Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

3-pin fan cable too short


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 lost

lost

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 781 posts

Posted 17 January 2008 - 07:39 PM

would it be safe to just cut the 3 cables down the middle and extend it myself with some wire? or would that be a bad idea? or i can just buy the cables... i'm looking at a few of the
3-pin extension cable or google product search, just gotta find the cheapest one with shipping i guess
3-pin Y extension cable http://www.directron.com/y3pin.html
AOpen AK89 Max
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (754)
1x2 GB Single Channel (DDR400)
Sapphire Radeon X800GTO (AGP)
WD 320GB - Main (SATAII)
WD 160GB - Anime (IDE)
WD 120GB - Backup (IDE)

#2 Bleeble

Bleeble

    All work and no play...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2622 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Probably moving

Posted 17 January 2008 - 10:10 PM

You can extend them yourself if you want to. Just make sure you put heatshrink over the splices.

I think an extension would look better though.

"Ninety percent of the politicians give the other ten percent a bad reputation." -Henry Kissinger

---
Q6700 2.66GHz @ (testing) --- DFI P35-T2RL "Blood Iron" --- Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2-800 @ (testing) --- EVGA 8800GTS 512MB --- PCP&C Silencer 750 --- 2.25TB RAID 5 (Storage) --- 2x160GB RAID 0 (Boot) ---

--- Laing DDC-2 w/Petra's Top --- PA120.3 w/3 Yate Loon D12SM --- D-TEK Fuzion CPU --- MAZE4 GPU ---


#3 lost

lost

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 781 posts

Posted 17 January 2008 - 11:56 PM

You can extend them yourself if you want to. Just make sure you put heatshrink over the splices.

I think an extension would look better though.

yea, and probably cheaper too. pack of heatshrink would be about 4-6 dollars, and those guns for the heatshrink would cost me like 20, and the wire would be another 5 dollars.
AOpen AK89 Max
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (754)
1x2 GB Single Channel (DDR400)
Sapphire Radeon X800GTO (AGP)
WD 320GB - Main (SATAII)
WD 160GB - Anime (IDE)
WD 120GB - Backup (IDE)

#4 hardnrg

hardnrg

    Overclocking the i7... finally

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 18 January 2008 - 01:43 AM

you can use a lighter as a heat source, or a hair dryer is better (as it is pretty much impossible to burn/char/soot the heatshrink with a hairdryer)... a lighter is quick and easy though, just wave it across the heatshrink... probably could buy one for a dollar or less

heatshrink... probably some 2mm stuff, about 1 metre of it will last ages and costs about $1-2

wire, about 70c or less a metre

so total cost for 1 metre would be about 4 or 5 dollars... you could make a few extensions, and have heatshrink left over for other things

( How To Ask A Question ) · ( F@H Sigpics ) · ( Rules ) · ( USB Bootdrive ) · ( Modding & Computer Stores ) · ( OCC facebook.png )
i7 920 D0 @ 21x196=4116, HT on · D-Tek Fuzion v1 · 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-10666 @ DDR1176, 8-8-8-22-1T
BFG/XFX GTX260 Maxcore SLI @ 756/1512/1188 (Swiftech MCW60-R + Swiftech GTX200) · Asus P6T Deluxe V2
X-Fi XtremeMusic (Hotrodded) · PCP&C Silencer 750

Athlon II X4 635 @ 2900 · 2x 2GB PC2-6400 · HD5550 1GB · Asus M4A77D · Antec Neopower 480

EeePC 1000H @ 12x164=1965 · 1x 2GB Corsair VS PC2-5300 · Gigabyte Aircruiser N300 GN-WI06N

 


#5 lost

lost

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 781 posts

Posted 18 January 2008 - 03:06 AM

you can use a lighter as a heat source, or a hair dryer is better (as it is pretty much impossible to burn/char/soot the heatshrink with a hairdryer)... a lighter is quick and easy though, just wave it across the heatshrink... probably could buy one for a dollar or less

heatshrink... probably some 2mm stuff, about 1 metre of it will last ages and costs about $1-2

wire, about 70c or less a metre

so total cost for 1 metre would be about 4 or 5 dollars... you could make a few extensions, and have heatshrink left over for other things

what kind of wire would i need? http://www.radioshac...p...w=wire&sr=1 like what gauge?
well radio shack doesn't sell it by the feet or meter. i'll try a few local hardware stores.
AOpen AK89 Max
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (754)
1x2 GB Single Channel (DDR400)
Sapphire Radeon X800GTO (AGP)
WD 320GB - Main (SATAII)
WD 160GB - Anime (IDE)
WD 120GB - Backup (IDE)

#6 soccertl

soccertl

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Location:Tucson, AZ

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:46 AM

what kind of wire would i need? http://www.radioshac...p...w=wire&sr=1 like what gauge?
well radio shack doesn't sell it by the feet or meter. i'll try a few local hardware stores.


