Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

FX8350 and 955BE (Improvement ?)

vishera phenom

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#13 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:49 AM

Here is a Farcry 3 benchmark showing the FX processor really helping out with the HD7970 compared to the 955 causing a bottleneck:
http://www.tomshardw...ark,3379-7.html

The difference between similar CPUs of different core counts suggests that we might finally have a poster-child game for multithreading!

Posted Image

Booyah.


#14 ComputerEd

ComputerEd

    Voice of Computing Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:57 AM

Here is a Farcry 3 benchmark showing the FX processor really helping out with the HD7970 compared to the 955 causing a bottleneck:

http://www.tomshardw...ark,3379-7.html

That's cool Red but the key here is the video card. If he has a 7970 then for sure I would say upgrade but if he does not, which is likely given the age of the machine. If he is using an older card he might end up bottle necked.


Get your GEEK on ever week with Computer Ed Radio

http://computeredradio.com  http://facebook.com/computered

 

 


#15 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:00 AM

 

Here is a Farcry 3 benchmark showing the FX processor really helping out with the HD7970 compared to the 955 causing a bottleneck:

http://www.tomshardw...ark,3379-7.html

That's cool Red but the key here is the video card. If he has a 7970 then for sure I would say upgrade but if he does not, which is likely given the age of the machine. If he is using an older card he might end up bottle necked.

 


Maybe but like I said, gaming is not an issue with the games I currently play (but an upgrade to a 79XX card is in the works but lower down in the upgrade priority chain). The benchmark does show that there's a significant gap between the two and I'll probably pick one of these babies up in the coming weeks.



 



#16 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:41 AM

Had to spend the last couple minutes checking reviews but a 1090T was more economically sound at $100 or so used atm than an FX 8150 as they were close in performance but the FX8350 is a good step up from the FX8150.

 

You'll get at least $50 for your 955BE making the FX8350 $150. If you have the cash, I'd say do it if your system will allow you to OC that bad boy to near 5ghz.

 

On the other side of the coin, the above should only apply if you already have a GPU worthy of the upgrade or if you plan to purchase one before too long.


Edited by WARDOZERX, 27 December 2012 - 06:47 AM.

Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#17 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17959 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 27 December 2012 - 07:51 AM

The 955 with a decent overclock is still a VERY viable gaming chip. The entire FX line has the issue that at a clock to clock comparisons per core they do not beat the Phenom II. Personally I doubt that the move you are suggesting would matter much outside of benchmarks are heavy multi-thread apps. From a gaming perspective it would likely not matter at all fro gaming experience. If you games are running good now I would hold the $200.

 

BTW the give a direct point, Doug, my shows co-host is STILL using a 940 and plays, Skyrim, Guild Wars 2, MechWarrior Online, Borderlands 2 and quite a few others and has no complaints.

 

 

very true...All of my kids are running CPUs from either a 940BE to a 980BE on either 450-460 video cards and they still game very well.....


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#18 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:21 AM

 

You'll get at least $50 for your 955BE

 

On the other side of the coin, the above should only apply if you already have a GPU worthy of the upgrade or if you plan to purchase one before too long.


Won't be selling the 955, have spare parts lying around that could make a decent HTPC or whatever. With regards to the GPU; I do plan on upgrading to a 79XX card sometime soon hopefully but not before the 8350 and a new cooler to boot.



#19 policedogtraine

policedogtraine

    New Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 09:42 AM

i think it is a big difference if you look at the benchmarks.

i have a 8320 and find it great.



#20 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:25 AM

Benchmarks lie :P

Either way, I plan on picking one up next Tuesday, just hope my TX3 can handle the thing till I find a more permanent cooling solution.



#21 policedogtraine

policedogtraine

    New Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:49 AM

it depends what you want on 4,2 gig mine mugen 3 keeps under 55 degrees,.

 

 

11849476.jpg



#22 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 31 December 2012 - 12:05 PM

Its summer in Aus right now so ambient temps are pretty high, I'll underclock the damn thing if I had to :P (Until I get a new cooler of course)

Its 4am; ambient temp is 33 degrees celsius and my highest core is at 46 degrees right now with only Firefox, Origin and Nod32 running. This is at stock clocks, I always revert back to stock clocks during summer.



#23 policedogtraine

policedogtraine

    New Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 12:21 PM

Its summer in Aus right now so ambient temps are pretty high, I'll underclock the damn thing if I had to :P (Until I get a new cooler of course)

Its 4am; ambient temp is 33 degrees celsius and my highest core is at 46 degrees right now with only Firefox, Origin and Nod32 running. This is at stock clocks, I always revert back to stock clocks during summer.

thats good to do.

as save as possible



#24 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 584 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 31 December 2012 - 12:40 PM

GET ONE... :woot:

 

What a difference between the two. Loading windows was a very small improvment. Loading some apps it didnt make a dif at all. But they are OLD programs that i use from time to time.

 

My HD speeds have gone up 50-80+ MB faster.

 

Now my video program that i use.I went from render video that took 25-30mins to 18-22 now. Loading office 2010, I dont even see the splash loading screen. Rendering pics in adobe, its so much faster and smooth.

Im still running at stock 4.0 speeds, right now im getting help from someone with the same board as me to OC to 5.0.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: vishera, phenom