Jump to content


Photo

Windows 8 failed update boot loop


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 18 December 2012 - 06:46 AM

I was updating windows 8 as usual, and it restarts on its own while updating. When it turns back on, I get to a screen that says "failed configuring windows updates. Reverting changes. Do not turn off your computer." After a while, it reboots on its own, and does it again and again and again... I tried booting to "system recovery" but I get the same screen.

Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#2 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 18 December 2012 - 07:12 AM

Windows 8 phail  :lol:

 

I can see why it's doing it, it thinks there are still updates to roll back - it's already removed them but it hasn't reset the value for the screen. 

 

If you manage to get into Windows then it should reset it and it should run fine afterwards...have you tried system restore or is it one of those things that Microsoft decided to remove in it's 'unsinkable' Windows 8 because it's OS would never fail...


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#3 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 18 December 2012 - 07:30 AM

i had to go into safe mode to straighten things out the other day,...win8 is not unsinkable to guys like us...hehe


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#4 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 18 December 2012 - 07:40 AM

Well, I let my laptop have fun and just boot loop itself, and when I got back from my breakfast and shower, it was working. Oh MS, you so crazy. 


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#5 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 18 December 2012 - 07:44 AM

Dark magic is at work  :teehee:


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#6 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:07 AM

I was updating windows 8 as usual, and it restarts on its own while updating. When it turns back on, I get to a screen that says "failed configuring windows updates. Reverting changes. Do not turn off your computer." After a while, it reboots on its own, and does it again and again and again... I tried booting to "system recovery" but I get the same screen.

 

 

Well, I let my laptop have fun and just boot loop itself, and when I got back from my breakfast and shower, it was working. Oh MS, you so crazy. 

 

Windows 8 Fail. :P


boozei.gif


#7 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 18 December 2012 - 08:07 AM

yea crazy, try building a raid 0 with 4.7 oc...it no likee

 

damn double post again.......


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#8 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:51 AM

Another reason not upgrade yet...


Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#9 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 18 December 2012 - 10:58 AM

Oh god. I still have to perform these updates. D:


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#10 Renigade

Renigade

    Seminole

  • Folding Member
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 December 2012 - 01:03 PM

I was updating windows 8 as usual, and it restarts on its own while updating. When it turns back on, I get to a screen that says "failed configuring windows updates. Reverting changes. Do not turn off your computer." After a while, it reboots on its own, and does it again and again and again... I tried booting to "system recovery" but I get the same screen.


This will help you get it straight! http://youtu.be/s_Whz9yapTc?t=39s



#11 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4253 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 20 December 2012 - 04:12 AM

Well its doing the same thing on my Consumer Release Preview... Was going to get Windows 8 Pro tomorrow but now Im not so sure it's the right decision


i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | ASUS GTX780 Ti
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#12 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1192 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 20 December 2012 - 04:30 AM

Well its doing the same thing on my Consumer Release Preview... Was going to get Windows 8 Pro tomorrow but now Im not so sure it's the right decision

 

windows 8 is in my eyes never a right decision :P


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

 

I5-760 - Cooler Master 212+ Evo - ASUS maximus gen III - Crossair 8gb ddr3 1600Mhz ram - GTX 580 - windows 7

 

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it