Jump to content


Photo
* * * - - 1 votes

1333 vs 1600 on Sckt 2011


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:16 PM

hey so like the title says i'm looking at the difference between 1333 and 1600 memory for the 2011. a benchmark would be nice but basically my question is using the same amount of memory and a unlocked cpu what would the difference be in real world performance? second, would 1600 give me a overall overclocking room or would it have close to null increase with the unlocked mutli?

It's like $100 difference in cost just for a few more mhz but it's still costly mistake to find out that extra speed has a bigger impact than i thought.

Edited by hornybluecow, 17 April 2012 - 05:17 PM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#2 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:33 PM

First in benchmarks there is a speed difference that can be measured, however if you just use the PC and do not spend time looking at frame rates or measuring every task with a stopwatch you will never notice the difference. The 1600 will give you more overclocking headroom in most cases but overclocking RAM is seriously overrated. Get RAM that has XMP and let the BIOS control the speed, you will be fine.

Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#3 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 17 April 2012 - 05:38 PM

XMP hasn't worked for me yet lol. always forced to manually set stuff anyways. but it looks like with all 8 slots filled the x79 defaults to 1333 (in one review). I haven't found any more hard evidence.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#4 NikoDG

NikoDG

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1134 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 April 2012 - 07:40 PM

I actually had all 8 slots on my Sabertooth X79 populated, but later took half of them out as they were more of a hindrance than a help, haha. Still have 16GB of RAM running 1866 in quad channel, so it's nothing to complain about ;)

#5 Rofltroll

Rofltroll

    Kowalski! Options!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 18 April 2012 - 02:15 AM

I would personally not spend the extra hundred. My RAM (which is 1600) was first clocked at 1066 and it took me a while to realize this. I overclcoked it and guess what: I even kept an eye on FPS in games. nuthin'

mobo: Gigabyte X58 UD3R.
CPU: i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz 1.2v. == Chilled by Titan Fenrir Evo ==
video: Inno3D nVidia GTX 470 @ 775/1550/1775.
RAM: OCZ Gold 2x2GB @ 1440 CL7 1.65v.
HDD: Cheap-O HDD.
PSU: Corsair 650TX.
case: NZXT Hades.


#6 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:56 AM

I would snag some of the mushkin radioactive ddr3 1600 just about whatever flavor of gb you want but that stuff is an overclocking monster. :)

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#7 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:35 PM

they don't have muskin radioactive in 8gb dimms. I guess i should be more clear, i'm looking at 64gb kits (yes i would use all the ram, i already max out 24gb daily) so 8x8gb 1600 is $500 and 1333 is $400~ that's why i was asking.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#8 Il_napoletano

Il_napoletano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Napoli, Italy

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:47 PM

yes i would use all the ram, i already max out 24gb daily)


CAD? or movie editing? because that is a lot of ram :D

Cooler Master Haf 932
Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 950 @ stock
12GB Corsair Vengence 1866mhz

XFX 6970 2GB @1600x1200px atm

Samsung 830 120GB SSD 

WD Raptor 10k rpm

Segate barracuda 750GB
64x Windows 7 Ultimate


#9 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 18 April 2012 - 01:14 PM

Maya and Photoshop mainly. It's 90% photoshops fault, my PSD files are 15gb on average because i'm taking gigapan pictures, but past 5 feet i cannot edit them anymore because i run out of ram.

imagine editing HDR gigapixel files...I want to do that and currently cannot.

Edited by hornybluecow, 18 April 2012 - 01:16 PM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#10 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 18 April 2012 - 01:52 PM

Depending on the app, sometimes performance is better at lower frequencies and tighter timings. I recently tested a lot of memory on the X79 platform.

The GSkill Ripjaw "Z"s were the best modules by far. They overclocked great and had low enough heat spreaders that did not interfere with air cooling....

Here are a few spread sheets so you can see the differences between frequencies and imings. The timings were tightest at each frequency


Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by Drdeath, 18 April 2012 - 01:52 PM.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case

 

 


#11 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 18 April 2012 - 01:56 PM

Awesome just what I need! Im gonna go with 1333 save myself $100

Since a lot of work is CPU bound I don't see a super small jump worth te extra $$$$

Edited by hornybluecow, 18 April 2012 - 01:57 PM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#12 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 18 April 2012 - 02:42 PM

Depending on the app, sometimes performance is better at lower frequencies and tighter timings. I recently tested a lot of memory on the X79 platform.

The GSkill Ripjaw "Z"s were the best modules by far. They overclocked great and had low enough heat spreaders that did not interfere with air cooling....

Here are a few spread sheets so you can see the differences between frequencies and imings. The timings were tightest at each frequency


Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Those charts reinforce my "memory doesn't matter" attitude. :P. A 5% at most performance difference isn't worth 20-100% more cash...at least not in my eyes.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.