Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Overclocking My GTX 570


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 08 April 2012 - 04:32 PM

Hi there, I have a GTX 570 and i have overclocked it from 732 MHz (Core) and 1464 MHz (Shader) to 847 MHz (Core) and 1694 MHz (Shader). I was wondering if i can go any higher ? The max temp i seen my GPU go to was 76c FurMark

Thanks, Dario.
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#2 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6486 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 08 April 2012 - 04:35 PM

You can unlock the voltages, increase it, and should allow more overclocking headroom... but temps will also go up.

#3 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 08 April 2012 - 04:40 PM

I have tried to unlock the voltages and it doesn't seem to do so :dunno: ... I'll attach a screen shot of MSI Afterburner.

GTX 570 - MSI Afterburner.jpg


EDIT : Wrong Screenshot

Edited by dario_92, 08 April 2012 - 04:43 PM.

CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#4 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6486 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 08 April 2012 - 04:47 PM

Did you close MSI Afterburner and restart it?

#5 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 08 April 2012 - 04:47 PM

Did you close MSI Afterburner and restart it?



Yes, many times.
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#6 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6486 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 08 April 2012 - 06:04 PM

Try the beta version. Else use EVGA Precision or you'll probably have to do some tweaks or flash the BIOS.

#7 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 08 April 2012 - 06:04 PM

Try the beta version. Else use EVGA Precision or you'll probably have to do some tweaks or flash the BIOS.


Ok, thanks for your help :cheers:
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#8 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2012 - 03:45 AM

I got it working, thanks. I downloaded the BETA of Afterburner and its working fine. :biggrin:
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#9 dario_92

dario_92

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 332 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2012 - 05:49 PM

Hi there, instead of making a new thread and all that malarkey, i have just decided to post it in this thread.

Is there anywhere where i can buy the Twin Frozr heat-sink and fan for my 570 ? I do not want to go full water-cooling yet as i will be doing this when i build my new rig. Or is there any other cooler that i can buy that will be a benefit to me ?

Thanks, Dario.
CPU-- Intel i5-760 @ 4.00GHz
Mobo--ASUS P7P55 LX
RAM--8GB Mushkin Silverline @ 1600 MHz
GPU--MSI GTX570 @ 732/1900
CPU Cooler--Be Quiet Dark Rock Advanced
PSU--Antec TruePower 650W
HDD--Samsung F3 1TB
OS--Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Case--HAF 912 Plus
Posted Image

#10 Rofltroll

Rofltroll

    Kowalski! Options!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 09 April 2012 - 08:33 PM

Look into Arctic cooling accelero XTREME II. That's the best aftermarket cooler that you can buy by itself. It's cold and it's quiet though it takes up quite a bit of space.

mobo: Gigabyte X58 UD3R.
CPU: i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz 1.2v. == Chilled by Titan Fenrir Evo ==
video: Inno3D nVidia GTX 470 @ 775/1550/1775.
RAM: OCZ Gold 2x2GB @ 1440 CL7 1.65v.
HDD: Cheap-O HDD.
PSU: Corsair 650TX.
case: NZXT Hades.


#11 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 09 April 2012 - 10:44 PM

If you do go for an Artic Accelero (AFAIK you cant buy Twin Frozr coolers) remember that the VRM cooling is usually way worse than the stock vapour chamber as its just cooled by a tiny heatsink that relies on hot air that has already cooled fins for the gpu and not by part of a vapour chamber anymore

i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | ASUS GTX780 Ti
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#12 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 09 April 2012 - 10:57 PM

If you do go for an Artic Accelero (AFAIK you cant buy Twin Frozr coolers) remember that the VRM cooling is usually way worse than the stock vapour chamber as its just cooled by a tiny heatsink that relies on hot air that has already cooled fins for the gpu and not by part of a vapour chamber anymore


when i had a arctic accelero on my 6970s temps were way down across the board, so im not sure where you got that info from

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case