Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Help on OC's ram


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:35 PM

I currently have G skill ddr3 1600 ram Link--->http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231313
are these overclockable? and if so, can someone help me OC them?
i currently have the fx-8150 OC'd to 4.6ghz with antec kuhler 620, a gigabyte xa ud3 mobo, and 600w rosewill PSU

#2 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:43 PM

Can you put everything into one thread?

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#3 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:46 PM

What do you mean one thread?

#4 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:51 PM

You just opened quite a few threads right?

Well the oc one could be separate. Anyway there is little benefit to overclocking your ram what you could do is try and tighten the timings.

You are currently using xmp, correct?

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#5 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 14 April 2012 - 08:56 PM

I wouldn't even bother overclocking the RAM. It's generally a waste of time. :P

Posted Image

Booyah.


#6 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 April 2012 - 09:48 PM

Well i try to make the best of everything.. literally. :P
Oh you're right, well im a bit new, sorry about that.
tightening the timings? care to explain? XMP=?

#7 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 14 April 2012 - 10:32 PM

Well xmp (extreme memory profile) is a simple bios setting which will enable your RAM to run at it's rated specifications.

You could then lock those settings in manually and work towards tightening the timings but you won't see much of a benefit from it.

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#8 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 14 April 2012 - 10:42 PM

I wouldn't even bother overclocking the RAM. It's generally a waste of time. :P



Waco, not to start an argument but your statement is way too negative. Some apps can see up to a 10% increase in performance with overclocked ram. Some see little.

Tuning Ram can make a difference also. Some apps will run better performance at 1600MHz with tight timings even over overclocked ram, at 2400MHz.

The overview would be state what apps he uses the system for and run some benchmarks to see what frequency and timings perform better and thats where the ram needs to be tuned.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case

 

 


#9 Rofltroll

Rofltroll

    Kowalski! Options!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:05 AM

RAM has 2 important performance numbers: the frequency and the timings(CL). Let me briefly explain what all those crazy numbers in RAM are; take for example the ones you chose:

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9S-4GBRL

G-Skill - manufacturer (good choice there)
4 GB - amount
240 - Pin - number of pins on the DIMM(the ram PCB - the green thingy where the memory chips are)
DDR3 - double data rate 3 - 3rd generation of DDR - faster than DDR2 though not by much (higher frequency at the cost higher CL) and consumes less power (1.5v)
SDRAM - synchronous DRAM -currently the most widely used type of RAM memory.
1600 - frequency
PC3 12800 - maximum amount of data transfer (12.8 GB/s - this is the maximum amount of bandwidth of the memory albeit it will most likely never use that amount of bandwidth)
F3-12800CL9 - 12800 is the max bandwidth and CL9 are the timings - these timings are the number of clock cycles it needs between data getting in the RAM and data getting out of the RAM - put bluntly - so the lower the better. So even if you have high frequency RAM if the CL is too high you won't see much performance gain say 1600 CL7 vs 2000 CL10.

Now if a manufacturer slaps 1600 CL9 on their RAM that means that they guarantee that it will run at 1600 frequency and 9 CL. However that doesn't mean you can't get lucky and manage to get higher results than that - say 1600 CL7(for example i got unlucky :P and couldn't manage to get higher than manufacturer freq+CL)

Here's a noob- friendly guide:
http://www.hardwares...com/article/152

mobo: Gigabyte X58 UD3R.
CPU: i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz 1.2v. == Chilled by Titan Fenrir Evo ==
video: Inno3D nVidia GTX 470 @ 775/1550/1775.
RAM: OCZ Gold 2x2GB @ 1440 CL7 1.65v.
HDD: Cheap-O HDD.
PSU: Corsair 650TX.
case: NZXT Hades.


#10 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 April 2012 - 11:56 AM

Oh! i understand now!
how do i find the bios in my MIT bios? i dont see that option

#11 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3275 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 15 April 2012 - 12:14 PM

Depends on what kind of board you have. MIt is likely in the tweaked sub menu But it may be under a different acronym.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#12 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 April 2012 - 02:23 PM

I have the gigabyte 990xa-ud3