Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Catalyst wont open


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 AddictedGamer93

AddictedGamer93

    2500K = Old Faithful

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:07 PM

When i try to open catalyst, i get a message saying " Catalyst Control Center cannot be started. There are currently no settings that can be configured using Catalyst Control Center."

Now what doesnt make sense, is that there were no issues up until today. I got home from school and turned on my rig. The first time i turned it on, it went through post and all that, but I had no video. So i hit the reset button, and this time i had video. I got into windows, and tried to open catalyst, since my scaling settings had gotten reset, and i got the message. Ive tried uninstalling all ATI software and reinstalling. Ive tried uninstalling and doing a safe-mode driver sweep. Nothing so far has fixed my problem.

So i really need your help guys

Gaming Rig
Case: Obsidian 800D
Mobo: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
RAM: 8GB's of Ripjaws X @ 2133MHz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 @ 1200/1600
SSD: Mushkin Enhanced Calisto Deluxe 60GB
HDD1: 2.5" SATA's in RAID 0, 220GB's
HDD2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Cooling: XSPC Raystorm + RX360 + VID-AR797


#2 l1o2l

l1o2l

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:14 PM

Go to device manager, does it detect your video card? And is the 6950 flashed?
AMD Phenom II X4 955 C2 - 3.8 gHz @ 1.4 v (kewl)
ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO
G.Skill 4 gb
Sapphire ATI HD5770
1 tB Hard Drive
Antec Basiq 550P Watt
Thermalright HR-01 plus W/ 120 mm fan
KWorld ATSC 110 TV tuner

Blog: http://compootin.blogspot.com

#3 AddictedGamer93

AddictedGamer93

    2500K = Old Faithful

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:22 PM

Go to device manager, does it detect your video card? And is the 6950 flashed?


Everything is detected fine, the only sign that there's something not right is the 1 inch thick black border around the image. And yes it is flashed.

Gaming Rig
Case: Obsidian 800D
Mobo: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
RAM: 8GB's of Ripjaws X @ 2133MHz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 @ 1200/1600
SSD: Mushkin Enhanced Calisto Deluxe 60GB
HDD1: 2.5" SATA's in RAID 0, 220GB's
HDD2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Cooling: XSPC Raystorm + RX360 + VID-AR797


#4 l1o2l

l1o2l

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:25 PM

Ummm, what resolution is it running at?
AMD Phenom II X4 955 C2 - 3.8 gHz @ 1.4 v (kewl)
ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO
G.Skill 4 gb
Sapphire ATI HD5770
1 tB Hard Drive
Antec Basiq 550P Watt
Thermalright HR-01 plus W/ 120 mm fan
KWorld ATSC 110 TV tuner

Blog: http://compootin.blogspot.com

#5 AddictedGamer93

AddictedGamer93

    2500K = Old Faithful

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:34 PM

1920 x 1080

Gaming Rig
Case: Obsidian 800D
Mobo: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
RAM: 8GB's of Ripjaws X @ 2133MHz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 @ 1200/1600
SSD: Mushkin Enhanced Calisto Deluxe 60GB
HDD1: 2.5" SATA's in RAID 0, 220GB's
HDD2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Cooling: XSPC Raystorm + RX360 + VID-AR797


#6 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, AZ

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:42 PM

What drivers are you using?

Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 750GB + 2TB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 - Sapphire Vapor-X CPU Cooler - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
KPMA7MM.png


#7 potatochobit

potatochobit

    Queen of Nightmares

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1613 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Wisconsin - why am I even here?

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:51 PM

you didnt download the 6990 drivers when choosing the 11.3 did you?
try re downloading and installing

Edited by potatochobit, 30 March 2011 - 06:53 PM.


#8 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:55 PM

try uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers/catalyst if you haven't already

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#9 AddictedGamer93

AddictedGamer93

    2500K = Old Faithful

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 30 March 2011 - 06:56 PM

Im using 11.3, and im POSITIVE i didnt download the drivers for the 6990.

Gaming Rig
Case: Obsidian 800D
Mobo: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
RAM: 8GB's of Ripjaws X @ 2133MHz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 @ 1200/1600
SSD: Mushkin Enhanced Calisto Deluxe 60GB
HDD1: 2.5" SATA's in RAID 0, 220GB's
HDD2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Cooling: XSPC Raystorm + RX360 + VID-AR797


#10 potatochobit

potatochobit

    Queen of Nightmares

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1613 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Wisconsin - why am I even here?

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:07 PM

I hate to tell you but you are screwed.

just kidding, try to install the drivers manually
I just copied this from google

Go to the device manager, right click your video card. Click update driver. Do not use Automatically Detect, instead use the manual install. When presented with the list of possible drivers, click Have Disk and browse for c:\ATI\Support\[Catalyst Version]. When you see an .INF file, click OK. Pick your video card from the list and click Finish. Reboot and you should have working ATI drivers.

other problems could be antivirus preventing startup
have u restarted ur computer a few times after installing the drivers?

#11 AddictedGamer93

AddictedGamer93

    2500K = Old Faithful

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 457 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:42 PM

I hate to tell you but you are screwed.

just kidding, try to install the drivers manually
I just copied this from google

Go to the device manager, right click your video card. Click update driver. Do not use Automatically Detect, instead use the manual install. When presented with the list of possible drivers, click Have Disk and browse for c:\ATI\Support\[Catalyst Version]. When you see an .INF file, click OK. Pick your video card from the list and click Finish. Reboot and you should have working ATI drivers.

other problems could be antivirus preventing startup
have u restarted ur computer a few times after installing the drivers?


Ive probably restarted it a hundred times lol. And im pretty sure it's not my antivirus, never had it give me issues involving drivers.

Gaming Rig
Case: Obsidian 800D
Mobo: Asrock P67 Extreme 6
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
RAM: 8GB's of Ripjaws X @ 2133MHz
GPU: Sapphire HD 7950 @ 1200/1600
SSD: Mushkin Enhanced Calisto Deluxe 60GB
HDD1: 2.5" SATA's in RAID 0, 220GB's
HDD2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB
Cooling: XSPC Raystorm + RX360 + VID-AR797


#12 l1o2l

l1o2l

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:44 PM

Do you have another rig to test out the card?
AMD Phenom II X4 955 C2 - 3.8 gHz @ 1.4 v (kewl)
ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO
G.Skill 4 gb
Sapphire ATI HD5770
1 tB Hard Drive
Antec Basiq 550P Watt
Thermalright HR-01 plus W/ 120 mm fan
KWorld ATSC 110 TV tuner

Blog: http://compootin.blogspot.com