Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Nvidia GPU BIOS voltage unlock and flashing


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#13 Nyt

Nyt

    Overclocking addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 22 February 2011 - 04:42 AM

I want to unlock my GTX580's volts but Im just too scared that I stuff up something in DOS :P
Was it really that easy to flash Capi ?

i7 4770K | ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Samsung 850 Pro | Corsair H105
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#14 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 22 February 2011 - 07:48 AM

Yes, it was really easy. You don't even need to use DOS, the links I provided and steps are all through Windows, but you do need to use CMD. If you're confused about a step, let me know.

#15 Nyt

Nyt

    Overclocking addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:03 AM

I think Im going to leave it , I dont feel like voiding my 10 year waranty on a $500 card for getting to 1000mhz core , Im anyway at 950mhz and 2250mhz stable (I think) so I might just get a second GTX580 when I get my swop for an i7 .

i7 4770K | ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Samsung 850 Pro | Corsair H105
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#16 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:10 AM

I guess that's true. Btw, are you limited to 950MHz due to crashing, or due to seeing blips/tears? If it's the former, then you probably have more room to overclock it. If it's the latter, it won't matter if you gave it more juice.

Anyways, all my cards (GTX 460 1GB's and a HD 5970 2GB) have higher voltage limits. You're basically looking at zero to a 60 extra MHz max increase in Core Clocks with a 100mV - 150mV increase in GPU Voltage. Definitely not worth it unless you want every last drop of extra performance.

And I just remembered, to unlock the GTX 5xx line of cards, you need to donate in order to get the latest NiBiTor version that will work for it (last I checked).

#17 Nyt

Nyt

    Overclocking addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:14 AM

Limited to 950mhz because it artifacts and then the driver stops responding . Its not even that hot but too much voltage is never good .
Im limited to 1150mV and the highest it can unlock the volts to is 1212mV which is only 62mV which doesnt justify much more performance
But some guys have got 1k core on 1212mV but that was on water

i7 4770K | ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Samsung 850 Pro | Corsair H105
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#18 Nyt

Nyt

    Overclocking addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:16 AM

I found NiBit 6 for free but my version of NvFlash says it doesnt work on 64 bit so I'd have to use the one you used , but Im not going to anymore .

i7 4770K | ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Samsung 850 Pro | Corsair H105
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#19 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:22 AM

Well, the BIOS flash only goes up to 1212mV anyway. You have the ASUS GTX 580, right? ASUS usually have over-voltage allowance, which is why you can get to 1212mV. Plus, if you see artifacts and the driver stops responding, giving it more juice won't stop the artifacting (using my ASUS GTX 460 1GB's in SLI as an example).

#20 Nyt

Nyt

    Overclocking addict

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4689 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 22 February 2011 - 09:25 AM

No I have the EVGA GTX580 so max of 1150mV :P I wanted the max of 1212mV like the ASUS GTX580

i7 4770K | ASUS GTX1080Ti Strix

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Samsung 850 Pro | Corsair H105
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#21 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:14 AM

Ah, ok. Well, if you ever decide to, it is pretty easy. It only took me 5 minutes. Researching to make sure there weren't any repercussions and that I did everything right took a lot longer.

#22 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

    Banana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1549 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Eastern Michigan, USA

Posted 22 April 2011 - 07:43 AM

Capi... this thread is AWESOME. Seriously... 3 minutes to backup, edit and flash the BIO's of my GTX570. Not only did i give it the full 1200mv, but i also unlocked the 100% fan speed as well. Wasnt really needed i know, but still. Nice to have it just incase.

GREAT GUIDE! This should be sticky'd if its not already.

*My System*
>< CaseCorsair 350D >< PSUCorsair AX AX760 >< MoBoASUS Maximums VII Gene ><

>< CPUi5-4690k @ 4.8GHz >< CPU CoolerCorsair H110 >< TIM: Artic Silver MTX ><

>< RAMGskill Trident 16GB(2x8gb) 2400MHz @ 10-12-12-2T ><

>< SSD1Samsung 840 pro 512GB SSD >< SSD2Crucial Sata3 480GB SSD ><

>< GPUEVGA nVidia GTX 980 @ 1500mhz/7600mhz >< MonitorSamsung U28D590 4k monitor of awesomeness ><

 

My gold plated butt-plug business is being sued by Apple. Apparently they have a patent for overpriced crap for a holes.

 


#23 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 22 April 2011 - 09:19 AM

Glad it was easy for ya, Merc!

#24 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South, NJ

Posted 22 April 2011 - 10:29 AM

yeah I remember I flashed my buddy's EVGA 260 to a FTW bios and unlocked the voltage but I think it had a voltage inhibitor since it had artifacts after the voltage tweak (the FTW bios itself worked fine with just the standard voltage).

It's as easy as 1, 2, 3.

1. GPU-Z backup the original bios
2. put Nlash and target new bios on a flash drive
3. Boot to flash drive with and run NFlash with the correct flags, then restart.

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: ASUS GTX970 Strix
Memory: Patriot/Kingston 16GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Sentey Phoenix | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

Rebate Success Thread 2015---RMA Success Thread 2016---GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech