Jump to content


Photo

Corsair Accelerator 30GB & 60GB Review


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7932 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:56 PM

On the test bench today are a pair of rather interesting solid-state drives. See how these caching drives perform in the OCC review of the Corsair Accelerator 30GB & 60GB - http://www.overclock...ir_accelerator/

AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#2 My_Inner_Fred

My_Inner_Fred

    Being Lazy

  • Folding Member
  • 1318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sugar Land, TX

Posted 09 July 2012 - 10:35 AM

It would be a dumb idea to use those as cache drive when your boot drive is already a SSD correct?

Main Rig

Mobo: ASUS P67 Sabertooth | GPU: EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 768MB | GPU2: EVGA Nvidia 520 GT 1GB | PSU: Raidmax 850W Gold Cert. | CPU: Intel I7-2600k 3.4GHz OCed to 4.6Ghz | RAM: (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X series 8GB 1600Mhz

RAM2: (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X series 8GB 1866Mhz(running at 1600Mhz) | HS: Corsair H70 Water Cooling | HDDs: OCZ Vertex 2 60GB/WD Caviar Black 1TB/WD Caviar Green 1TB | CD/DVD: ASUS DVD/CD Drive

WolfandSpice_1341388341.jpgMy_Inner_Fred.jpg


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 July 2012 - 10:40 AM

The best thing I like is their price.
One thing I should say is the ht e only con listed in the review (i.e. Drives over 2TB not supported ) isn't that much important for the following reasons:
  • Very few people uses >2TB HDD
  • >2TB HDDs are not radially available in the market.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

boozei.gif


#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 09 July 2012 - 11:06 AM

It would be a dumb idea to use those as cache drive when your boot drive is already a SSD correct?

Definitely.

This seems like a decent alternative to using Intel SRT if you're on an AMD platform or an older Intel platform.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#5 wildman2

wildman2

    Geek

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:35 PM

Why would this as a cache drive be a bad idea if main drive is an ssd?
CPU: Intel socket 2011 3820 Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth socket 2011RAM: G-skill ripjaws z 2133 ram 16gb GPU: Saphire 6970 flex
Storage: Corsair force gt3 120 gb Seagate 1 tbChassis: Thermaltake element gCooling: Corsair H-80PSU: Corsair AX 750
Display: Insignia 1080p 32inAudio: Onboard sound hooked to a Kenwood 100 watt 5.1 receiver rca surround speakers and sony subwoofer
Keyboard: Logitech k350Mouse: Logitech m510

#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:48 PM

Why would this as a cache drive be a bad idea if main drive is an ssd?

Because it just adds an extra layer...it'll just slow things down.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#7 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 09 July 2012 - 03:54 PM

Because it just adds an extra layer...it'll just slow things down.

Yeah, if it's an SSD....it's not going to get faster with an SSD lol, unless the other "cache drive" was a faster, larger, and newer generation and the "OS Drive" was disconnected entirely :lol:

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#8 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11357 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 July 2012 - 04:59 PM

It would be a dumb idea to use those as cache drive when your boot drive is already a SSD correct?


Yes you will see no benefit .

Definitely.

This seems like a decent alternative to using Intel SRT if you're on an AMD platform or an older Intel platform.

Its better in so many ways. No RAID ARRAY to set up is the biggest one I can think of

Because it just adds an extra layer...it'll just slow things down.



You get no benefit trying to cache a SATA 6Gbp/s SSD because these drives are slower.
Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#9 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 July 2012 - 11:19 PM

Why would this as a cache drive be a bad idea if main drive is an ssd?


For the very first time I'm listening to this type of concept. :down:
Say if you are using Vertex4, and how do you expect the speed of these accelerator SSDs to be same or greater than those?

boozei.gif


#10 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7932 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 09 July 2012 - 11:27 PM

For the very first time I'm listening to this type of concept. :down:
Say if you are using Vertex4, and how do you expect the speed of these accelerator SSDs to be same or greater than those?


You get no benefit trying to cache a SATA 6Gbp/s SSD because these drives are slower.


It was already covered...

AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 July 2012 - 11:36 PM

Sorry. I didn't scroll through the whole page before posting. I saw that post & replied. :-(

boozei.gif


#12 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 10 July 2012 - 03:13 AM

Its better in so many ways. No RAID ARRAY to set up is the biggest one I can think of

Other than the somewhat more simple setup - would you say it feels about the same as using Intel SRT? I love that the Intel driver automatically uses massive amounts of RAM if I'm already not using it (it seems to do better than Windows 7 in this aspect). Are there any tunables for the Corsair software to mess with?

Posted Image

Booyah.