Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Normal Temps for AMD 8120 CPU


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 hylander

hylander

    New Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St.Catharines Ontario

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:07 PM

Hi all, new here.

 Hope I am in the correct forum,

I have an AMD 8120, with stock cooler running @ 3.10 GHZ. 8g DDR3,and ASUS Radeon CU 6870.New 850 PSU, on ASUS M5A97 MB 3x200mm 1x120mm (rear exhaust) fans (1 on the side blowing on the MB&GPU 1 on the top venting out one in the front pulling in) The case is Thermaltakes Overseer RX1

   

When I play CIV V my CPU will jump to 70 C,(seen it go to 80 C) and the GPU will sometimes hit North of that. 75-80 C,( after about 45-60 mins) this of course gets all 3 fans going full blast, and I actually feel the heat coming out of the tower.And yet when playing something like Skyrim, no issues.

My question is what is the normal thermal envelope that my CPU and GPU should be in.

 Using CPUID and CORE TEMP, I got rid of AI SUITE,



#2 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1560 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 January 2013 - 02:19 PM

AMD CPUs should not go over 80C for extended periods, 70C is on the high side, while AMD recommend 62C. I would check the cooler is properly seated and there is not too little or too much thermal paste on the heatsink (around a pea sized amount is recommended)

GPUs are generally more tolerable to extreme temperatures, generally 70-90C is acceptable, sometimes 100C is fine, but it varies by manufacturer, so I would recommend you check for your specific model

Edited by EuroFight, 05 January 2013 - 02:24 PM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Dell 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#3 hylander

hylander

    New Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St.Catharines Ontario

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:29 PM

AMD CPUs should not go over 80C for extended periods, 70C is on the high side, while AMD recommend 62C. I would check the cooler is properly seated and there is not too little or too much thermal paste on the heatsink (around a pea sized amount is recommended)

GPUs are generally more tolerable to extreme temperatures, generally 70-90C is acceptable, sometimes 100C is fine, but it varies by manufacturer, so I would recommend you check for your specific model

 

Thanks EuroFight for the quick response

I have no idea on the thermal paste for the heatsink as it came pre-installed.I have re-seated the cooler,and I think I did a proper job of it.

Actually I have been saving to go with a liquid cooled set up, but due to the holidays it is out of budget atm.

I will probably go with the H100i. But I haven't come across a lot of info on them as of yet.(too new I suppose) plus being in Western Canada, we don't get a lot of "in store options" for better products.

BTW, Nice system you have there.

 

 

 

 

 



#4 hylander

hylander

    New Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St.Catharines Ontario

Posted 05 January 2013 - 03:30 PM

 Guess I will wait to play CIV V full out till my cooling issues are resolved



#5 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1560 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:27 AM

No problem, just one quicl.thing, have you been looking at core temp or the actual CPU temp (Sometimes called TMPIN_1 or 2), as in my experience, certain AMD processors do not report accurate core temperatures by themselves

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Dell 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#6 hylander

hylander

    New Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St.Catharines Ontario

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:20 PM

No problem, just one quicl.thing, have you been looking at core temp or the actual CPU temp (Sometimes called TMPIN_1 or 2), as in my experience, certain AMD processors do not report accurate core temperatures by themselves

 Good question, I am looking at whatever is reported in the BIOS and CORETEMP reports,they are usually within a degree or so of each other.I allow for the BIOS to be a tad lower as I am rebooting to go into it.



#7 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1560 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:42 PM

I have found, in fact, the temperature sensors on the cores in my processor are 20-30°C lower than the CPU temperature, I don't know why, but it doesn't matter to me. The only reason I found out was when my CPU was supposedly idling at 16°C with an ambient temp of 25°C on air :lol:

It sounds like you are looking at actual CPU temperature though if it is in the BIOS. Just to say, you mentioned the case exhaust bring warm, can you check the case temperature while gaming? It is usually under 'Assembly' in many monitoring programs

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Dell 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#8 hylander

hylander

    New Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St.Catharines Ontario

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:59 PM

I have found, in fact, the temperature sensors on the cores in my processor are 20-30°C lower than the CPU temperature, I don't know why, but it doesn't matter to me. The only reason I found out was when my CPU was supposedly idling at 16°C with an ambient temp of 25°C on air :lol:

It sounds like you are looking at actual CPU temperature though if it is in the BIOS. Just to say, you mentioned the case exhaust bring warm, can you check the case temperature while gaming? It is usually under 'Assembly' in many monitoring programs

 Again thanks for the quick response EuroFight

I will try that out later to-night, do you recommend any particular app ? I looked in CORETEMP, did not see anything like "assembly".And looks like I need to re-install Speed Fan, as it appears to be un-responsive.(??)

When I said I could feel heat exhausting, my tower is about 3 feet from me on the floor, and I would need to hover my hand over the top vent to feel the heat.Also I notice my room is warmer than the ambient house temp, while I game.Probably about 4-5 C warmer.



#9 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1560 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 January 2013 - 03:02 PM

I personally use the logger in OCCT, it also comes with a built-in stress testing suite which is useful

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Dell 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 January 2013 - 07:14 AM

Coretemp is good for auto notification too.


boozei.gif


#11 Shurman292

Shurman292

    The Shurmanator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 07 January 2013 - 12:50 PM

I will just put in a plug for the H100i here too, as it was mentioned in the thread.  It's a great cooler that gives phenomenal results.  The price is not bad, and sometimes you can find it on sale at the Egg.  My only complaint about it is the high-pitched noise emanating from the fans.  If it weren't for that issue, the cooler would be completely silent (though it can get very loud with the fans turned up).  Corsair said they have a firmware update in the works for the noise, so hopefully we will see a solution here soon.  Let me know if you have any questions about it.


The Beast
CPU: i7 930 @ 4.01 ghz, 1.26v ||| Cooler: Corsair H100i
MB:ASUS P6X58D-E ||| RAM: G.Skill 6 x 2 GB @ 1528mhz/9-9-9-24/1.6v
Video: Nvidia GTX 480 @ 775mhz/1880mhz ||| Sound: ASUS Xonar D2X
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB ||| HDDs: WD 1TB and 2TB Caviar Blacks
Optical: LG BD Writer ||| Case: CM Storm Trooper with Scythe side fans
Power: Corsair AX1200 Gold ||| OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64


#12 hylander

hylander

    New Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St.Catharines Ontario

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:04 PM

I will just put in a plug for the H100i here too, as it was mentioned in the thread.  It's a great cooler that gives phenomenal results.  The price is not bad, and sometimes you can find it on sale at the Egg.  My only complaint about it is the high-pitched noise emanating from the fans.  If it weren't for that issue, the cooler would be completely silent (though it can get very loud with the fans turned up).  Corsair said they have a firmware update in the works for the noise, so hopefully we will see a solution here soon.  Let me know if you have any questions about it.

Thanks Pharmacy Phreak,

I have been reading of the noise issue also.Sure hope they get it or a fix befor I buy.