Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Assassin's Creed 3 Recommended PC Build

assassins creed pc build video-card processor low-fps fix

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Depreciated

Depreciated

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

Hello guys.

I have these specs

Win 7 Ultimate 32-bit
Biostar A780L Mobo
AMD Phenom II x4 965 (planning to buy)
AMD Radeon HD 6750 1.5GB

Memory: 2GB of RAM




I tried to play Assassin's Creed 3 but as soon as I got off the boat(landing to Boston), I have been experiencing heavy lag and low fps. Currenlt, I have an unlocked AMD Athlon II X2 4400e (Sempron 140 before )processor. I thought that this low-end processor might have caused the problem. So, I decided to upgrade it along with the generic PSU.

But I have read some forums saying that the game was poorly optimized. Even for the high-end PC builds had terrible problems. It seems that it cause quite a rage to fans and the players. But it seems everything runs well on the multiplayer. Is this true? Plus, it seems ubisoft is really ignoring this issue. It's almost 3 months and there is no news so far.

I have a friend that has an i7 laptop. He said he gets to play it smoothly
he had these specs

MSI (GT780Dx-i7385+)
 i7 2630M
, 8Gb,
500Gb,
GTX 570M 3.0Gb GDDR5

 

 


Do I have any hope on playing this game smoothly? By smoothly, I do not mean extremely-silky-smoothly. Smoothly like normal will be more than enough for me. 


Thanks for your help.



#2 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 16 January 2013 - 06:11 PM

that  GTX 570M is a Geforce 550 so your AMD Radeon HD 6750 is better. my guess is the 2gb of system ram you got and that CPU. for $30 you can get 8-16gb of DDR3 on sale.

 


 CPU 2.66 GHz Intel Core2 Duo E6700 or 3.00 GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+

Min 2 GB Ram

Rec 4 GB Ram

Hard drive space 18 GB

Graphics hardware 512 MB DirectX 9.0c-compliant with Shader Model 4.0 or higher        

 

edit: so your x2 4400 is below the min requirements.


Edited by hornybluecow, 16 January 2013 - 06:18 PM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#3 Depreciated

Depreciated

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 06:37 PM

The 2GB RAM I have is DDR2. I don't think A780L supports the DDR3. Plus, I only have a 32-bit Win 7. i am also planning to have another 2GB DDR2 if I really need it.

By any chance, if you have played Assassin's Creed 3 with little to no problems, can you post your specs here? 

Thanks



#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 16 January 2013 - 06:48 PM

I played ass creed 3 a bit with no problems, my specs are below,I agree with bluecow, 2 more gb of ram and the faster cpu should make a big difference.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 Depreciated

Depreciated

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 07:19 PM

you have an i7 processor. I want to see non-i7 users who 'survived'



#6 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 16 January 2013 - 07:26 PM

As for the memory upgrade goes...good luck DDR2 ram ain't cheap these days.


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#7 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:03 PM

 

you have an i7 processor. I want to see non-i7 users who 'survived'

 
I just built this rig 6 months ago, before this I used a phenom 2 550 be for 3 years with 4gb of ddr2 800 mhz and played every game going on medium settings with no problems or lag.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#8 Depreciated

Depreciated

    New Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:14 PM

So have you tried Assassin

 

 

you have an i7 processor. I want to see non-i7 users who 'survived'

 
I just built this rig 6 months ago, before this I used a phenom 2 550 be for 3 years with 4gb of ddr2 800 mhz and played every game going on medium settings with no problems or lag.

 

 

 

If you have read other forums, many people really complain about the low fps of AC3 even if they had a great build. AC3 is causing much different issues compared  to other past games I guess. They said that it lacked optimization.



#9 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1627 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:34 PM

I agree it is a poorly designed game, but the phenom 965 be is a very good cpu so it will help you a lot, the only other problem you may have is the video card might be slowing you down, the 6750 is a rebranded 5750 and not quite as fast as your friends 570m.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#10 LETTERSTOTHEDEV

LETTERSTOTHEDEV

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:chesterfield MA

Posted 20 January 2013 - 03:55 PM

I play in eyefinity 3840x1024 on medium-high settings and all videocard quality settings maxed. depending on settings I can get it from 10fps to 60fps. Definitely a heavy game. If you cant run heaven mark 3.0 smoothly AC3 probably wont either.


Phenom II X4 975 3.6GHz (OC 4.2GHz air with 1.5V) Black edition CPU, ASROCK 970 Extreme3 motherboard, 2X4GB G.SKILL ripjaws ddr3 1600 RAM, XFX Radeon 7950 3GB black edition GPU running in eyefinity (3840X1024)

 

2723968.png






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: assassins, creed, pc, build, video-card, processor, low-fps, fix