Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

4x into 16x or 1x


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:25 PM

Hi guys,  i was wondering, is there any converter on the internet that can help me fit my soundcard(4x) into either a 1x slot or a 16x slot? i dont have any 4x slots on my board ;--;



#2 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:40 PM

No need , just use the 16x slot it wil work

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#3 Guest_Jim_*

Guest_Jim_*

    ANTITHAT

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4514 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:41 PM

I assume you're referring to PCIe slots and an x16 and x4 slot are the same size. If you put an x4 card into an x16 slot it should run fine, but only at x4 speeds, not x16 speeds because it is an x4 card.


Processor: AMD A10-5800K @4.40 GHz (44.0x100)
Cooling: Corsair H110
Motherboard: ASUS F2A85-M PRO
GPU: EVGA GTX 770 2 GB
PhysX: EVGA GTX 570 1280 MB
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8 GB (32 GB total) at 1866 MHz 10-10-10-27
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 750 W
OS: Windows 7- Professional 64-bit
Guest_Jim_*.jpg

 


Needs more tigers.

Steam Inventory. Let me know if something interests you.


#4 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:51 PM

4x and 16x are not the same size ( length wise ) but the connectors are . So a 4x card will fit in a 16x. Also it's good to note even if its a 16x its not always electorally 16x . Some slots if you look close you'll see its 1-8x based on the pins inside. You can also run a 4x card in a 1x slot if the back end is open ( kinda rare these day since they make them all just the large slots for convenes )

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#5 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2013 - 06:54 PM

the 4x cant fit into the 1x definitely, im using the msi-z77a gd65 board, its seems i cant get it to fit for some reason, i think the first sections of pins dont fit



#6 Guest_Jim_*

Guest_Jim_*

    ANTITHAT

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4514 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2013 - 07:00 PM

4x and 16x are not the same size ( length wise ) but the connectors are . So a 4x card will fit in a 16x. Also it's good to note even if its a 16x its not always electorally 16x . Some slots if you look close you'll see its 1-8x based on the pins inside. You can also run a 4x card in a 1x slot if the back end is open ( kinda rare these day since they make them all just the large slots for convenes )

:doh: You're right about the sizes! I've never seen a short x4 slot and I assumed it was identical to an x16 slot, but fewer pins. Looks like there are short x8 slots too. Live and learn (from other people who have a clue).


Processor: AMD A10-5800K @4.40 GHz (44.0x100)
Cooling: Corsair H110
Motherboard: ASUS F2A85-M PRO
GPU: EVGA GTX 770 2 GB
PhysX: EVGA GTX 570 1280 MB
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8 GB (32 GB total) at 1866 MHz 10-10-10-27
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 750 W
OS: Windows 7- Professional 64-bit
Guest_Jim_*.jpg

 


Needs more tigers.

Steam Inventory. Let me know if something interests you.


#7 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:25 PM

well at any rate, i dont think i can fit mine in without an adapter or something ;----;



#8 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 11 February 2013 - 09:05 PM

if it won't fit than its not a pcie card. they all fit in a 16x slot.


hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#9 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 11 February 2013 - 11:26 PM

OP, Could you give us the model of your sound card? Cheers :)

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#10 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 11 February 2013 - 11:44 PM

OP, Could you give us the model of your sound card? Cheers :)


I don't know why I didn't think of that ! What he said :)

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 12 February 2013 - 04:44 AM

It's a PCI card.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#12 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 12 February 2013 - 05:36 AM

It's gotta be.  Otherwise it would slip right into any x4, x8 or x16 PCIe slot.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg