Jump to content


Photo

All-in-one Remote Control Reviewed


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 10 March 2008 - 02:49 AM

You can find it here - http://www.overclock...ws/harmony_one/

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#2 sdy284

sdy284

    Mr. Staypuft

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Chicago 'Burbs, Illinois

Posted 07 May 2008 - 07:02 PM

well i just purchased one of these brand new on ebay for $186 with Free Shipping

:D

can't wait to get it!

#3 Kash

Kash

    Long Time Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edison, NJ

Posted 07 May 2008 - 07:09 PM

I have a Harmony remote and I'll tell ya, these things are a breeze to program.

The remote in this review is pretty good, but I really want a Harmony 1000 :D

Intel i5 2500K | Gigabyte Z68
16GB G.Skill PC3-12800 (9-9-9-24) | EVGA GeForce GTX 560


#4 sdy284

sdy284

    Mr. Staypuft

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Chicago 'Burbs, Illinois

Posted 07 May 2008 - 08:50 PM

I have a Harmony remote and I'll tell ya, these things are a breeze to program.

The remote in this review is pretty good, but I really want a Harmony 1000 :D


yea i already have a harmony 686, but it's on it's way out.

and my dad has the harmony 1000, and while it's really sweet, i prefer tactile buttons on my remote control, it just allows me to get to frequently used buttons faster. But the 1000 is pretty damn cool, i will admit that.

but thats why i chose the harmony one, it combines the touch screen of the 1000 with the features of the harmony 880 :)

#5 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 08 May 2008 - 04:15 AM

I have a Harmony remote and I'll tell ya, these things are a breeze to program.

:withstupid:

I have a 520 and programming it is a dream. Not only does it have more flexibility than any other universal remote I've used but it's also very easy to set up. Win-Win.

The only downside is the price. I got my 520 for $40 back in the day, and now I'm looking for a second one (for the bedroom). They're $60 refurbed now, but even then it's pretty hard for me to take a $250 one seriously. $250 for a remote?! From the reviews I've read there are very minor differences for the ~$200 price hike. Plus I like the shape of the older ones much more than the new "hourglass" style.

They're great remotes and they do seem to have a relative monopoly on ease of programming, but I still just can't understand paying that much for a remote.
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#6 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11578 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 May 2008 - 06:40 PM

The One is really nice. Its comfortable and fits the hand better than the 890. The 1000 is just awesome one you hook up the wireless extender.
Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#7 sdy284

sdy284

    Mr. Staypuft

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Chicago 'Burbs, Illinois

Posted 11 May 2008 - 06:01 PM

oh
my
god


this harmony one is awesome

I love this thing. Anyone in the market for a badass universal remote should DEFINITELY pick one up :)

#8 tlfmd

tlfmd

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Location:small town oregon

Posted 15 December 2010 - 07:57 AM

I have trried to get mine to cooperate with my system for nearly 2 years.
McIntosh MX-160, Panasonic viera TV, panasonic cdr-vhs, panasonic blu-ray-web player, Pioneer dvl 919, Meridian 207 CD Moxi pvr, (obviously eclectic, and purchased over time)
It insists on turning on/off the wrong things, like when switching from radio to tv, the Mac (av control center) toggles off (amps and everything) while it turns on the TV and the CDR (telling the TV to switch from Moxi to the CDR).
I have spent hours trying to reprogram, even set up my own activities, all manual as far as the software will allow..
The database does not have codes for Moxi, Pioneer dvl, won't learn codes from original remotes (weak IR signal or no IR signal).
I re-approach this when a new piece comes to the system, most recently my Moxi. I do not have the luxury of lots of time to mess with this.
If it would just run ONE unit at a time, I'd be happy.
I have contacted Logitech. They offered no help, then listed my problems as "solved" (hah), then "out of warranty pay for help"
I still have the original packaging.
Anyone want to buy?

#9 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 15 December 2010 - 08:05 AM

I have trried to get mine to cooperate with my system for nearly 2 years.
McIntosh MX-160, Panasonic viera TV, panasonic cdr-vhs, panasonic blu-ray-web player, Pioneer dvl 919, Meridian 207 CD Moxi pvr, (obviously eclectic, and purchased over time)
It insists on turning on/off the wrong things, like when switching from radio to tv, the Mac (av control center) toggles off (amps and everything) while it turns on the TV and the CDR (telling the TV to switch from Moxi to the CDR).
I have spent hours trying to reprogram, even set up my own activities, all manual as far as the software will allow..
The database does not have codes for Moxi, Pioneer dvl, won't learn codes from original remotes (weak IR signal or no IR signal).
I re-approach this when a new piece comes to the system, most recently my Moxi. I do not have the luxury of lots of time to mess with this.
If it would just run ONE unit at a time, I'd be happy.
I have contacted Logitech. They offered no help, then listed my problems as "solved" (hah), then "out of warranty pay for help"
I still have the original packaging.
Anyone want to buy?


Dude, dont revive two year old threads. Make a new thread and link to the old one

i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | EVGA GTX980 SC ACX 2.0
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb