Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Turoial to bench SSD


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 AndresP

AndresP

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Venezuela

Posted 17 January 2013 - 09:20 PM

Guys one of you  :P told me to download crystal disk benchmark, so i did and all i did was hitting ALL and i got some speeds, but i think those are not the correct speeds of my ssd 

 

 

Corsair Force GT 60 GB SATA III/6G 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive - CSSD-F60GBGT-BK

 
Sequential read speeds of up to 555 MB/s
 
Sequential write speeds of up to 495 MB/s
 
and i have 
Read Mb/s                Write Mb/s
337.1                         82.70
 
:(
 
 
[url=]http://postimage.org/]Capture.png
[url=image]http://postimage.org/]image upload
 
What is wrong? what is the meaning of 5 and 1000MB sorry 1st time i do this..

 

Thanks


Edited by AndresP, 17 January 2013 - 09:24 PM.


#2 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:58 AM

Andres - what motherboard are you running?  Does it have a SATAIII controller, and if so are you connected to the SATAIII controller?

 

Also, be advised that advertised read and write speeds are based on a fresh SSD with nothing installed on it.  On yours you already have 59% of your free space utilized.

 

"5" = number of test runs 

"1000MB" = test size


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#3 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:06 AM

Have you configured your drive in the BIOS to run in SATA mode with AHCI?


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#4 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 January 2013 - 09:12 AM

Another good thing to check EF.  Thanks.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#5 AndresP

AndresP

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Venezuela

Posted 18 January 2013 - 09:22 AM

Another good thing to check EF.  Thanks.

 

 

Have you configured your drive in the BIOS to run in SATA mode with AHCI?

 

 

Guys yes its in AHCI Mode.

Hibernation OFF

writing cache off.

 

Mobo: P8Z77V-PRO

Core: Intel i7-2700k Oced to 4.6Ghz 

RAM: 8GB Corsair vengenace 1600mhz

 

is not even the adverstismen, the videos i have seen of it.. they are much faster than mine :(..that without telling amazon's review

im using my ssd just to boot windows..



#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 January 2013 - 09:44 AM

You sure you're connected to one of the SATA 6G/bs ports?

 

Are you running off of the Intel RST driver or the standard Microsoft AHCI driver?

 

Are you using the SATA 6G/bs cable or an older 3G/bs cable?


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 AndresP

AndresP

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Venezuela

Posted 18 January 2013 - 10:09 AM


You sure you're connected to one of the SATA 6G/bs ports?

 

Are you running off of the Intel RST driver or the standard Microsoft AHCI driver?

 

Are you using the SATA 6G/bs cable or an older 3G/bs cable?

 

68ef54f5b97a0d7a5de52be574d9e005573ccc49

big picture in that link you can see, light blue is SATA3 1G-4G

white is sata 6G1-2

navy blue is sata 6g but is like only  for data. (Anyways i tried them all.. and ran bench with each of them)

 

the white-black cable is teh 6gb/s one and is the cable that i plugged the ssd

i dont know what u mean with RST driver or stand microsoft ahci driver.

Ahci is set on BIOS..

 

Thanks for replying back im kinda frustrated..


Edited by AndresP, 18 January 2013 - 10:12 AM.


#8 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 January 2013 - 11:13 AM

When you installed Windows (with AHCI enabled in the BIOS) it installed the standard Microsoft AHCI driver.  Unless you installed the Intel RST driver from the m/b driver installation disk, or downloaded directly from Intel's website and installed, then you are still running the standard Microsoft AHCI driver.  Nothing necessarily wrong with that since the MAHCI driver works fine in most situations.  However, you might want to determine which storage controller driver you're using - and then try the other.

 

My guess is that since you don't know there is a difference that you are probably running the MAHCI driver.  In which case giving the Intel RST driver a test run would probably be worth your effort.  After installing the Intel RST driver there are a couple options for improving your disk performance.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#9 Shurman292

Shurman292

    The Shurmanator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 18 January 2013 - 05:27 PM

wevs - He's definitely plugged into SATA III - he wouldn't be getting anything over ~280MB/s on SATA II.  It's hard to say exactly what's going on here :dunno:

 

OP - I would suggest you look carefully through your BIOS and make sure all drive controllers are set to AHCI.  If your SSD is running on a Marvell controller (or one separate from the SATA II controller) it may have its own IDE/AHCI settings page.  I have the older version of that MB, and I have two different places to set AHCI.  Just a thought.


The Beast
CPU: i7 930 @ 4.01 ghz, 1.26v ||| Cooler: Corsair H100i
MB:ASUS P6X58D-E ||| RAM: G.Skill 6 x 2 GB @ 1528mhz/9-9-9-24/1.6v
Video: Nvidia GTX 480 @ 775mhz/1880mhz ||| Sound: ASUS Xonar D2X
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB ||| HDDs: WD 1TB and 2TB Caviar Blacks
Optical: LG BD Writer ||| Case: CM Storm Trooper with Scythe side fans
Power: Corsair AX1200 Gold ||| OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64


#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 January 2013 - 07:41 AM

There is nothing wrong with your settings..

Driver re-installation? May be you should give it a try..

But I'm not sure what is going on in this case.


boozei.gif


#11 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 22 January 2013 - 11:26 AM

Some specific things you can try and then re-run your benchmarks using Crystal Diskmark, AS SSD and Atto.

 

In BIOS make the following changes;

 

CPU Power Management Configuration Page

1. Enhanced Intel Speed Step Technology = disabled for now

2. CPU C3 = disabled

3. CPU C6 = disabled

 

In Windows make the following change;

Power Plan = High performance


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg