Jump to content


Photo

Guide to Folding @ Home


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#13 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 19 October 2010 - 04:53 AM

Arghh. Still aint working.
I get as far as telling it to run but then i get this.
[attachment=13534:FAH Fail.JPG]
I think i might delete it all and start again later this afternoon.

Edited by SpeedCrazy, 19 October 2010 - 04:53 AM.

Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#14 endorphiend

endorphiend

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 137 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 October 2010 - 07:42 AM

Arghh. Still aint working.
I get as far as telling it to run but then i get this.
[attachment=13534:FAH Fail.JPG]
I think i might delete it all and start again later this afternoon.

You need a space before the 8.

Posted Image
| i7-930 @ 4.0 w/ NH-D14 | GTX 480 SLI |
| G.Skill Pi 6GB | Corsair Force 120GB |
| HAF X | Corsair 1000HX |


#15 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 19 October 2010 - 08:09 AM

Okay. It runs fine only prob is that i cant get to it from the cmd interface i have to go the folder and do the 'ctrl' 'shift' 'right click' 'open command window'. Any way around that. Ttanks for all your help.

BTW they(stanford) updated the points thing and now my stats page does not register my latest WU's. i turned 1 in 2 mins ago and my stats page registers that the last one was last night.

Edited by SpeedCrazy, 19 October 2010 - 02:18 PM.

Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#16 the11ama

the11ama

    Formerly known as a rabbit

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:1AU

Posted 22 October 2010 - 04:55 PM

The quick way would be to copy the folder's address from the address bar, copying it as text. Then you paste it into the command bar, then finish by adding \fah6.exe -smp 8.

Inserting the correct path, it should look like:
C:\[correct path]\fah6.exe -smp 8

Or just save that for easier access.

The setup path, then, is:
C:\[correct path]\fah6.exe -configonly

Edited by the11ama, 22 October 2010 - 05:04 PM.

Posted Image

#17 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 22 October 2010 - 06:00 PM

Thanks that works. Btw I see what you mean about bonuses i did 1 WU and got 800 points. :woo:
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#18 camaro_dude15

camaro_dude15

    If you cant DODGE it, RAM it

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 17 December 2010 - 02:14 AM

i could not get the smp client to work on all 4 of my cores

Case Coolermaster Haf 932| MoBo ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z| CPU AMD FX 8320 and Noctua D 14|7990, 7970 gpu's
RAM Kingston 16gb ddr3| PSU cougar 1000w|OCZ Agility 2 60gb WD blue's 500gb, 320gb |


#19 Fatedmeeting

Fatedmeeting

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 230 posts

Posted 17 December 2010 - 04:21 AM

i could not get the smp client to work on all 4 of my cores


Did you add '-smp 4' to the command line?

Edited by Fatedmeeting, 17 December 2010 - 04:23 AM.


#20 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1747 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 17 December 2010 - 05:29 AM

I found it to be easier to use FAH GPU Tracker. Does all the installs for you just a quick setup and you are folding.

Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#21 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 17 December 2010 - 06:40 AM

endorphiend, the -smp flag is not compatible with the -bigadv flag.

4670k + GTX 980Ti -- crammed into a mini-ITX case

Arch Linux

About Me


#22 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 17 December 2010 - 10:00 AM

endorphiend, the -smp flag is not compatible with the -bigadv flag.

It is. I use them both all the time. They are not compatible with the -advmethod flag though..
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#23 endorphiend

endorphiend

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 137 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 December 2010 - 10:45 AM

i could not get the smp client to work on all 4 of my cores

In order to get SMP work units, you need to make sure you specify "big" work units when doing the configuration. You should see "bigpackets=big" in your "client" configuration file. This is probably the easiest detail to overlook -- did you set this part up correctly?

I found it to be easier to use FAH GPU Tracker. Does all the installs for you just a quick setup and you are folding.

That tool looks great, I'm going to have to check that out. Thanks!

endorphiend, the -smp flag is not compatible with the -bigadv flag.

Yes it is. I use it daily. What error are you getting?

In other news: woot, broke 3 million! :cheers:
:foldon: :foldon: :foldon:

Posted Image
| i7-930 @ 4.0 w/ NH-D14 | GTX 480 SLI |
| G.Skill Pi 6GB | Corsair Force 120GB |
| HAF X | Corsair 1000HX |


#24 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1458 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 17 December 2010 - 10:47 AM

Ah yes, it is the -advmethods as SpeedCrazy said. My mistake.

4670k + GTX 980Ti -- crammed into a mini-ITX case

Arch Linux

About Me