Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Is it possible for cpu to be too cold


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#13 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 05:25 AM

If I'm looking at the picture correctly your want shoud be the normal operation of a psu.. check the flow with a tissue.. (the side the pulls the tissue to the fan/vent is the intake)
Posted Image

#14 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:25 AM

I'm wondering if it's alright to turn the fan around and make it blow air through it to the outside of the case, instead of pulling air through the back and out into the case. Check the second picture if you're unsure what I'm getting at. Also forgive my poor paint skills :woot:


most PSUs afaik are equipped with their fans as intake at the bottom then pushes hot air outside at the back.
your sketch at the right which i preferred, but mount the PSU with it's fan at the bottom instead. pulling cool air from the outside then pushes hot air outside, makes your PSU running much cooler & happier by doing so :happy:

Edited by sword_fish, 06 April 2012 - 09:27 AM.

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#15 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 April 2012 - 08:35 AM

That would reduce the PSU life span wouldn't it? You'd just open your PSU which can be dangerous and turn the fan... somebody might know how... could mod the case so you make a little tunnel for the PSU air...

:withstupid:

As a matter of fact, PSU fans are intake fan. If there is no way by which air can come out of PSU, there is no use of that fan running.

boozei.gif


#16 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 09 April 2012 - 10:16 PM

The CPU cannot physically be below your room ambients. It is impossible unless your using chiiled water or some form of exotic cooling. Your sensors are bad, plain and simple.

Edited by Drdeath, 09 April 2012 - 10:17 PM.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case

 

 


#17 Rofltroll

Rofltroll

    Kowalski! Options!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 13 April 2012 - 02:52 PM

The CPU cannot physically be below your room ambients. It is impossible unless your using chiiled water or some form of exotic cooling. Your sensors are bad, plain and simple.

Either that or he's confusing celsius with fahrenheit and he's actually from alaska :P

mobo: Gigabyte X58 UD3R.
CPU: i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz 1.2v. == Chilled by Titan Fenrir Evo ==
video: Inno3D nVidia GTX 470 @ 775/1550/1775.
RAM: OCZ Gold 2x2GB @ 1440 CL7 1.65v.
HDD: Cheap-O HDD.
PSU: Corsair 650TX.
case: NZXT Hades.


#18 Nerm

Nerm

    OCC Beefcake

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison, IN

Posted 21 April 2012 - 09:24 AM

Just an FYI: It is quite possible to get a CPU temp below the rooms ambient temps even without extreme cooling like phase, DICE, LN2, etc. For those of you that say it cannot be done you must not have been around when I was doing WR breaking stock/air cooling experiments on the Athlon barton core. Also as others mentioned anytime going below ambient is dangerous as to condensation issues, however with that said I have had several chips/boards completely frosted. Would warm up and drip all over board and CPU and of all those times only damaged one board and one CPU. So even though condensation can cause problems it is not the pcb killer some think it is.

Rig #1 :: Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz :: 2x HD4850 Crossfire :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl ::

Rig #2 :: i7-3930K @ 4Ghz :: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series :: Evga GTX 670 :: Asus P9X79 Pro :: OCZ Vertex 256GB SSD ::
HTPC :: 4850e :: HD2600xt :: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H :: 1TB Storage ::
OCC Site Rules :: Site Help FAQ :: Extreme Cooling FAQ :: OCC Benchmark Team


#19 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5394 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 21 April 2012 - 09:30 AM

i honestly did not know you could get below ambient temps with air cooling. this would be the first. think about it, air is room temp, it moves across a heatsink which is dissipating heat, how is it possible to get below the temp of the air?

Edited by hornybluecow, 21 April 2012 - 09:31 AM.

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#20 Nerm

Nerm

    OCC Beefcake

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison, IN

Posted 21 April 2012 - 09:44 AM

i honestly did not know you could get below ambient temps with air cooling. this would be the first. think about it, air is room temp, it moves across a heatsink which is dissipating heat, how is it possible to get below the temp of the air?


It is kind of cheating but you make the air source into the case colder than the rooms ambient. Picture in your mind a 10,000BTU window A/C unit, 4" dryer duct, and duct tape. :whistling:

Rig #1 :: Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz :: 2x HD4850 Crossfire :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl ::

Rig #2 :: i7-3930K @ 4Ghz :: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series :: Evga GTX 670 :: Asus P9X79 Pro :: OCZ Vertex 256GB SSD ::
HTPC :: 4850e :: HD2600xt :: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H :: 1TB Storage ::
OCC Site Rules :: Site Help FAQ :: Extreme Cooling FAQ :: OCC Benchmark Team


#21 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 21 April 2012 - 09:55 AM

The ONLY way to get a CPU below ambient temps is by using a source that uses colder air(or water) then the ambients. It is a phsycal certainty it cannot happen, not a theory.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case

 

 


#22 Nerm

Nerm

    OCC Beefcake

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison, IN

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:10 AM

The ONLY way to get a CPU below ambient temps is by using a source that uses colder air(or water) then the ambients. It is a phsycal certainty it cannot happen, not a theory.


Yes, and using a colder source while still using air cooling is possible.

Rig #1 :: Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz :: 2x HD4850 Crossfire :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl ::

Rig #2 :: i7-3930K @ 4Ghz :: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series :: Evga GTX 670 :: Asus P9X79 Pro :: OCZ Vertex 256GB SSD ::
HTPC :: 4850e :: HD2600xt :: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H :: 1TB Storage ::
OCC Site Rules :: Site Help FAQ :: Extreme Cooling FAQ :: OCC Benchmark Team


#23 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15335 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:12 AM

Yes, and using a colder source while still using air cooling is possible.

Which really doesn't qualify as "regular" air cooling either. Piping an A/C unit into your case is pretty extreme. :lol:

sig.png

Booyah.


#24 Nerm

Nerm

    OCC Beefcake

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9685 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madison, IN

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:18 AM

Which really doesn't qualify as "regular" air cooling either. Piping an A/C unit into your case is pretty extreme. :lol:


lol, never said it wasn't extreme. I just saw were someone said it wasn't physically possible on air cooling and I just wanted to point out that it is.

Rig #1 :: Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz :: 2x HD4850 Crossfire :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl ::

Rig #2 :: i7-3930K @ 4Ghz :: 32GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z Series :: Evga GTX 670 :: Asus P9X79 Pro :: OCZ Vertex 256GB SSD ::
HTPC :: 4850e :: HD2600xt :: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H :: 1TB Storage ::
OCC Site Rules :: Site Help FAQ :: Extreme Cooling FAQ :: OCC Benchmark Team