Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Nevermind.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 DrDigitized2

DrDigitized2

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamestown KS. USA

Posted 06 December 2012 - 05:47 PM

Nevermind. I fixed it. I did not know that the 12V 4pin power connector was attached to another 4 pin connector. Anyways. All is good now.


Edited by DrDigitized2, 12 December 2012 - 07:58 PM.

sigimageu=32359&c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0
 
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty,   Case: HAF 932 Blue edition, CPU: i5 2500K, PSU SeaSonic X-1250, GPU GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950, RAM: Mushkin 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
 SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, HDD: 250GB, Water Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360, OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit TIM: Tuniq TX-2 Monitor PLANAR 27"


#2 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 06 December 2012 - 07:14 PM

Motherboard: Asus FM2 (AMD board) $65.00

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131885

CPU: AMD-FM2 A8-5600k 110.00

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819113281

Ram: 2x4gb ddr3-1600mhz Team Xtreme $35.00

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820313080

PSU: Corsair Builder series430 watt PSU 45.00

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817139026

Use the SSD and you can always add in a cheap card and crossfire with the onboard if needed but the onboard should play WoW just fine on Max settings

total cost listed $ 255.00 and it will run very nice and cool


AMD HD7750 video card list.... 89.99+

http://www.newegg.co...h=1&srchInDesc=
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#3 DrDigitized2

DrDigitized2

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamestown KS. USA

Posted 06 December 2012 - 07:44 PM

Wow. Thanks for the fast reply. That build is exactly what I was looking for. I tried to find my own and even though it came out to the same price it was not near as good as your build. Thanks

sigimageu=32359&c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0
 
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty,   Case: HAF 932 Blue edition, CPU: i5 2500K, PSU SeaSonic X-1250, GPU GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950, RAM: Mushkin 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
 SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, HDD: 250GB, Water Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360, OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit TIM: Tuniq TX-2 Monitor PLANAR 27"


#4 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:42 AM

Actually, you can probably do a bit better. http://www.tomshardw...pu,3241-10.html They are getting close to 60 FPS at 1920x1080 with good settings and they are using 1600mhz ram. Since the APU uses the PC ram as the video memory, you can get better performance with faster ram. Like Dr. bowtie said, the APU should be enough, but what I have should insure that your wife can play wow at max.

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813157331 (it supports higher memory speeds and it is a tad cheaper....plus asrock is a good company and it has a lot of overclocking potential for the price)

Next is the ram. I say you go with some samsung low voltage ram because it is 35 bucks for 8GB and you can OC this stuff like crazy. Most people are able to hit 2133mhz with decent timings which will be perfect for the APU http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820147096

The PSU option that Dr. Bowtie linked is excellent.

I would also add the coolermaster evo cooler so that you can OC the CPU/GPU to get the best performance available. http://www.newegg.co...N82E16835103099

Assuming that the 19 inch screen you have is lower than 1920x1080 there is no reason that wow shouldn't then play at max.

#5 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:49 AM

you have to be careful with low voltage ram as some boards dont fully support low voltage....
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#6 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6591 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:03 AM

you have to be careful with low voltage ram as some boards dont fully support low voltage....

Some low voltage RAM like the Samsungs can handle higher voltage... :P

#7 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:02 AM

Pay the little extra and get 4 gig at least and preferably 8 gig. This lets the onboard have the RAM it needs and does not starve the rest of the PC for memory. The A8 can do a fair job of gaming at 720 resolutions so unless she is a serious gamer I would settle for the onboard solution. If you need a little more graphics horsepower and the game supports Crossfire I would just get a 6750, will give you better speed than the 7750 in games with crossfire support.

Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#8 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 07 December 2012 - 10:57 AM

thats why I suggested a 2x4gb kit ;) the APU loves more dedicated ram.... :) I will set the maximum it will allow
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#9 DrDigitized2

DrDigitized2

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamestown KS. USA

Posted 07 December 2012 - 02:16 PM

Well I jumped the gun and bought all the stuff dr_bowtie recommended except for the video card. I wan't to have it built in time for my wife to get it on Christmas and that shouldn't be a problem. I was already looking at the Evo CPU cooler last night and I plan to get that after Christmas so I can give her a little more boost from the processer. Later on I might throw in the 6750 and crossover if she needs it but I think this configuration will be great for our needs. I still can't believe how cheap this build is going to be. All I knew is that I didn't want to buy a Wal*Mart computer. Ha ha

sigimageu=32359&c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0
 
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty,   Case: HAF 932 Blue edition, CPU: i5 2500K, PSU SeaSonic X-1250, GPU GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950, RAM: Mushkin 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
 SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, HDD: 250GB, Water Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360, OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit TIM: Tuniq TX-2 Monitor PLANAR 27"


#10 ohldboy

ohldboy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Waterbury, CT 06704 USA

Posted 07 December 2012 - 03:26 PM

I believe the A8-5600 only does Hybrid Crossfire with the HD 6670 card, I have also read the DDR3 version is preferred as there is no improvement with DDR5 despite the greater bandwidth.
The on motherboard RAM, even overclocked limits the crossfire.

The HD 7750 is better card than the on chip solution but you will have to check benchmarks for WOW HD 7750 vs Dual Crossfire HD 6670.

Roughly
http://www.hwcompare...radeon-hd-7750/

http://www.anandtech...duct/613?vs=535

FM1 Dual Crossfire could be uneven in results depending on specific hardware.

I have not seen Dual Crossfire ratings for the A8-5600.

http://www.pcper.com...orms-and-Mother

Note that the HD 6670 has been renamed the HD 7670, NOT to be confused with the HD 7750. The HD 7770 considerably outperforms the HD 7750 but requires a PCIe 6 pin power plug.

#11 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 07 December 2012 - 04:35 PM

here is a card that for SURE will crossfire.....

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card (11192-22-20G)

make sure you read the manual on setting up the dual graphics prior to doing the build.

the K version should clock well
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#12 DrDigitized2

DrDigitized2

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamestown KS. USA

Posted 11 December 2012 - 08:54 PM

Just realised that I should have made a new thread. Sorry.


sigimageu=32359&c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0
 
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty,   Case: HAF 932 Blue edition, CPU: i5 2500K, PSU SeaSonic X-1250, GPU GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950, RAM: Mushkin 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
 SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, HDD: 250GB, Water Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360, OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit TIM: Tuniq TX-2 Monitor PLANAR 27"