Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

i7 2600K on ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z OC Issue


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#1 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:03 PM

I try to OC my 2600K on that motherboard but whatever I do every settings is accepted (RAM OC, Over-Voltage and all the rest) but my CPU remains at 3.4Ghz whatever happens.

me and my friend tried anything we knew and were able to find on internet for around 3hours and we seriously don't know what to do anymore.

Specs :
i7 2600K
ASUS Maximus Iv Extreme-Z
G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133Mhz 8Gb 11-11-11-30
PSU : Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse

 


#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15737 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 11 April 2012 - 06:10 PM

Are you overclocking via the multiplier or the Turbo multipliers?

What settings specifically have you changed? How do you know the CPU frequency isn't changing? Even stock it's unlikely to actually run at 3.4 GHz because of Turbo.

sig_zps57e53609.png


#3 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 April 2012 - 04:34 AM

Thanks for the reply Waco (even though it is questions) but I solved the problem myself.
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse

 


#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15737 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 12 April 2012 - 04:54 AM

What did you end up doing to fix it? Curious minds want to know. :P

sig_zps57e53609.png


#5 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:19 AM

Changing the VRM monitoring from T.Probe to Extreme (from Thermal stability to Current Stability) and it works perfectly fine. The setting might have kicked back to default while I was playing with it.
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse

 


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15737 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:22 AM

Hm. Odd bug, but glad you sorted it out!

sig_zps57e53609.png


#7 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:26 AM

I'm also glad I was able to sort it out. I went to sleep too late last night and I am tired this morning. I hate going to sleep knowing I will have to work AGAIN on that the day after so I solve the problem right now and I'll sleep later XD.
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse

 


#8 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2012 - 06:44 AM

Hey guys it's me again, I see some people with the exact same setup as me (ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z + 2600K) able to push it to 5Ghz at 1.500VCore but my setup is not even able to stabilize at that clocking as I will get an error saying an instruction could not be something. I'm pretty sure someone will know that error. I usually get that error after 10-15 minutes of Prime95 with the CPU temp not going over 58 degrees on full load with small FFTs. I recently changed my cooler to a Corsair H100 with 4 x Scythe Kaze Jyuni 1900RPM edition from à Thermaltake Frio equipped with 2 of the same scythe fans. Cooling potential is there but I really can't get it stable. Actually my Motherboard is gone for RMA as a capacitor just fell off from it's soldering pins on the motherboard. I'll keep this thread update when I get my Mobo back.
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse

 


#9 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16055 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 20 April 2012 - 06:53 AM

Ero, there is a huge difference between hitting 5.0Ghz with a 2600K for benchmarking and what you actually want to set it at for stable 24/7 operation. I'd never run my 2700K at 1.50v for 24/7 (and in fact won't even run it there for benchmarking). But, should you decide that you want to hit 5.0Ghz for benchmarking and bragging rights, there are plenty of specific guides for hitting that frequency or near available out there. Just be advised that it takes a lot of tweaking and butt pucker factor.
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#10 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2012 - 06:56 AM

I followed those guides and the benchmark would not even last for 15 seconds and shoot a BSOD right away. But the CPU is fully stable at 4.8Ghz at 1.400VCore with temps pretty cold (liek 52-53 degrees full load Prime95 small FFTs).
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse

 


#11 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 20 April 2012 - 07:13 AM

Not all chips are created equal. Some needs more voltage and some needs cooler temps.
Some people say that only 5-10% SB chips can be stable at 5.0GHz with normal cooling so maybe yours just isn't one of 'em.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#12 Erosannin

Erosannin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2012 - 07:17 AM

I'll test it again with my H100 on Steroids and I'll see. I might be getting a peltier pad also to keep da beast cool and not run wild around the house XD
WarMachine
CPU : i5-3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.2GHz 1.18VCore
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Dual Channel 1600MHz 8-8-8-24
GPU : ASUS Strix GTX970 4GB
SSD : 2 x 256GB Samsung 850 Pro in Raid 0
Keyboard : Old Trusty Logitech G15
Headset : Turtle Beach EarForce Z6A
Mouse : Logitech G700s Wireless Gaming Mouse