Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

faulty sata cable


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:00 AM

i spent the morning fussing with the gamer rig, not booting, hard disk read error messages, partially booting then freezing, and then hard disk not found message when i decided to reformat and start over from scratch,....just when i had everything open and was ready to pull the new velociraptor and rma back to the egg, i thot "i better check this cable" and it's a good thing i did,....changed the sata cable to an old tried and true asus sata and booted right up faster than ever...wat a pita !

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#2 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:03 AM

At least you didn't have to RMA it. :P

Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#3 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:26 AM

At least you didn't have to RMA it. :P

oh man, i thot for sure it was the hard drive at first and got kinda pissed,...i'm really happy it wasn't that after all...
Attached File  WP_002698.jpg   681.68KB   16 downloads
the culprit

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#4 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:54 AM

Is that one of the ones that come with gigabyte motherboards? I had one of them die on me too.

Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#5 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 26 November 2012 - 10:01 AM

Looks like a biostar cable, if it is one gave me a hard time on a new ssd, after a week of errors and no boots I changed it and worked perfect . Always the first thing you should check but always the final step before rma and a lot of headaches. :biggrin:

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#6 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4202 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 26 November 2012 - 10:14 AM

I love my 6 year old evga cables. :)

Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#7 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18082 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 26 November 2012 - 10:43 AM

I've had faulty cables cause Permanent SMART errors...that sucks
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#8 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 26 November 2012 - 10:50 AM

Looks like a biostar cable, if it is one gave me a hard time on a new ssd, after a week of errors and no boots I changed it and worked perfect . Always the first thing you should check but always the final step before rma and a lot of headaches. :biggrin:

man ! ,...good eye spike !! ...yup it's an old biostar cable that was left over from a repair job i did like last year, or before that even,...i haven't had any complaints or issues from that job, so it must be just this..

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#9 Phil

Phil

    No longer animated :(

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2721 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:So. Kent CT USA

Posted 26 November 2012 - 11:33 AM

I've had bad SATA cables, it's usually the last thing you'd expect to be bad. I even had a bad power cable once, who would suspect that?
The real cow king.

Posted Image

Antec P182, Asus Commando Green MB, Intel Core2 Quad 2.66 Ghz, Freezer 7 Pro CPU cooler, Corsair DDR2, nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC, 2 WD Raptors 160GB, CoolerMaster 750W PS

#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4149 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 November 2012 - 03:24 AM

When any of my HDD or ODD doesn't work, the first thing I always do is to check that drive with other SATA cables.
Most of those cables lasts ~2 years after 24x7 use. Actually, what more can we expect from those cheap cables? ;)
Glad that's only SATA cable in your case too.

boozei.gif


#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 27 November 2012 - 04:19 AM

Most cables last far longer than 2 years unless you abuse them...

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#12 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3638 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 27 November 2012 - 05:59 AM

You mean you're not supposed to tie them in knots when cable managing to keep them out of the way? Crap...:lol:

MSI MPower Max - 4770K - 2x EVGA GTX780 ACX - 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 - 2x Crucial M4 256GB raid0 - Enermax 1020w - HP ZR30w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB - 17" matte display

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB - 2x Dell E228wfp