Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New system for rendering/storage


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#25 spikespiegel

spikespiegel

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:37 PM

Thanks guys, is there any ram options with some tighter timings? I'm not finding much at the moment...



#26 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 February 2013 - 08:40 PM


More than likely will haven't looked at what mono you have. However there is a low profile version ofthat exact ram.

MoBo, with a B :tongue:

@OP: those tall heatsink on the vengeance would definitely cause problems. Like Stoner said, there are Low Profile version of those vengeance RAMs but I can't find them in newegg. The next best thing I found was this: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231508
Here's a list of compatible RAMs with the D14: http://www.noctua.at...ts_id=34&lng=en

:cheers:

Phone with an autocorrect.....

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#27 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 14 February 2013 - 08:41 PM

it wouldn't make much difference . If you go up in speed you losen the timmigs , lower the speed its tighter . For 1600 9-9-9 is good for 8gb sticks. Maybe you could manually get them down to 8.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#28 spikespiegel

spikespiegel

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 17 February 2013 - 04:41 AM

System ordered! Get to put it together 26th onwards when i'm back in the country.. Will post back with details. Decided to stay with the OCZ ram as I like it better.. I decided to just go with the stock heatsink the cpu comes with... If anyone has any heatsink recommendations that would fit my mobo/ram and do a phenomenal job cooling, i'm all ears!

 

Thanks



#29 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:51 AM

Get the corsair h80 or 100 . That would avoid all problems . Also what board are you using ? Didnt you check corisar website to see if the memory works on that board ?

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#30 spikespiegel

spikespiegel

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:25 PM

No, didn't check mobo ram compatability.. Oops... This is the board: ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard



#31 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5393 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:43 PM

lame, OCZ doesn't list anything on it's website and the ASUS website has a list http://usa.asus.com/...RTOOTH_X79/#MSL that is kinda outdated since it only lists up to 16gb. My guess it is since it's from Corsair and it already a 64gb kit that you wont have any issues. You are also running at 1600 and not some crazy speeds. Like always just run Memtest86 on your ram to make sure its 100% stable at 1600 before you start to overclock the system.


Edited by hornybluecow, 17 February 2013 - 01:44 PM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#32 spikespiegel

spikespiegel

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:04 PM

Thanks for the pointer. Will do. Question about heatsink, i've just learned about closed loop water cooling solutions, wow, i've been behind.. What would you all recommend for a CL water based solution for this setup? i'm looking at the Corsair h100i system ..feedback?



#33 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15938 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:17 AM

Closed loop solutions have come a long way in the last year in both price and performance.  The Corsair H100i is a popular choice, gets good reviews, maintenance free and good performance.  I'd say go for it.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#34 spikespiegel

spikespiegel

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:04 PM

Ok question for you guys.. I have the HAF X case from coolermaster. And i've decided on the h110 from corsair. 

1) Does the radiator /fans fit on the top part of the case

2) does this setup replace the existing 2 fans on top, that comes with the case?

 

Silly questions, I know, but i've been out of the game for a while... Thanks guys



#35 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:30 PM

1. Yes it does. IIRC it'll use the 140mm fan mounts on top.

2. Not sure, but likely yes. There's a video in youtube showing how to mount a H100 below those 2x200mm fans, not sure if it'll work on the H100i. Won't really affect CPU temps IMO whether or not you decide to use the 140s + 200s or just the 140s. A radiator would need a fan that pushes more static pressure while a case fan usually pushes more airflow and less static pressure.

 

:cheers:


"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#36 spikespiegel

spikespiegel

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California

Posted 28 February 2013 - 09:12 PM

Hi all, well the system is built - it was a really hassle free installation, all the hardware played nicely with each other, no DOA, no RMA headaches, it all just worked flawlessly! Its been about 3-4 years since i've built a machine, and nice to see that I haven't lost the skills !

 

What a machine! It tears through renders! What used to take 18 hours + now only takes 4-5 hours, thats a huge increase in efficiency. The final list of hardware was: 

 

-Intel 3970 EE proccy

-64GB DDR1600 Corsair vengeance (awesome ram btw)

-480GB OS drive

-5tb in Raid 0 config (scratch drive)

-1x Nvidia GTX680 

-Coolermaster HAF X (best case i've ever owned, period)

-Corsair H110 water cooled (really awesome heatsink, requires a good bit of case space. Still debating whether i should use AS5 or go with the stock goop they have pre installed on the heatsink)

-Seasonic 1050Watt psu. Thanks to the forums recommendation, went with this. Wow, what an amazing product!

 

The machine is so damn fast, that during rendering, its not even reaching 50% load... the hard drive peripherals are now the bottle neck, i've felt no need to overclock it because of this. Itd' be pointless! I guess raided SSD's would increase the performance the most for reducing render times..


Edited by spikespiegel, 28 February 2013 - 09:17 PM.