Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

SATA 6gb/s drives disappear after standby


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 daniel

daniel

    Noobieness Gone bad

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 652 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colombia

Posted 26 December 2012 - 02:29 PM

Hi,

 

I just added to new SATA 6gb/s to my system, and when ever the system goes on standby and comes back to life the drives disappear.  

 

SETUP

- EVGA GeForce GTX 280 1GB PCI Express 2.0 x16 
- PC Power and Cooling S61EPS 610W Continuous @ 40°C EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7
- Antec Performance One P180 Silver cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
- 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
- G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL10D-16GBXL
- ASUS P8Z77-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
- Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K

- 1x Seagate 7200 RPM 3TB 6gbs drive

 

Any suggestions on how to trouble shoot this are greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Daniel


Posted Image

#2 ohldboy

ohldboy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Waterbury, CT 06704 USA

Posted 26 December 2012 - 03:04 PM

First check for loose connections from HDD mounting, including case plugs, headers, anything.

What are the BIOS settings for standby, boot order, and HDD/SATA?


Edited by ohldboy, 26 December 2012 - 03:06 PM.


#3 daniel

daniel

    Noobieness Gone bad

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 652 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colombia

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:19 AM

SATA configuration: AHCI

Smart status check is enabled, and all hotplugs disabled. 

 

Boot Option 1: I have one of the SATA 3gbs dvd drive

Boot Option 2: I have the 500 gb 3gbs hard drive

Boot Option 3: I have the 3 TB sata 6gbs hard drive

 

as for the standby settings I have not been able to find those in the BIOS


Posted Image

#4 daniel

daniel

    Noobieness Gone bad

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 652 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colombia

Posted 27 December 2012 - 11:20 AM

Actually this just happend without even going into standby, just when i was using the computer


Posted Image

#5 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:20 PM

If you are running Windows 7 there is a Hotfix that often takes care of this issue.

 

Request the Hotfix files from here;

 

http://support.micro...7178&kbln=en-us

 

Select the Hotfix applicable to your OS (i.e. x86 or x64)

 

This Hotfix has taken care of the problem for me on two machines.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#6 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 04 January 2013 - 04:58 AM

Do you have the most up to date firmware?

 

Also there are different suspend modes, s1,s2..... you can change this setting and this might help.



#7 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2013 - 05:32 AM

If you are running Windows 7 there is a Hotfix that often takes care of this issue.

 

Request the Hotfix files from here;

 

http://support.micro...7178&kbln=en-us

 

Select the Hotfix applicable to your OS (i.e. x86 or x64)

 

This Hotfix has taken care of the problem for me on two machines.

:withstupid:

 

Same thing happened to me, and this one solved my problem too.


boozei.gif