Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Car Stereo Wiring Conundrum

electrical auto audio

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#13 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 09 February 2013 - 02:57 PM

Speed, would be really helpful to know what type of vehicle you are installing into, and also what type of head unit you're installing.  But honestly if it's working ok per the instructions you received from your friend - I'm not sure what the problem is.

 

Nothing wrong with pairing the switched and full time 12v wires together.  The reasons most head units have both a switched and full time;

 

1. Switched wire - so your radio doesn't stay on when the ignition is turned off

2. Full time - to save radio presets and time

Sorry, i should have stated that at the beginning.

I'm installing it in a 85 Nissan 720 ST. The radio... i have no clue, its the stock radio out of a 91 toyota tacoma. The harness im splicing to looks like this:

sony2.gif

On mine 5 and 11 are hooked together and a single wire leaves from 5. And my yellow is apparently antenna power (number 20)... So that leaves me with 1 red wire and a ground out of the radio and 2 wires and a ground out of the dash.

I also don't have 13 and 19 as shown on that diagram.

 

And i would agree there is no problem, i just wanted to increase my knowledge, that is i would but i do actually have problem now.

So i had it working as stated but in order to do so i had bypassed a blown fuse, on the yellow wire, and once i got it working last night i picked up a new fuse to put one in. But when i put it in after work this morning the radio quit working, and it refuses to work even if i bypass it again. I don't think i screwed the radio as it worked right up until i cut the truck off to put the fuse in, so i hope i didn't screw something on the truck. I did check, all my fuses both inline and on the panel are good. And everything else on the dash works, including the cig lighter on the same relay.

Any ideas?


Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#14 the_dude

the_dude

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 113 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 February 2013 - 04:28 PM

You always hook red to red,(constant, holds time and station presets, etc.) yellow to yellow (trigger from ignition) and of course black to black (ground).  If it still doesn't work, make sure you hook your antenna up too.  Several cars, including one of mine, that I've done installs on have grounded through the antenna.



#15 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 09 February 2013 - 04:31 PM

You always hook red to red,(constant, holds time and station presets, etc.) yellow to yellow (trigger from ignition) and of course black to black (ground).  If it still doesn't work, make sure you hook your antenna up too.  Several cars, including one of mine, that I've done installs on have grounded through the antenna.

That's what i originally did. And the antenna does have a ground, but all the grounds are hooked up so that should not be a problem. As i said it did work...


Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#16 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 09 February 2013 - 04:35 PM

A multimeter would make this much easier. :tongue:

Posted Image

Booyah.


#17 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 09 February 2013 - 06:56 PM

A multimeter would make this much easier. :tongue:

Sophisticated tools? In this redneck's tool box? Who would dare suggest such a thing?

 

 

 

In all seriousness, i might have one in a box somewhere, probably not for these low power wires though.

 

Added info: I found a handful of wires stuffed behind the dash that might be related, no way of knowing. One is brown, one orange one black and one black with a red stripe. I think that's them all, if that sounds relevant let me know and i'l check.


Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#18 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:07 PM

To do this with any real certainty you need a voltmeter. I have the gut feeling that your switched ignition wire is out (the red one).

Posted Image

Booyah.


#19 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:44 PM

Okay. That is possible, where should the other end of that be? And yes i will take a look for the multimeter before i screw with anything.


Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#20 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 350 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:59 PM

Here's the factory wire colors for your truck....

 

 

Constant 12V+ = Red/Green
Switched 12V+ = Green/White
Ground Chassis
Illumination = White/Blue
Speakers:
Left Front (+) = Brown/White
Left Front (-) = Red/Blue
Right Front (+) = Black/White
Right Front (-) = Black/Red


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#21 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11570 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 10 February 2013 - 07:59 AM

I wired in a truck stereo without an OEM-to-aftermarket connector, with nothing but a simple OEM schematic printout, a multi tool and a roll of black tape.

 

Oh and the vehicle was moving too.  :teehee:

 

 

Just find the schematic, you cant go wrong from there.


ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#22 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 10 February 2013 - 08:26 AM

Here's the factory wire colors for your truck....

 

 

Constant 12V+ = Red/Green
Switched 12V+ = Green/White
Ground Chassis
Illumination = White/Blue
Speakers:
Left Front (+) = Brown/White
Left Front (-) = Red/Blue
Right Front (+) = Black/White
Right Front (-) = Black/Red

 

Where did you find that? I would love to see that schematic. Those wires i found look like the speaker wires based on your info, but i have aftermarket speakers installed so those can be discarded, that leaves me with the three i already had. Thanks for solving that confusion.

I wired in a truck stereo without an OEM-to-aftermarket connector, with nothing but a simple OEM schematic printout, a multi tool and a roll of black tape.

 

Oh and the vehicle was moving too.  :teehee:

 

 

Just find the schematic, you cant go wrong from there.

Its finding that schematic... the ones in my manual(haynes) just shows that the wiring harness has a plug for the radio. Doesn't go into any more depth. And google is not proving helpful.


Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#23 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 350 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 10 February 2013 - 10:02 AM

Goole is your friend...I just googled 85 nissan pick up radio wiring and found this  http://www.justanswe...ickup-when.html


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#24 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5230 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 10 February 2013 - 11:27 AM

You can probe wires and if you only have 3 or 4 and can already see that one is ground then its too easy.

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: electrical, auto, audio