilled water on my iphone 4, although it has been fixed, it still get kind of "unstable", sometimes it just suddenly shut itself down.

Since iphone 5 is coming soon, I think I'll wait till then to get a new one.However, I have a pile of important contacts saved on my watered iphone 4 and I'm so afraid that they'll be gone with the damaged phone right before I could get a new one. But if I can copy these contacts to itunes, then next time I'll be able to transfer them to the new iphone,right? Or just copy to computer? Any difference?

Anyway, I just want the contacts to be backuped, any good idea? I use Dell PC with Win 7 system.I don't mind if I have to pay for a tool but it would be the best if there's a free and easy way.Help me please!!

Hi Youtuy. Welcome to the OCC forums. I'm not an iPhone expert (prefer Droid myself), but the Mrs. has been using iPhones for a while now so I think I can help.

iTunes doesn't actually store or backup contacts (at least not on the version that is running on my wife's IP4). iTunes is more of a communication link between your phone and whatever Contacts management application you want to run on your computer to allow you to sync two or more devices. You'll need a 3rd party application installed on your PC or running from the cloud. You could use Outlook, Yahoo Address Book, Google Address Book and I think there is even an Apple or Mac address book isn't there?

Personally I use Google. In fact one of the first and only reasons I set up a GMail account was the excellent sync features. At any rate it's a three step process; 1. Pick your poison for the 3rd party app that will store your contact information. 2. Use iTunes to sync your "on phone" contacts to whatever poison you picked in step one. 3. Use iTunes to restore your contacts to the new device.