Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

selecting tests in memtest86


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#13 jaz

jaz

    Third eye for hire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1867 posts
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted 30 September 2006 - 09:54 AM

I just tried redownloading it onto another formatted floppy, it works the same as the others. It will run by itself, but i can't program it to loop tests. It won't respond to any commands. Same with the built in one. I tried disabling usb altogether in bios, but it didn't help. By the way, i have my dfi board back in and nothing was damaged. (phew).

Can anybody suggest a similar program that doesn't take forever to run in between bios tweaks to test cpu, cache and mem like memtest86 does?
2X2gb Mushkin XP2-8500 5-5-5-15/2T 2.0v
Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p
[email protected] /xiggy-1283 w/bolt-on
evga gtx 470
sammy sh-s223q/lite-on +rw -r
Cm Stacker 830 evo (black)
Sammy T240
OCZ eliteXstream 800w
Xstream music/5.1 logitech z5300e /AKG 141 cans
74gb Raptor-winxp/WD640 black-win7 pro /~1.20.09 ~ The End of an Error

#14 jaz

jaz

    Third eye for hire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1867 posts
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted 07 October 2006 - 12:13 PM

Hey Praz, when did you become a moderator? I didn't realize you were one.
2X2gb Mushkin XP2-8500 5-5-5-15/2T 2.0v
Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p
[email protected] /xiggy-1283 w/bolt-on
evga gtx 470
sammy sh-s223q/lite-on +rw -r
Cm Stacker 830 evo (black)
Sammy T240
OCZ eliteXstream 800w
Xstream music/5.1 logitech z5300e /AKG 141 cans
74gb Raptor-winxp/WD640 black-win7 pro /~1.20.09 ~ The End of an Error

#15 Praz

Praz

    Posting Nut

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9584 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Midwest, USA

Posted 07 October 2006 - 12:28 PM

The other day. Did you ever get Memtest working?

#16 jaz

jaz

    Third eye for hire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1867 posts
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted 07 October 2006 - 12:58 PM

Congrats! I'z happy for ya! No... memtest is intent on testing my patience wich is running really thin. And i did end up re-downloading the newest version again and got the same results. Now my usb red diamondback mouse is skipping pixels. But I'm a member of their international forum, and i think i remember some people had the same issue, and maybe a fix (hopefully). But I'm starting to think it might be related to a usb-memtest-mouse issue with my board. i have a digital usb camera (canon powershot A40) hooked up and that's been working fine...so i don't know.

I got a64info and entered in all the settings, and when memtest gets to the end of #5 :D
2X2gb Mushkin XP2-8500 5-5-5-15/2T 2.0v
Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p
[email protected] /xiggy-1283 w/bolt-on
evga gtx 470
sammy sh-s223q/lite-on +rw -r
Cm Stacker 830 evo (black)
Sammy T240
OCZ eliteXstream 800w
Xstream music/5.1 logitech z5300e /AKG 141 cans
74gb Raptor-winxp/WD640 black-win7 pro /~1.20.09 ~ The End of an Error

#17 Praz

Praz

    Posting Nut

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9584 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Midwest, USA

Posted 07 October 2006 - 01:06 PM

Microsoft has a memory testing program similar to Memtest. You could download it, burn a cd and see if you are able to select test options in it. I have a cd here but haven't had time to mess with it.

Windows Memory Diagnostic

#18 jaz

jaz

    Third eye for hire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1867 posts
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted 08 October 2006 - 12:19 PM

Thanks, Praz! Muchos Gracious! I'll let ya know how it works. Got some things to do first. (real world stuff).
2X2gb Mushkin XP2-8500 5-5-5-15/2T 2.0v
Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p
[email protected] /xiggy-1283 w/bolt-on
evga gtx 470
sammy sh-s223q/lite-on +rw -r
Cm Stacker 830 evo (black)
Sammy T240
OCZ eliteXstream 800w
Xstream music/5.1 logitech z5300e /AKG 141 cans
74gb Raptor-winxp/WD640 black-win7 pro /~1.20.09 ~ The End of an Error

#19 jaz

jaz

    Third eye for hire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1867 posts
  • Location:MA, USA

Posted 13 October 2006 - 10:46 AM

Hi Praz...I didn't realize i already have a link to that,

>http://www.benchmark....html?/b_e.html.

I tried it, and i guess it works ok, as a matter of fact, i like it better than memtest86, but i don't think it does as good a job. I also see in this page an ocz version of memtest, but i don't think it's really much different than memtest86.

I'm starting to think my floppy drive is bad, because i can't even format a floppy most of the time, a many of them can't even be read. So I'm gonna yank the floppy drive out of my old dell dimension 4400...ooooooh 1.8mgh cpu. I just use it for parts anyway. Got it on the 'ole pc workbench with a crapload of pc stuff from old builds and buys.

But just the same, I have memtest burnt to a dvd. It boots right into memtest and it starts testing right away, but i get the same results as with the floppy. i think my pc wants to drive me to the nuthouse. (short putt).

update: it is fully functional, but doesn't have near the options that memtest does. I think it just gives you the option to exit...lol.
2X2gb Mushkin XP2-8500 5-5-5-15/2T 2.0v
Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3p
[email protected] /xiggy-1283 w/bolt-on
evga gtx 470
sammy sh-s223q/lite-on +rw -r
Cm Stacker 830 evo (black)
Sammy T240
OCZ eliteXstream 800w
Xstream music/5.1 logitech z5300e /AKG 141 cans
74gb Raptor-winxp/WD640 black-win7 pro /~1.20.09 ~ The End of an Error