Those wires? They are probably 24 gauge, maybe 22. In other words, fairly small. I think 20 gauge is starting to get too big for what is needed. The best thing would be to bring whatever you have to the store and measure the actual wire against what they have. (Not including the insulation, just the wire, though most are standard)

#7 exeter_acres

exeter_acres

    Highly Medicated Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4933 posts
  • Location:Johns Creek, GA

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:00 AM

I splice all the time.... cheaper and MUCH cleaner than connectors all over
I'm Back! e8400 (still working on overclock, currently 4.0ghz (W00t)and hasn't broken a sweat) | DFI Blood Iron Board | GeIL 2GB DDR2 800 | eVGA 8800 GT | OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU | Dtek Fuzion Water Block | Laing D5 pump |Homemade rad and res
and plenty of storage!
w00t

Oh yeah..and I switched to Firefox too... ya happy? ;)

#8 Sagittaria

Sagittaria

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:09 AM

I splice all the time.... cheaper and MUCH cleaner than connectors all over


:withstupid: I don't have the time or resources to make my splices super neat... so now I just slap liquid electrical tape over all my connections... I should probably starting heatshrinking though, easier to do with a lighter or hairdryer as hardnrg said.

I learned my lesson about cheaping out and using electrical tape on my connections, last month I accidentally hit my computer, and my relay speaker/server mod. (I had power routed through my computer to a relay so when I start my computer on, it'll start the other devices) Apparantly my ghetto 2 pin connector splice shorted cause my optical bay literally exploded with sparks and tripped the circuit breaker :lol:

Needless to say, that case has a small black crater (small gouge included) on the bottom of the bay :lol:

Edited by The Unforgivin, 19 January 2008 - 08:11 AM.

Daily: Lenovo T420

File Server/Folding 1: C2D e6600 | 2x2GB DDR2 cheapo | ASUS.. cheap something | Club 3D HD7970 OC | 3x500GB, 1x1TB, 1x3TB | 2x400W PSUs

Folding 2: PII X4 965 BE | Corsair XMS2 4x2GB DDR2 | Gigabyte GA-MA785G | 2xSapphire HD7970 OC | 2x80GB RAID-0 | Cooler Master V750W

 

 


#9 Fanatic

Fanatic

    Computer Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:37 AM

I splice all the time, much cleaner look because you can make it the exact length needed. Nrg's approach is very similar to mine and much cheaper please you get to work on your soldering skills. The wire size I use is 22 gauge for that application. As far as where to get the wire I usually have dead or fans around that I don't need so I cut the wire of them and use it.
ABIT IP35 PRO
INTEL q6600 G0 STEPPING w/ ULTRA-120
EVGA 8800GTS 512
1 - 250gb SEAGATE CUDA 16MB cache
1 - 500gb SEAGATE CUDA 32MB cache
OCZ GAMEXTREAM 700
RAIDMAX KATANA CASE
4gb OCZ REAPER HPC EDITION PC2 6400
CD/DVD -R w/LIGHTSCRIBE
VISTA 64

#10 dling

dling

    BEER

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2776 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Buchanan,GA.

Posted 19 January 2008 - 08:47 AM

Are you planning on soldering the wires ? That is what I would recommend , then cover the solder points with the heat shrink. As far as the wire gage, use the same size as the ones you are soldering to. My guess would be 24 gage. Be careful using the lighter not to melt the exposed wires.
Good Luck . ;)

Case:Cooler Master Sniper / Motherboard : ASUS P6X58D PREMIUM / CPU: Intel Core i7 960 (21x200=4.2) / CPU HS: Prolimatech Megahalems
VGA: EVGA 580 SLI / Memory: Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / OCZ Vertex3 SSD X 3 Raid 0 + single 120gig vertex 4 for OS
PSU: COOLMAX CUQ-1350B 1350W / Monitor: ONIX 2560X1400 27in Korean W/S LCD / KB: Ducky Shine / Mouse: Razor Lachesis / OS: Windows 7 Home premium 64


#11 lost

lost

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 781 posts

Posted 19 January 2008 - 03:50 PM

well i went to my local hardware store, they don't have anything that slim. radioshack has rolls of it, it costs about 6 dollars. i think it would be easier if i just buy the extension cables. i'm looking at 12 dollars alone on the heatshrink and wire.
AOpen AK89 Max
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (754)
1x2 GB Single Channel (DDR400)
Sapphire Radeon X800GTO (AGP)
WD 320GB - Main (SATAII)
WD 160GB - Anime (IDE)
WD 120GB - Backup (IDE)

#12 Fanatic

Fanatic

    Computer Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts

Posted 19 January 2008 - 04:49 PM

$1.99 is the cost with a $10 minimum not including shipping. So you are already at $12 and going to have to wait to get it delivered. I get the feeling that you want to buy it whatever the reason.

Edited by Fanatic, 19 January 2008 - 04:51 PM.

ABIT IP35 PRO
INTEL q6600 G0 STEPPING w/ ULTRA-120
EVGA 8800GTS 512
1 - 250gb SEAGATE CUDA 16MB cache
1 - 500gb SEAGATE CUDA 32MB cache
OCZ GAMEXTREAM 700
RAIDMAX KATANA CASE
4gb OCZ REAPER HPC EDITION PC2 6400
CD/DVD -R w/LIGHTSCRIBE
VISTA 64