Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Laptop HDD


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:30 PM

I seem to be getting a message on boot up from my laptop, it says BOOT MGR IS MISSING, press CTRL ALT DEL to restart. I have changed nothing on the laptop, i shut it down last night, not moved it from my desk and went to turn it on today and i got this.

Does anyone know how i can fix this ? thanks.
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#2 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:54 AM

What OS are you running?

Take it out and put it in a different PC and do some diagnostic on it.

Could be that the drive is on its way out.

#3 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 13 April 2012 - 04:57 AM

I only got the laptop at christmas, and i have plugged it into my pc and i cannot boot from it on the pc either
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#4 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4042 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 April 2012 - 05:32 AM

You might have to repair Windows or replace the BOOT.ini/Boot MGR or whatever with a valid one from a back up or from the disc... wait for more experienced people :) Usually evening :D

Edited by Dan The Gamer, 13 April 2012 - 05:32 AM.

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#5 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 13 April 2012 - 05:58 AM

Just boot from a windows CD/DVD and choose 'Repair your computer' or something similar to that and you're good to go :cheers:

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#6 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 13 April 2012 - 08:40 AM

I only got the laptop at christmas, and i have plugged it into my pc and i cannot boot from it on the pc either


Dont try and boot from it. :pfp:

Put it in as a second drive. Boot the system normally. Go to the website of who ever makes it and download there diagnostic tools.

Hard drives can fail after a few hours of use. So how old it is just means if its covered under warranty or not.

#7 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 13 April 2012 - 03:30 PM

Just boot from a windows CD/DVD and choose 'Repair your computer' or something similar to that and you're good to go :cheers:



I followed your order and this worked, thanks alot. I had 1 years worth of college work on that too :cry: so i would not of been happy if i lost it :doh: Once again, thanks you :cheers:
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#8 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 13 April 2012 - 06:29 PM

I followed your order and this worked, thanks alot. I had 1 years worth of college work on that too :cry: so i would not of been happy if i lost it :doh: Once again, thanks you :cheers:


Great to hear it works :biggrin:
I think you better backup your drive just in case :happy:

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#9 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 14 April 2012 - 04:25 AM

Yeah i backup it up to my main PC :thumbsup:
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image