Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Is it possible for cpu to be too cold


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Lemmingcake

Lemmingcake

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 05:25 PM

Hey everyone, this is my first post and I was wondering, I recently got myself a i5 2500k @ 4.3Ghz, running it in a zalman z11 case with a zalman cnps 11x extreme cpu cooler. I use core temp to measure the temps and on idle they seem extremely low, even on full load they are quite low, I'm attaching a screenshot of the temps, also my gpu which is a gtx 460 idles at very low temps, kinda scary. :-/ Temp.jpg

#2 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 05 April 2012 - 05:28 PM

Those temps are fine. Whats your ambient? The only time it would be too cold that I know of is when you take it into the minus and if the chip is "cold bugged".

MSI MPower Max - 4770K - 2x EVGA GTX780 ACX - 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 - 2x Crucial M4 256GB raid0 - Enermax 1020w - HP ZR30w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB - 17" matte display

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB - 2x Dell E228wfp


#3 Lemmingcake

Lemmingcake

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 05:38 PM

Those temps are fine. Whats your ambient? The only time it would be too cold that I know of is when you take it into the minus and if the chip is "cold bugged".


Alright, thanks :thumbsup:

Ambient is usually around 20 degrees give or take a few, I was a bit worried that the low temperatures could be due to some problem with the chip under performing and not doing what it should be doing, resulting in temps that are too low.

#4 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 05 April 2012 - 05:45 PM

Is the TJmax set correctly? There's no way your cpu temp is below ambient on air cooling.

MSI MPower Max - 4770K - 2x EVGA GTX780 ACX - 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 - 2x Crucial M4 256GB raid0 - Enermax 1020w - HP ZR30w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB - 17" matte display

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB - 2x Dell E228wfp


#5 _TheAlexO

_TheAlexO

    Formerly ShallowBay

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2789 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:20 PM

Is the TJmax set correctly? There's no way your cpu temp is below ambient on air cooling.


ya there's something fishy going on here

My Skyrim ENB Album

Processor: Intel Core i5 3570k @4.4ghz | Motherboard: MSI z77a-g43 | Video Card: EVGA GTX 680 @1.3ghz core | Memory: 16gb Patriot ddr3 2133mhz (from OCC) | Case: Corsair 600T Alpine Edition | Power Supply: Corsair 700 Gamer Series

 | Speakers: Corsair sp2500 (from OCC) | Headset: Logitech G35 | Mouse: Logitech g500 | Keyboard: Corsair K60 Red Switches


#6 potatochobit

potatochobit

    Queen of Nightmares

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1400 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Texas

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:24 PM

cold is good but keep in mind, condensation and water are not

#7 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 05 April 2012 - 07:21 PM

It bugged I guess just restart and run some other programs too speedfan, adia ect.

I got sensors that bug our awesome on my lappy evertime I switch graphics from hd3000 to 6770 and back again the hd6770m goes to -999C :)

Nothing wrong with your temp ranges though I get the same on my 2500k lower even at normal loads.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#8 Speedway

Speedway

    IRL is back, Go Penske!

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Speedway, IN

Posted 05 April 2012 - 07:35 PM

Well I always used Real Temp for all the i7s that I have owned. Version 3.70 supports SB

But, when your idle temp is showing below your ambient, then there is a problem somewhere :thumbsup:

Life Begins @ 220mph


I7 2600K - ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z - 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133MHz - ASUS GTX 680- (2) Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs RAID 0 - (2) 750GB WD Black HDDs RAID 0 - 900W Tagan BZ Series - U2-UFO

Dual Loop Water Cooling - Koolance RP-452X2 - CPU -> Koolance CPU-360 - Thermochill TA 120.3 - Liang D5 GPU -> D5 - XSPC RX360 - Koolance VID-NX680

The Cube Build Log - Update Coming


Guide for Unlocking MSi Afterburner


Heatware


#9 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2012 - 11:06 PM

Software problem IMO.
Although low temperature is very good for overclocking, but don't get too excited before changing software.

boozei.gif


#10 Lemmingcake

Lemmingcake

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 April 2012 - 03:46 AM

Is the TJmax set correctly? There's no way your cpu temp is below ambient on air cooling.


I don't really even know how to set TJmax, isn't it the max cpu temp before it shuts down?
I did some more testing this time with core temp and real temp, I'll attach a screenshot, I also double checked the ambient, it's 14-15 degrees :unsure:

There's also two more problems I'm having and it would be awesome if someone could give me their opinions on it.
The first is my vcore, I bumped it down in the bios and according to the bios it is at 1.185, but CPUID Hardware monitor shows it at 1.28. I'm guessing that it changes during operation and heavy use, but it's quite a large jump, is the bios wrong? the software? or is the truth somewhere inbetween!

The second problem (and I'm attaching a drawing to help illustrate it) is that since getting the zalman z11 is that the power supply is now at the bottom of the case and not the top, the power supply draws air from outside the case and expels it inside the case via the fan. The problem is that since switching, the power supply now needs to be facing upwards and the fan doesn't like that very much and now makes a really irritating clicking sound. It's a CoolerMaster Gx650w, I'm wondering if it's alright to turn the fan around and make it blow air through it to the outside of the case, instead of pulling air through the back and out into the case. Check the second picture if you're unsure what I'm getting at. Also forgive my poor paint skills :woot:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Temperature.jpg
  • Power Supply.jpg


#11 Prunes

Prunes

    Geek

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 06 April 2012 - 03:55 AM

Would it be too cold, if the temps were to go below 0K? Not sure that can happen, but just thinking theoretically.

Formerly known as Ecofriendly

My rig:

Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen 3
CPU: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i with 2x Corsair SP 120 Quiet Edition
GPU: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB
HDD: WD Cavier Black 1TB
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Case: Fractal Design R4 Black

 


#12 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3974 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 April 2012 - 04:08 AM

That would reduce the PSU life span wouldn't it? You'd just open your PSU which can be dangerous and turn the fan... somebody might know how... could mod the case so you make a little tunnel for the PSU air...

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690